Big van

Submitted: Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:53
ThreadID: 99091 Views:3185 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Spoke to a couple of blokes who have been to the Cape a few times and said i could get our van (30ft) all the way to the Cape after the wet season and road graded if we just take our time. Your thoughts?
Rich

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:56

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:56
Having been there a few times, it's possible.Well, you could say you'd definitely get most of it there.
AnswerID: 498827

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 19:10

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 19:10
It would be a looooong trip.

What is the overhang at the back?

Also when you get up there when and how will you get back down later on in the season?
AnswerID: 498828

Follow Up By: Member - Tony N (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 00:37

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 00:37
Hi Rich,30 ft how are u going to turn it around for the return journey [ very narrow at the top north of Bamage]
FollowupID: 774818

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:23

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:23
You could drive a Holden Commodore over most of it after it's been graded, Buuut, there are those places outside of "Most Of It" that I reckon would stop you unless you plan to tow it with a D9 or something similar.
AnswerID: 498855

Reply By: BJ & Reen - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:39

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:39
Gday 410 had a mate take a off road van up there this year all the way to the top he is still trying to repair it not a good move i think
Regards BJ
AnswerID: 498856

Reply By: Aussie Noel - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:53

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:53
Hi Rich When we went up the Cape back in 1973 a bloke took a 22ft Vicount to the top,remember back then there was only the tele track. He towed it with a 6x6 Studebaker. Next year we might go up in our Jag and leave the Unimog at home, it would save a lot of fuel Regards Noel
AnswerID: 498858

Reply By: Mark T6 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 10:32

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 10:32
We did the Cape last July-August.

I saw a few Bushtrackers up there, a Kedron or two and one old guy towing what looked to be about a 30 year old caravan.

As I don't own a van I asked him how he managed it not having one with the flash modern suspension....he said "bugger that most of them are wrecked by the time they get to the top let alone come home"

He then went on to explain that the particular suspension he had was well suited to the rough stuff even though it was a very old van.

I think if you went up just after it opened you'd be fine, but coming back would be an issue...perhaps Barge it back to Cairns????? would be expensive BUT maybe far less than carvan repairs.

Bottom line is (and I am not a van owner) I think the Cape isn't a Van destination
AnswerID: 498866

Follow Up By: 410 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 16:38

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 16:38
Thankyou to all for the advice , maybe i should of said nearly to the top. Would you get to say Weipa or how far from Cooktown? If we do leave the van at Cooktown, what accomodation is available for a family of 5 or do we take a tent, prob about May next year.
Rich
FollowupID: 774866

Reply By: Mark T6 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:15

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:15
You wouldn't get far past Cooktown...I went up through Lakefield National Park and whilst fine in a fourby a big van would struggle, especially for the first 100 Kms or so with quite a few creek crossings...early in the season would even be worse than when we went in July.

A few (in fact a fair few) we met along the way had done some of these,

1) Taken their vans as far as Cooktown and camped from there up and back.
2) Taken their vans as far as Cairns and camped from there
3) And a few took their vans as far as Laura (tar road to 2 kms this side of Laura), parked behind the Pub (probably way way cheaper than anywhere else) and then camped from there.

IF you like a few creature comforts another option would be to hire a Camp Trailer ex Cairns, we ran into a few "van people" who had done that as well.

I think you'd regret semi destroying a caravan if you took it, the corrugations are no worse than many places I have been but much worse than just an average gravel road.

The worst is beyond Bamaga, but still not great to that point.
Hope that helps with your plan
AnswerID: 498887

Follow Up By: 410 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:30

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:30
Hi Mark
Greatly appreciated. We will prob leave the van at Cooktown as it is tar road now i was told. We don't want any damage to our van as we are travelling for 12 months hopefully and this trip to the Cape will be early into our trip.
Rich
FollowupID: 774871

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:35

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:35
DEF tar to Cooktown....by the way I was not overly impressed with Cooktown, nice spot BUT blowing a gale (which they tell me it does all the time)....and I really do mean blowing a gale.

We had three nights there, as we came up from the Daintree we could have almost had 1 night...just the Cook Museum is of major interest, and the lookout (if you don't get blown away first).

But each to their own I suppose, some may love the place...I would never go back!!
FollowupID: 774872

Follow Up By: 410 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:46

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:46
Hi Mark
Have read a few articles people suggesting leaving van at Mount Carbine. How long would you allow say from Cooktown to the Cape and back and is it worth the trip to the top??
Rich
FollowupID: 774874

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 09:56

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 09:56
Def worth the trip, amazing scenary.

As to the amount of time, depends on what you want to do.

On the way home we drove from Bamaga to Laura (start of the tar) easily in a day......so if all you wanted to do is visit the Tip you could literally drive up one day, stay two nights, do theTip the middle day, and drive back the next.

BUT that's way way too short.

I suggest you look at the Trek on this forum, which is a good start...you may not want to do the Old Telegraph Track (I did bar Nolans Brook) but you could do parts of it easily in even a basic fourby.

We spent about two weeks up there, went thriugh the Lakefeld National Park (great spot), over to Chilli Beach in the Iron Range National Park (another gerat spot), had a few days at Weipa, and had 5 nights at the top doing the Tip and lots more plus Thursday Island.

Hope that gives you a bit of a start!!
FollowupID: 774932

Follow Up By: 410 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:30

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:30
Hi Mark
Thankyou once again for the info, you and others have been extremely helpful.
Rich
FollowupID: 774952

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T1 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:51
Hi Mark.

Towing a van up to Bamaga is quite doable but perhapes not a 30ft.
You are likely to have trouble getting onto the punt at the Jardine River as we did towing a 22ft Bushtracker up there a couple of years ago. We scraped and bent the steps a little mounting the punt and the rear only just made it without scraping so I think a 30ft van would need substantial skid plates at the back as the wheels would most likely be off the ground.

Appart from that we were not troubled anywhere else and did no other damage to the van including a detour from Musgrave over to Pormpuraaw and down to Kowanyama crossing the Alice and Mitchell Rivers.We were accompanied by another 20ft Bushtracker van on this trip and it sustained no damage either. Nick
FollowupID: 774954

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 17:23

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 17:23
I am not a van owner Nick so just observations really, I don't think the 30 foot van is a Bushtracker....I'd imagine a Bushtracker or a Kedron or one of the other reall "off road" vans night be ok but I seem to gather from the comments made that this is a big family van so I personally reckon theyl'd be crazy to take a standard van up that way. And a 30 footer would have a fair sort of overhang!!
FollowupID: 774958