Member - Rich
I have a brown snake living in my front yard. This is in the suburbs of
Canberra. I do have a bush garden and a big brown has been sited going in there on a few occasions.
May be being paranoid but I have often heard rustling in the garden when I walk by but have put it down the big lizards we have around the place.
I have not contacted local authorities yet but have been told they will not do anything unless in the house or garage.
So I want to get rid of it. We have the grandkids arriving in December so no room left for browny.
Is there an easy way to get rid of one of these things.
Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:26
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:26
yep get rid of its cover, clear out under the bushes get rid of stuff they can live under
slash grass right down etc
Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:30
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:30
and i wouldnt worry about an urban snake being much danger to the grandkids, the only way a snake gets to grow to a big size in the burbs is being more cunning than a craphouse rat, its gotta keep out of the way of dogs, cats, cars, people with shovels etc
theres not a hope in heck its going to let anything anywhere near it it will be gone
well before you even knew it was there
Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:35
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:35
The garden is covered with ground cover and very bushy, I wanted this but reckon it is time for a change as you say but may need to wait till it gets cold when the bugger is not as active as not game to go in to it at the moment.
Rich
Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:56
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 00:56
I am interested in this one as
well. My neighbour spotted a dugite going into our front yard and we live on a 1/2 acre block with lots of bushy native stuff around as
well.
Not too keen on having it around. I have considered burning off the underbrush as it is not the banned fire season yet. Otherwise it will be leaf blower and a rake to clean out all the leaves and under brush I have around.
Of course having chooks in the back yard means we probably have some rodents around and that is what the snake might be looking for.
Arrhg. Enough of the pets.
Serendipity
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 06:30
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 06:30
Good morning
Sounds like your dugite has ratatooie and chicken delight on his menu...
Reply By: Denis H - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 06:39
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 06:39
Hint for the greenie in
Canberra: Its got 600 balls and stuff's ducks!
Follow Up By: Nickywoop - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 21:08
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 21:08
Just what we use down here,on the brown,tiger & red bellied blacks.
They reach in to corners and cracks where you can't get a long handled shovel !
Another advantage is if somebody is a bit chicken sh** they have a bit of reach with a 12 g.
Nick
Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:23
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:23
Ring
Canberra Connect and stay away from it. We used to get the browns coming in to have a drink. A 2M one was quite common. We also back on to the bush. I mow out the back on a regular basis they stay away. They do not like to cross open area. We also have a bush garden and in a couple of
places we cannot even walk in to it. Its been a few years since we have seen one.
Like I said call
Canberra Connect.
Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 08:16
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 08:16
Phil,
We have a bushy garden as
well.
The strange thing here is it is the front. The back is bushy as
well but not as overgrown.
I saw one out the front awhile ago then disappeared. A day or so ago a neighbour came over and reckon it has been seen a few times out the front sunning it self or something then go in to my garden.
Trying to find it may be difficult.
I will call CC as you say. I was in the
Shop Front yesterday and they told me to do the same as
well.
Rich
Reply By: Robyn R4 - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:31
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:31
Too many people are bitten while trying to move snakes on.
Always leave to an expert.
Police or vets will always have a number to call for a snake handler, whatever part of Oz we live in. I actually have my local bloke's number in my mobile as insurance...and, like insurance, it's worked and I've never had to call him!
A snake handler will come and get a snake from anywhere, even in your yard, because he's a decent bloke who cares about the
well-being of animals (in his case, animals of the slithery kind)
Lesson to all in forumland...Please please don't kill a snake just because it's a snake.
...cane toads are a different matter...!
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:49
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:49
X2.
My son would come and catch and relocate him for you if we lived down that way
There would be plenty of local reptile handlers down your way that will do it or you
Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:36
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 07:36
Hi Rich,
Snakes are very active this time of year. I found this one coiled up on a shelf in my shed last week. But its only a brown tree snake so I left it alone. The next day it was gone (but probably still around). They keep down the rodent
population and generally will keep to themselves unless provoked. I don't have a problem leaving nature alone. But if you feel you need to remove it I would look in yellow pages or google for a private snake handler in your area who can relocate it safely to another location.

Brown Tree Snake on shelf in my shed.
Reply By: tuck - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 08:23
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 08:23
Go to your local hardware store Bunnings etc and enquireor rural stock agent. There are electonic devices that send out some sort of signal that keeps snakes away
Speaking to a rural person last summer who always had snakes around said he used it and hadn't seen one around since
Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 08:28
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 08:28
Yes. Normally I am suspicious of the claims made for gadgets like this, but these actually seem to work. I have friends in areas of SA with snakes who use these around the house area. I think they are called "thumpers" and are solar powered.
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 22:36
Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 22:36
PUtting up a keep out
sign is just as effective. Been discussed on here before.
Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 09:06
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 09:06
Get yoursel an empty beer/softdrink can. Toss in a pebble and pour in some milk then leave it somewhere in the bush. Old mate will stick his head in after a drink and get stuck. You'll hear him flogging around by the rattle of the pebble. He can then be removed/dispatched.
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 09:25
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 09:25
Hi Richard,
Interested in this thread too as we have a similar situation on the northern outskirts of
Canberra, but out of town a bit so we are surrounded by paddocks with plenty of grass.
We have had a brown snake(s) come into our big bushy garden for at least the past 10 years. We have removed any
water sources since I saw one drinking from the bird bath, but they still come in. Sometimes the alarm calls from the birds let us know when one is around, but they (the snakes that is) are so quick and
well camouflaged that they could be there and we would not know.
Like you we have grandkids and we also have a dog.
My thoughts about getting a snake handler (or anyone with other removal methods) in is that by the time someone got here the snake could be
miles away.
I would love to see results from some decent trials of those solar powered snake repellers. Im a bit dubious about their effectiveness.
Val.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 11:57
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 11:57
hi
hope the electronic snake repellers work better than the shu-roo product as they are a con and a joke
and im talking from personel experience, not hear say
Reply By: tim_c - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 09:30
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 09:30
According to WIRES (Wildlife something Rescue something Service), you need to remove the habitat (ie. where the snake likes to nest), and then the snake will move on and not make his/her home there again. If you don't remove the habitat, even if the snake is relocated the snake will either come back, or another one will come and make its home there.
Remember: most people bitten by a snake were trying to kill or relocate the snake at the time.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 10:45
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 10:45
A few decades ago I had a snake interest and can remember that snake bites were most common when people try to catch or kill snakes. I know it sounds like stating the obvious but there are plenty that continue to get bitten this way. They are quick and will usually avoid contact. Yeah Tim, that is good timely advice.
Reply By: Member - Rich - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:15
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:15
Ok on a very serious note, may be.
I was sitting on the dunny reading this thread and heard rustling outside the window. We have a full glass panel right next to the thrown,
Looked down and just out side the window staring at me was a big blue tongue.
At least I was in the right place if it was my local brown:)
We rang
Canberra Connect and they will come and get the snake if we know where it
So no joy there.
I think the best is to get rid of the shrubs and ground cover I have around the place.
Rich
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:43
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:43
Dont know whether its fact or not but have heard that blue tongues keep snakes away. We saw a big one in our garden a few days ago so here's hoping.
Can any snake savvy folk out there confirm or debunk this idea?
Val
| J and V
Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:47
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 12:47
Hi Val
Rich
If you can do the same as us and get out the back with the mower and keep the area clear to discourage them from coming in.
It really seems to have worked for us. Have had an occasional one but nothing the the last two to three years.
Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 13:20
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 13:20
I am also in
Canberra where Browns are very common in the Burbs - a couple of squashed ones on the road just around the corner. I have a bit of rubbish so am expecting a visit quite soon. If you have small lizards on your property you are unlikely to have snakes as the snakes eat them - also Blue Tongues do not keep snakes down - actually the opposite the snakes eat the
young Blue Tongues.
For a number of years I have had a large Blue Tongue living under my front door step - scares the crap out of the parcel delivery lady.
Bush gardens will not normally provide cover for browns but rubbish, long grass and holes may very
well. Under the house is a good spot too.
Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 13:26
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 13:26
One could say that it is one of the pleasures of living in the bush capital. The other
hazard are the pollies. We just pay the snakes their due respect and they leave us along. Pity the other "hazards" won't.
Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 14:59
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 14:59
Hi John & Val
We have blue tongues, tigers and browns (dugites here in the west)on the lawns, verandahs and around the sheds randomly all through the summer months.....(ask Serendipity he saw a dugite try and pay us a call on the front verandah last summer..but the fly wire door was shut!)
not becessarily same place same time but all co-habitating our house and shed surounds and so I reckon the myth is a myth
I relocate the blue tongues 'cause they eat the strawberries and also the dog kills them if he sees them before me
I remove most of the snakes my way of doing it. worst summer was some years ago.....27 of them in and around our complex......thankfully much less of an issue now.....not practical to remove the habitat...so we learn to be viligant and develop a 6th sense....never outside without a torch.....keep our eyes open always..never step down out the door without looking down first....and yes we have a snakebite kit readily available..always.....
Tigers have an attitude problem and often challange us when discovered...the dugites cut and run pretty quick unless you invade their personal space or they feel threatened
Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 15:18
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 15:18
definitly a myth, ive found blue tongues and bob tails living under tin with brown snakes and large enough snakes will happily make a meal out of one
Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 20:14
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 20:14
To those lovely folk that live in
Canberra
Are you sure it's a snake that's rustling around the place and putting shivers up people's spines and not Ms Gillard looking for a shoe ???
Gazz
Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 21:33
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 21:33
We have a good
population of bobtail lizards, and they do keep dugites away. We had many dugites about 7-8 years ago. Our previous dog got a thrill out of killing the bobtails. In the past 5 years there numbers have grown and the dugites have no longer been around. Still see them on neighbours properties. We have horses, and this brings mice....and then snakes.
Bobtails work
well out keeping of snakes away.
So for our property, bobtail lizards work in our favour.
BW.
Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 15:03
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 15:03
Living in the hills east of
Perth we normally get dugites and the odd tiger snake.
I put an extra bay on the side of the shed to
park the newly acquired caravan. To give me enough room to back it in easily I had to move a 3m x 3m garden shed that I had laid a 50mm concrete floor in. The only way to get rid of the concrete was to break it up into smallish pieces. Anyway I was down to the last couple of square feet or so and when I lifted a piece and saw a tail dissapear out under the wall. There was a small window on that side so I stuck my head out just in time to see the rest of the tail's owner, a 1.5m or so dugite high tailing it up the block. This snake has been living under that slab for however long and the sound if the sledge hammer wasn't going to move it until the last of his cover was gone.
The summer of last year saw the good lady wife and I come home from a shopping trip at about 1.00pm. She walked from the carport towards the front door and I was behind her with more shopping bags. As she rounded the corner to go the front door I heard her give a little startled cry and step back rather quickly. I poked my head around the corner to see a rather flustered snake only about 1.2m long desperately looking for an escape route. We have two mats outside the door, one of which is out on the path so picking up that one and standing
well to one side and back ushered Mr (or Mrs) snake towards the garden. All it wanted to do was get away from us. I haven't seen either of these two again but I am sure them or possibly one of their relly's are about.
Reply By: BARRY F2 - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 16:27
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 16:27
bird netting from bunning the white thin netting. lay it on the ground and they get caught up in it works great
Reply By: SDG - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 17:47
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 17:47
Wires will come and have a look. Wether they find it or not is a different matter. When I was getting callouts from the Police, half the time I was not able to find it.
Milk is a myth.
Bluetongues is a myth, although I have had some interesting conversations about that.
Those electronic thumpers apparently work, as snakes sence the vibrations through ground. They are deaf.
Other ideas I have heard is a wall about 30cm high around property, as ground dwelling snakes are to lazt to climb that high.
Keep lawns down. Does not so much as stop them, but you can see them.
Remove sources of food and shelter. Not practicle in most cases. When I moved into my current home there were two browns living under the house. Bit hard to move that shelter, so I moved the snakes.
Unless it is endangering human life, or live stock, it is illegal to kill a snake.
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 20:05
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 20:05
Have seen eastern browns go up a 30cm
rock wall with no difficulty - a smooth faced brick wall might be a bit different I guess?
Val
| J and V
Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 20:55
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 20:55
The wall I was told about was smooth. Some suggestions have been narrow sheets of perspex, or simlar. Could just imagine a few broken bones out of that though.
I know when I went out a few times catching and cataloging different animals, we use to use a similar idea of erecting a small fence that use to funnel the animals towards a large bucket buried in the ground, where they fall in, and can't get out.
Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 10:48
Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 10:48
Forget the wall idea..
we have found them on top of a 1.8m wall (smooth concrete) and to this day have had no idea how they have got there..became a real talking point amongst us..has occurred more than once
also my wife kept her eyes on the ground as normal practise here whilst about to open a paddock
gate only to find a snake at eyeball level on top of the strainer post where she was about to probably rest her hand to grab the chain latch
bottom line is learn to accept they around..keep sensible practises..keep the ground area where you walk regularly as clean of litter /
debris as best you can....and just get on with life...its their habitat too..we just have to share it like it or not I guess
Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:02
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:02
on most occasions snakes will only stay in an area if there is an abundant food supply, most snakes are not territorial and will move on as they are a transient lot just looking for a mate or food , taking away the long grasses and thick mulches around plants and trees will help,
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 23:31
Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 23:31
Yep in suburbia they are usually (not always) just passing through unless they find good sources of food, water and somewhere warm to sleep undisturbed. They are generally shy creatures and won't stick around where there's regular human activity although there are always exceptions - we had red belly blacks under our Qld house every now and then when we were kids.
Until recently a neighbour up the back had a large birdcage for years which attracted mice, which attracted snake(s), which attracted another neighbour's moggy. Only saw an adult brown once in 20 years but successive Christmases a couple of years back the cat brought 3 baby browns about a foot long as gifts to our doorstep to show how clever she was. She also managed to smuggle another inside but fortunately I spied it when she dropped it in the entry. I caught and bucketed them for release each time. Unfortunately for our great moggy friend she later caught a bigger one and sadly is no longer with us - almost certainly bitten inside the mouth as she played with it. Their backyard was overgrown in
places, ours is partly bushy. Birds in cage are gone, so is most of the cover next door, and no snakes seen since.
Read years ago that you very rarely hear snakes - rustling will almost always be lizards, sometimes frogs. I think you are probably worrying too much but if it makes you feel better clean up your shrubs.
Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:37
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:37
pretty sure no sanke catcher will come out unless you know exactly where it is
--- hmm could be an idea maybe try lying a decent sheet of tin in a spot in the corner,
check it first thing each morning - just quicklly lift it and put it straight down.
If its cool and you havnt disturbed the blighter it will most likely stay put then get someone to watch the tin to make sure it doesnt leave and call the snake guys
all to often they get called out and no one knows where the snake is ---- its unlikely to be easily found in most cases
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:55
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 19:55
We live with dugites on our
farm and around the house and they do a lot more good than harm. If the odd one is unusually feisty and a threat we can call in a snake catcher who will catch and re-locate the snake.
Try the hints give above on finding where your nearest catcher is. If not, there are usually people in the community with years of experience and a love of snakes who are willing capture and remove the snake.
Reply By: craigandej - Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 21:11
Friday, Nov 23, 2012 at 21:11
Im surprised no one has mentioned try sprinkling granular chlorine around.
Reply By: Robyn R4 - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 19:46
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 19:46
Ok...I'll be the one to say it...
Granular chlorine?!?!
What's the theory (practice) behind that one?!
Reply By: Kiwi100 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:35
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:35
As a long-time snake catcher for a wildlife organisation my advice is leave them alone. More people get into serious strife by trying to kill snakes than by learning to live with them. They mind their own business and try to stay
well away from us.
Wildlife rules forbid relocation at any distance from where they are found. We always assured worried property owners that we would be safely 'relocating' their snake. In fact, all we did was take it out of sight and let it go. After releasing a snake, it is almost instantly impossible to find again.
We didn't charge for the service and were NEVER called back to a site to retrieve the same snake. Says it all.
Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:37
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:37
We contacted
Canberra Connect and they will only send some one out if we know where it is.
This would mean hunting for it which as you and others point out is How a lot get bitten.
So best as you say leave it alone.
Rich
Follow Up By: Kiwi100 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 10:22
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 10:22
Yep. More often than not, we would be unable to find a reported snake, even when the spotter had stood watching
the spot until we arrived. They are highly skilled creatures when it comes to getting around undetected.
We would always field reports by asking a couple of questions:
1. Has it got legs? (amazing how many people would go back to
check and find it was a blue-tongue sunning itself)
2. How long is it? (we'd halve that and were usually right. LOL)
Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:07
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:07
No legs
I saw one last year out the front and nearly stood on one earlier in the year while out walking in the bush which had to be 20 foot long :) Hard to tell though as I was jumping away but was big.
The recent one I have not seen, going on my neighbours say so. Which makes it hard calling any one out. Another neighbour has pigeons a much better target I think.
My plan is to clear the scrub I have around the place over then next few months. Need to do for other reasons as well.
I will be making lots of noise and keeping my eyes open and will be careful. Got some snake guards for bush walking so will put them on.
Rich
Follow Up By: Kiwi100 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 13:52
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 13:52
Clearing the area always works best, Rich. Not so much because of snake hiding
places, but the hiding/breeding
places for their prey. So get rid of anything that will encourage mice, for instance. That's why snakes inhabit feed stores, barns, etc, on farms.
Generally, get rid of any piles of building materials and other debris (wearing gloves/boots/trousers/long sleeves, of course). Bang around a bit first - they don't hear noise but will retreat from the vibrations.
Don't corner a snake - it WILL defend itself and they're way quicker than you. Just go away and check later. It is likely to have moved on.
Remember that they're more active and quicker in warm weather. Best time for the clean-up is winter. Bit late to tell you now, hey? ;)
Follow Up By: Member - Rich - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 14:14
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 14:14
I found out a few things with the one I nearly stood on.
My mate was behind me and the snake was between us. It was a narrow path.
Being the smart one of the two I thought throwing a few stones at it may scare it off. Well I can tell you it doesn't :)
We just stood still for a few minutes and it went on its way and we did the same.
Yep leaving to colder months would be better (that is what I did last year. But will make a start.
Thanks for info
Rich