Suspension upgrade

Purchased BT50 this week after having a prado grande I was a little dissapointed in the suspension feel every bump, but I guess 30K difference. I want to know if anyone has had an upgrade and what specific improvements if any.

I am after pure comfort as I,m on the black stuff 99.8% of the time, therefore not really interested in the off road benefits, towing caravan.

Scotty

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 08:17

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 08:17
Hi Scotty,
Didnt you pick that up on a road test before purchase???
You may need half a dozen bags of cement/or a half decent load to smooth the ride out...... enjoy your 'new' ride from all accounts they (the BT50) are a good truck!
AnswerID: 499105

Follow Up By: Scotty - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 09:02

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 09:02
Hi Tony,

Thanks??? Do you have a suspension upgrade?
FollowupID: 775069

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 09:48

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 09:48
Hello Scotty,

I wouldn't be concerned about the $30000. The real difference is one is a family wagon and the other a work ute capable of carrying much greater loads. Hence the harsher ride.

I am sure you know this so I am a little lost at your statement. It is similar to testing a troopcarrier against a 200 series. Both are great in their own fields.

I am going to use OME on my new Ranger which is close to the BT50 suspension. OME have a good reputation for improving ride quality and longevity.

RA.

AnswerID: 499112

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 21:46

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 21:46
First thought. You bought a ute.
FollowupID: 775184

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 22:54

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 22:54
Sharon,
Yep, but I am disappointed that it came with no hole in the muffler or a gearbox knock.

It is a space cab that suits my wife and I. She reckons it gives her some space from me. LOL.

RA.
FollowupID: 775190

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:54

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:54
You know all jokes aside there was a ranger and a B... Parked up at our shop this arvo they do look nice and look like had plenty of room. Im thinking they are as rough as our 76 with the leaf springs. Lesson learnt there!!
FollowupID: 775197

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:58

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:58
Old Girl,
Behave.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 775198

Follow Up By: Member - cgmorg - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 11:56

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 11:56
Hi, Can vouch for the OME suspension also. Just got these fitted to our Toyota FJ Cruiser and although the ride is a little firmer I think the vehicle handling is a big improvement. The OME suspension also raises the vehicle by around 50mm.
We had a duel cab BT50 prior to the FJ and reckon the BT50's are brilliant vehicles. The only reason we changed was the FJ is slightly smaller and easier for my wife to drive. The carrying capacity of the BT50 is much greater than the FJ Cruiser which is something we miss and had to buy a trailer for our gear.
CU Glenn
FollowupID: 775219

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 09:52

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 09:52
G'day Scotty

Check out http://www.saxsuspension.com/
I'm just about to go down this road (booked in next Tuesday), so as yet I've not had any experience with the product.

I made numerous enquiries and undertook a lot of research myself and it was a toss up between this mob and Lovells. Lovells are strictly heavy duty so decided they wouldn't suit my requirements. This crowd appear to have a suspension which may suit your requirements.

We have a 79 series cc and the OEM springs are nothing short of a joke in my opinion.
Not happy having to spend a couple of big ones on a truck with 1500 on the clock, simply because the originals are not fit for purpose.

It's like a dog with worms when 500kg under GVM.
AnswerID: 499113

Follow Up By: Scotty - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 13:03

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 13:03
Thanks Rosco,

will check them out.
FollowupID: 775078

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 14:29

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 14:29
hi guys
i got a quote from sax susp this week for my old mazda bravo dualcab diesel
2 rear springs and 4 shocks will give 40mm lift $2290 freight freeto bunbury this month or $120 fr there after
i like the3 stage action and design of the sax system
i am yet to decide
FollowupID: 775084

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 16:51

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 16:51
Rosco,
I hate to tell you this but your cruiser is designed to work up at the GVM not empty or half loaded.
Having said that you have to remember that leaf springs were designed for horse and cart days not 21st century vehicles, they are cheap to make and work well fully loaded.

Disco.
FollowupID: 775093

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 18:33

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 18:33
You've got me stumped there Disco old mate. I fail to see your point.

I am well aware of the failings of leaf springs, just as I'm equally aware of the benefits of coils (I was a Landy tragic for 25 years straight and 4 different Landies, before going to the dark side).

But when the springs are flat at 500 kg under the GVM ... then I start to feel they are not fit for purpose (as I originally stated).
FollowupID: 775166

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:06

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:06
Ask any suspension shop,they will tell you the 79 series leaf springs were rubbish. Malaga Suspension (WA) do a thriving trade removing the brand new suspension from landcruisers destined for the mines and replacing them with aftermarket.
They do this because they know the OEM leafs and coils will be dead within a few months of hard work
FollowupID: 775351

Follow Up By: Scotty - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 11:46

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 11:46
Rosco,

Dropped in at Sax in Underwood, Brisbane and had a look at their suspension system and Lisa took me for a ride in their Hilux (thats another story) so I decided to go with that system cost me $2,300 which I feel is well worth it as it rides much better, it's no landcruiser but 100% improvement. Sax really looked after me and spent considerable time on the truck as I did not want it lifted any as I feel it's high enough as I'm a short person. Would highly recommend the Sax people and they are willing to talk without the hard sell.

Thanks Rosco for the lead.

Scotty
FollowupID: 776325

Reply By: RobAck - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 10:31

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 10:31
You have moved from coil sprung suspension to leaf springs which are designed for carrying heavy loads rather than for comfort and bump steer is always present in any vehicle with this sort of suspension. The difference should have been evident on the test drive even on bitumen.

A decent suspension upgrade will work wonders and you have plenty to choose from and the end run is having a very clear idea of what you want to use the vehicle for so the supplier can give you the optimum setup for that work. If towing adjustable air suspension can be useful but we have seen overloaded vehicles with this setup in Birdsville with broken chassis rails from both overloading and running the airbags to high

Rob
AnswerID: 499115

Follow Up By: Scotty - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 13:02

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 13:02

It was, but all i'm asking is for some feedback on an upgrade kit for the suspension, am I doing something wrong here?
FollowupID: 775077

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:12

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:12
Scotty ,you could improve them by either removing a leaf or getting a suspension shop fit something softer.
Generally ,leafsprings in utes are designed for load carrying.
You tend to lose some of the load carrying ability when you soften them up ,but if you dont need it ,that the way I would go.

Ive got ARB leafs on my troopy and they are the most comfortable I have had on the 4 landcruisers I have owned
FollowupID: 775352

Reply By: Tim - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 11:02

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 11:02
Rob act hit the nail on the head, leaf vs coil, it's comparing a tourer to a work ute, they will never feel the same.
AnswerID: 499118

Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 11:42

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 11:42
Purchased BT50 this week after having a prado grande I was a little dissapointed in the suspension feel every bump, but I guess 30K difference. I want to know if anyone has had an upgrade and what specific improvements if any.

I am after pure comfort as I,m on the black stuff 99.8% of the time, therefore not really interested in the off road benefits, towing caravan.

Try a commodore.

Seriously you've listed your wants as 'pure comfort and not offroad', then you've gone and bought a commercial 4 x 4 ute? Pure comfort and ute should never be used in the same sentence. Making decisions like that I'd think you better learn to live with disappointment.
AnswerID: 499122

Follow Up By: Scotty - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 13:06

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 13:06
Thanks for your in depth observations, have you upgraded your suspension, or just being unpleasant and insulting
FollowupID: 775079

Reply By: Scotty - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 12:53

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 12:53
Thanks for the feedback, I have traveled around Australia 25 times over the past 38 years, first trip to the Kurumba in 1972 done all the off roading I need to do. I purchased the BT50 so that I could carry generator and fuel in the tub without breathing the stuff so therefore I am not purchasing a vehicle to drive around like a xmas tree with all the trash hanging off it and posting on forums what my brothers uncles cousin thinks about a ford vs a holden, but I want it as comfortable as I can make it.

Which brings me back to the point about some feedback on anyone who has upgraded their suspension?

Thanks again for the feedback....
AnswerID: 499128

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 17:32

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 17:32
I hear where your coming from, the problem will be that any softer suspension will be fine when empty but not adequate when towing your van, I have a similar problem
Easiest solution is to keep a bit of weight in the back, I carry a few jerries of water, easy to dump it and refill as needed, I also run the rear otyres 6-8 psi less than the front when running around empty
FollowupID: 775095

Follow Up By: Scotty - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 17:58

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 17:58
Alby.

I had some weight in the back but added more and it has improved quite a bit. My van is only a small windsor rapid 1600kgs i think so it does not or will not make a great deal of difference.

I have to add a canopy and a boat loader and tinnie, but the boatloader and tinnie will only be on for the trip up to nt once a year ( they weight 35 plus 70 total 105kgs minimum)

But i have 9 months driving around town, will try it this fishing trip and judge it on my return, love the petrol, i mean diesel consumption was 11 now after a few kys its down around the 9.8 will be interesting to see with the van and tinnie. The cruiser was petrol and 11 with the van 19 and with the van and tinnie 27, but that was driving 110klm per hr as NT is a 10,000klms round trip.

Will be an interesting trip next year.....

Has roughly the same power as my cruiser but more grunt if you know what i mean.
FollowupID: 775096

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 20:48

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 20:48
Scotty as another has suggested the Parabolic springs may be a suitable option for you then???
I have no personal experience with them but have heard others are happy with them so may be worth investigating

I have a friend with a dual cab Hilux and he has removed a leaf out of his spring pack and added airbags and loves the better ride, he also tows a small van.
I personally am not a fan of that option as I think you put too much load on the chassis
FollowupID: 775103

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 18:16

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 18:16
Scotty,
because your request for a light load and improved suspension is not common I make the suggestion that you contact someone like Kings or Dobinsons.

They should be able to manufacture springs to what you request. They will hear what you are saying about not carrying load and wanting a good ride then manufacture a set of rear springs to suit.

My son requested a set of springs for a very low XR6 turbo. The local mob said it wouldn't work. He insisted on the spring rates he required and they had them made to his request.

That vehicle was one of the best handling and riding cars I have ever driven.

RA.
AnswerID: 499151

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 20:42

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 20:42
Scotty,
The spring makers can make the spring more progressive and still retain the load rating of the vehicle.
They then will let you know what shocks to use to match the springs.

This will keep everything legal. The only difference is the ute might sit down more in the rear end with load.
FollowupID: 775101

Reply By: olcoolone - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 19:12

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 19:12
The big issue with going to softer springs is load carry capacity and if it's legal, if you put softer springs in it will derate the capacity listed on the compliance plate.

There is not much you can do..... you have bought a commercial vehicle that is designed to carry weight...... your Prado was a passenger vehicle not designed to carry weight.

One thing that may improve it is getting better dampers (Shocks) and changing low and high speed compression valving.

Dampers play a bigger part in spring control and comfort then springs alone.

We have a new Ranger as our everyday run about and I don't haver an issue with how hard it can ride...... sure it's firm and can become annoying but we have learnt to live with it, it rides better then our 200 series.... but our 200 series has a GVM upgrade.
AnswerID: 499152

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 21:02

Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 21:02
Scotty,

Stick with it and I'd guess you'll get used to it. Moving from a Prado to a ute will be different. I've moved the other way and I'm thinking the 200series is way too soft!
AnswerID: 499157

Reply By: Ashez H - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 00:46

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 00:46
Hi Scotty, not sure if you have the current model or not.Mine is a 2010 (prev model) and recently put an old man emu suspension with nitrocharger sport shocks and constant 200kg rear springs. I am pretty happy with the ride quality on and off road. I had feared that the ride would be harsher on road but this is def not the case.

Ash
AnswerID: 499169

Follow Up By: Scotty - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 08:26

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 08:26
Hi Ashez,

Mine is the new 3.2ltr model, why did you get the suspension upgrade, was it for off road or on road or both. What difference did it make to off road and on road. Do you carry a heavy load as i worked it out at 500kgs including bullbar, canopy, tinnie, roof rack, fridge, genny etc

Around town bullbar, canopy say 150kg most of the year, what suspension did you get and why?

Scotty
FollowupID: 775125

Follow Up By: Ashez H - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 09:41

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 09:41
General day to day travel i don't carry heavy loads, but occasionally i do. I did the upgrade mainly because I was unhappy with the rear leaf springs, they would flex far too much with any load greater than 300 kg.
The other reason was because I had fitted bull bar, steps long range tank canopy etc.
Fitted an OME /w constant load 200kg leafs in rear, new torsional bars, and nitrocharger sports all round. No real reason for the arb brand, just did some research on these forums and seems to be a lot of people using them fairly trouble free.. When loaded (400 - 500 kg) the ute sits fairly parallel to the road as opposed to nose pointing skyward. On & off road handling is a little better, most noticeable improvement is when driving on corrugated dirt roads, just feels a lot more stable.
Has a small amount of lift 1 inch in the front and 2 in the rear which isn't a bad thing for off road..

Hope this helps,

Ash
FollowupID: 775131

Follow Up By: Scotty - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 09:55

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 09:55
Ash,

A chap gave me a link to this, is your replacement leaf springs the same as this http://www.saxsuspension.com/ on paper the methodology sound correct, is the arb similar?

Scotty
FollowupID: 775133

Follow Up By: Ashez H - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 10:24

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 10:24
Nar mate, just ordinary leafies on mine. The sax springs look interesting though - and I did look at them prior to my upgrade.
From my line of thought, the adjustability is of little use because I wouldn't be inclined to change once installed, and I'm curious how much extra strain is placed on the 3rd stage spring sitting up there all on its own. I'm sure it's all fine though. Are they expensive?
FollowupID: 775138

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 18:39

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 18:39
Ash

I got quotes for both Sax and ARB (shocks and springs all round incl fitting). Sax ended up about $270 dearer so there's not a lot in it <10%)
FollowupID: 775167

Follow Up By: Scotty - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 19:08

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 19:08
Ash,

What was the quote, around the $2,200 mark?
FollowupID: 775168

Follow Up By: Ashez H - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 20:01

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 20:01
Yeah, about 2300 fitted including wheel alignment. Regardless of which brand you chose, you will also need a centre bearing kit to change the angle of your tail shaft else there will / may be an annoying shudder that occurs on take off (due to increased height in the rear). At lease they make a proper kit for your vehicle Scotty. I had to pack with washers instead. I think the kit is about $50.
FollowupID: 775173

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 20:18

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 20:18
Could you expand on that a little please Ash ??
FollowupID: 775175

Follow Up By: Ashez H - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 21:52

Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 21:52
Yeah its a fairly common issue. When you upgrade the suspension the rear of your vehicle will usually sit about 2'' higher than previous. This increases the angle that the tailshaft meets the center bearing and can cause a shudder on take off - probably because the uni joint is operating a little beyond its intended range. Im no mechanic so someone else may be able to explain better.

To resolve, the center bearing needs to be lowered a little which will reduce the angle and put things right. Or if you carry enough load, you would never have the problem in the first place.

You can do a search on it if you like. Have included some links below also. Tried to add a pic but keeps failing.

[url=http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=119&t=80668&start=30]

[url=http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?f=118&t=104421]

FollowupID: 775186

Follow Up By: Scotty - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:23

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:23
Dropped in at SAX in Brisbane and they took me for a ride in their hilux with the SAX suspension upgrade and explained the mechanics.

So I get one fitted on Thursday this week $2,300 will let you know how it goes. The lady their hit the roundabout and went straight over it and mounted the kerb to show the difference, very impressive, scared the hell out of me.

Scotty
FollowupID: 775246

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:46

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:46
Good to hear and glad I was able to help. I'll know more about their product after I drop the tug off tomorrow, but from the sound of it, I should hopefully be happy.

The main man from Lovells returned my call today (he has been away).

He was most helpful and honest and confirmed the advice I had received that their setup was primarily designed for vehicles more or less always fully loaded. In our case of somewhat loaded most of the time he confirmed we wouldn't be happy with the ride.

I know I'm only a single sale but it was refreshing the receive honest advice from a vendor, even at the expense of a sale.
FollowupID: 775249

Follow Up By: Scotty - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:33

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:33
The only doubt that I have is that they bounced the front of my BT50 and said that they replace the front struts and it firms it up and they drove around at speed with little roll.
I am thinking that it may be just too firm, although it did iron out the skull crushing and jarring. Was thinking that i maybe only do the back and leave the front standard? is this an option as I don't mind a little bit of movement at the front, don't want to be driving a brick. Any suggestions?
FollowupID: 775258

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:43

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:43
Me personally ... I wouldn't know as I'm not familiar with IFS setups.
FollowupID: 775259

Reply By: TH - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 17:46

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 17:46
I have sax suspension fitted to my BT50.
It's firmer than standard but the vehicle now handles better.
Rear end unloaded not as skittish and seems to cope with a tray back camper weight although I haven't been away yet.
AnswerID: 499261

Follow Up By: Scotty - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:24

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:24
getting one fitted thursday....
FollowupID: 775247

Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 21:34

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 21:34
Hi Scotty,

You've certainly done the hard yards here but got some good info, and just as an ongoing thought, don't forget when around town/ light load then why not try lower tyre pressures, it can certainly make a difference.

I did this on the D22 and also on the Defender, only at the Manufacturers minimum or 2psi lower and can feel the difference.

Rgds,

Rob.
RobnJane

AnswerID: 499274

Follow Up By: Scotty - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:24

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:24
Already lowered them, thanks...
FollowupID: 775257

Reply By: Mazdave - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 17:03

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 17:03
HI Scotty, I have the new model BT50 with a tray and have OME suspension. Went for the heavy duty springs at rear and also have installed Air bags to help with the weight of the Carry me camper fully loaded. Rides beautifully for a ute, but will never ride as well as a Prado.
Dont really know what the original suspension was like as I only drove it from the dealer to the ARB workshop.

AnswerID: 499317