Is the Kilcoy Murgon Road suitable for a medium off road van?
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 14:30
Member - Kevin S (QLD)
I'm planning a bit of "match practice" with the tug and van on gravel before we go further a field, so we are planning to locate some not too far from
Brisbane. Gravel north of Jimna seems like a likely stretch but I noticed on the Land Cruiser Mountain
Park site a warning of single lane sections on the Jimna Range so I thought I would ask. I will appreciate any comments that might help us decide if we go that way.
After that we are planning on going on to Mingo Crossing, Mt Perry and then back to
Rainbow Beach returning to
Brisbane via the Cooloola Way for some more gravel experience.
Kevin
Reply By: Jeffrey B2 - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 15:26
Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 15:26
Kevin s Give me a ring on 0408 156 903 before Sunday evening. 25 / 11 / 2012.
I have a good trial run for you if you are interested. We will be away after sunday for a while.
Not quite as far and with little or no traffic. Great drive and just the thing for a shake down trial.
Have Fun Haji-Baba.
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 16:19
Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 16:19
Here are some stats on the road
Bonzle Map It does not specify the road surfaces. However Google street view shows there is some gravel up near Jimma
Google street view
Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 19:21
Saturday, Nov 24, 2012 at 19:21
Yep, no worries. Just watch out for the high speed geese commuting to and from landcruiser
park and you'll be right. It is a main access road.
Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 11:19
Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 11:19
Hi yu Kevin,
Although it was two years ago, we travelled this road with a 19 foot van in tow, there was a couple of areas which were single lane, but with care no problems.
It is steep in some
places, and once you leave Jimna the road is unsealed, but was in good nick when we travelled it, although very muddy.
Baz
Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 16:42
Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 16:42
i haven't been up there recently, but the single lane sections were short and due to land slippage last time i drove through there. i wouldn't be concerned with them myself, the steep climb up the range is something to consider more so IMHO, not hard to do, but will certainly let you know if you have any cooling issues with your tow vehicle i reckon.
Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:24
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 18:24
Thank you, one and all, for your kind responses. I will post a report when I have done the trip, which is planned for about two weeks time.
Kevin