Submitted: Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 22:42
equinox
I have managed to get my hands on another offroad vehicle, this time somewhat smaller than my tojo.

Arctic Cat ATV
It is 4WD and has diff locks and automatic transmission.

Rear
It has independent
suspension.

ATV
It has a winch.

Front
Digital dash.

Dash
This is the type of ATV that Mick O has been using.
I intend to use it for a
big desert trip mid year. I have 7 months to prepare it for the journey. I want to use it as a primary vehicle, and ride it cross country every day.
I will probably have to get better tyres for it as
well.

Rear drive gear
The predominant reason I got this vehicle is that it runs on diesel fuel.
I will most likely take it for a test run over Christmas, either in the
Great Victoria Desert or around the
Holland Track area.
And it fits nicely on the back of the Tojo.

Just fits
Alan (currently in
Broken Hill)
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 22:55
Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 22:55
Are vehicles like that road registrable?
Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:00
Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:00
Hi Peter,
In certain circumstances, yes.
10 years ago you could get them off road registered in WA, now this is not the case unless you desire to cross a gazetted road.
Alan.
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:52
Sunday, Nov 25, 2012 at 23:52
Alan,
I guess you have had a good chinwag with Mick O. If he hasn't already mentioned it fit some good guards to protect the CV boots. Sand will chew out the joints real quick. Not sure what tyres Mick runs but maybe have a look at the Goodyear EMT "Run flat" type. Having just sold an ATV dealership that sold heaps of a different brand to geological exploration mobs and the SAS we found these to be very puncture resistant and even after punching a hole in one you can still keep going.
Not sure if you are going to try for road rego but good luck if you do.
Happy travels
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:00
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:00
Hi Pop,
Thanks. Yes the issue of the CV boots comes up frequently in discussion and will definetly look into some sort of protection.
Not sure what tyres Micks runs with, I think standard. I was thinking of Dirt Devils however will look into the Goodyears.
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:03
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:03
Hi Pop,
Thanks. Yes the issue of the CV boots comes up frequently in discussion and will definetly look into some sort of protection.
Not sure what tyres Micks runs with, I think standard. I was thinking of Dirt Devils however will look into the Goodyears.
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:28
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:28
Hi Alan,
Yeah the Dirt Devils were pretty good. Also the Kenda Bearclaws are a pretty strong tyre.
One of our geo teams fitted second hand car tyres over the original ATV tyres. Basically the originals were used as tubes. He recons he never staked a tyre.
The run flats were the pick of the bunch but boy did they lighten the wallet..lol
Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 16:37
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 16:37
whatevver tyres you run id fill the tubes with that green goo - if it works as
well as it does on bikes I wouldnt be without it .
I went from a flat every couple of days to being able to ride through caltropp in Kalgoorlie with impunity
Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 00:15
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 00:15
Gidday Alan, one way or another you are going to have to get a trailer good luck with future explorations, would dearly like to be there with you. I have a great desiremto go back to the area My Dad and I went to in 1973 carting fuel to Ray Geo south of
Lake Gregory. Many hours have been spent on google earth but too many recent exploration lines. after Weriado
Well I cannot remember which way we went, vague memories are westward?. Have to get on the ground again.. Roll on retirement or the lotto[:-). enjoy reading your travels seeing a track and seeing where it goes, I did a lot of that when prospecting the Ashburton in the 80's
Cheer Rob Mac
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:21
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 01:21
Gday Rob,
I have previously looked into the area of Weriado
Well myself, some interesting formations in that vicinity. An option for you may be to look up the old flight line diagrams from perhaps the Geoscience website, and purchase the aerial photographs from your selected era - though this is an expensive option.
Try this website -
http://www.xnatmap.org/adnm/docs/index.htm
There is some good info there though will take you many hours to trawl through it all.
Glad you like reading some of my writings, hopefully can put some more up in due course. I will try and avoid a trailer for now though can see your point. I look forward to running down a few animal pads I have found (and haven't yet found) in the ATV. In a normal 4wd these are time consuming to track yet in an ATV would be easy to track 5 or 10 kms here and there.
Reply By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 07:16
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 07:16
Very nice Alan,
Amazing list of features, one you forgot was filly air conditioned - lol. It sure is a big beast and doesn't leave much room in the tray back.
Has the co-pilot had a ride yet?
All the best in your forthcoming adventures; like the other' EOites' I look forward to hearing about them.
Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 06:52
Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 06:52
Hi Phil,
AC! how could I forget that.
Co-pilot is still a bit unsure at the moment - Im sure she will get use to it. ?.lol
Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 11:42
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 11:42
Red ones go harder/faster mate. No doubt you’ll be getting the leopard skin
seat covers as
well. I wonder what name your machine will have earned by the end of the 2013 trip. No doubt it will be a suitable apt to join “Squeaky”, “Leaky” and “Start ya Bastard” lol.
Have a safe trip home.
Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 06:59
Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 06:59
Hi Mick,
Lol, as long as it can get from A to B, doesn't matter really how long it takes..
Time will tell what it name will be, hopefully derived from a positive attribute :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Alan K (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:22
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:22
Love the colour, and red ones don't go faster, it juts seems so.
Remember Al, it will get more punctures than your Toyo, but they are substantially easier to fix.
Your only problem will be to get some-one to drive the Toyo...Big John should help out so long as you give him a strong light to guide you home at dusk.
Might I, from direct experience, suggest the name of NumBum1.
PS. Just got an email from Jdub and Suze in Las Vegas with photos of quads and sit-in ATV's registered and running down the streets. We saw a lot in Canada too.
They will soon take off here as a great exploration vehicle, provided they are diesel.
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:42
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:42
Hey Al,
It's got a lot to do with the weight of the rider to..lol....
Big John will be supplied with ample batteries for his torch dont worry about that.
Numbum1, time will tell mate, I sincerely hope not though - though I know you speak from experience.
I reckon they will get more popular over here in time, I'll give it a good test dont you worry.
Take care
Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 17:25
Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 17:25
Looks like a nice vehicle. I have one also that is auto 4x4 with diff lock & independent
suspension, but I didn't even realize that you could get them in diesel!
What will you do if you can't get it registered?
Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 07:07
Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 07:07
Hi Shaker,
For long distances, Im thinking I will have a bit more peace of mind carrying additional fuel with the diesel, as opposed to petrol, and it is compatible with the tojo.
If I don't get it registered I will limit my use on roads, which shouldn't be much of a drama.
Reply By: Member - Jdub - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 10:51
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 10:51
Alan,
Wot's happened, you have grown hair to flow in the breeze scooting along on your new "steed" lol ???
Wish our ATV rego rules were similar to here in Arizona. Three Arctic Cat 1000 Wild Cats refuelling at the gas stn with us at lake Havesu. Then later on the 6 lane interstate a few 6 seater sandrails flying past.
I should have the c/v protection worked out early next year, rears are fixed but the fronts need improvement when on full lock.
The 8ply baja,s did not get a flat last time so looking that way now.
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:31
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:31
Come Jdub, sing along, "on a dark desert highway, cool wind in my hair"...lol
Sounds like your having fun over there, cant see Australian rules going to that extent for while yet.
We'll have to have a chat about the c/v's when you get back.
Safe travelling
Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:48
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:48
Alan,
seeing you probably won't reduce the pressure in those tyres due to their size her is a link to a product that works
well.
It has 2 benefits and the first is punctures. The other one is it makes the tyres easier to get of the rims. Where I worked they used it on all the underground machinery.
I was forever getting punctures in the front tyres of my tractor and once I used it no more problems.
Nice little jigger you have there.
RA.
Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:52
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:52
Well that wasn't much of a link I will try again. Doesn't help when you select the wrong tab.
Punture reducer
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:36
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:36
Gday Rockape,
I have a bit of research to do by the sounds of it.
Cant quite access your link at the moment (at
Madura Pass lookout), will have a look when I get home.
Sounds like a good product.