Tyre temperaure on dirt

Submitted: Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 20:56
ThreadID: 99204 Views:3777 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
I recently have done a trip to Birdsville Innaminka and Flinders. I rang my tyres at 26 PSI when on dirt with an average speed of 70 km and slower for the rougher patches. I was happy with the ride comfort and the minimal tyre chipping for the trip. Most times when I stopped for a break I felt the tyres for temperature and found that my front tyres were a lot hotter than the rears. I would have thought it would have been the other way around as the rears were carrying most of the weight and driving. I then ran the fronts at 30 PSI, but they still ran noticeably hotter
Has anybody who runs tyre monitors noticed is or can explain it.

Murray
Another Mexican

Reply By: Member - Judy and Laurie - Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:34

Monday, Nov 26, 2012 at 22:34
Hi Murray, just a few questions, are your tyres all the same brand and all the same size, and rim widths all the same, and are you towing?
AnswerID: 499281

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 19:55

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 19:55
My car is a ute with camper and wheels are running the same brand and size tyre and rim size is all the same. Check profile photo to see. Just curious why different temps.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775296

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 11:54

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 11:54
To start with have you weighed you vehicle as loaded to travel and obtained a load v presure table or graph for the tyres you are running.

From the information you obtain from the weigh bridge ( make sure you get an axle split) you can calculate the correct highway tyre pressures.....this is your starting point.

Any discussion on tyre pressure is pretty pointless without the above because any comment will be pure speculation.

now speculating.

If the vehicle in question is a utility or lopad carrying commercial variant like a troopie, the majority of the payload will be born on the rear axle.

In these vehicles unladen the manufacturers will generally recomend the same pressures front and rear.....and there will be more weight on the front tyres than the rear.
Fully loaded the manufacturers will recomend significantly higher rear tyre pressures and the fronts will often remain the same.

Passenger variants will generally have a more even weight distribution and the manufacturers will recomemd the same or similar pressures front and rear and little or no consideration for load.

But the above are very generaised recomendations bassed on a very narrow view of how the vehicle is used and loaded.

For any level of certainty and accuracy you have to go back to the beginning of my post.

Now also consider, that the front wheels are not only driving but steering as well, AND they encounter every bit of rough ground first.....by the time the rears get there, the fronts have climbed over or flattened out whatever it was.

Remember even on the road, front tyres wear faster than rears...inless you are smokin em up.

AnswerID: 499306

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 20:42

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 20:42
Bantam
Vehicle is a ute and with the camper on most weight is carried on the rear. With hi way driving and increased rear pressure temps seem to be similar. Not sure about the fronts wearing out quicker than rears though.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775304

Reply By: Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 16:13

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 16:13
Hullo Murray
I regularly check the tyre temps by touching them with the back of my hand - 65C is an acceptable max and above that it feels too hot to the touch.
I too find that the front tyres are often hotter (but not too hot) and suspected that this is (partly?) due to radiant heat from the engine bay. I tested this theory with the laser thermometer and the temp of the inside faces of the chassis and body panels/shielding were noticably hotter at the front cf the rear, particulalry with the F250, less so with the LC.
Maybe worth investigating in your case.
AnswerID: 499315

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 20:02

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 20:02
Engine bay temps may be a factor as it was mid to high 30's and a few low 40's during the day when mostly checked.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775298

Reply By: RobAck - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 19:38

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 19:38
Need to know accurate front and rear axle loadings and tyre type and size as not enough detail to comment much further

If you reckon 65C is hot then you are wrong. That's about average for some situations and that is where a tyre pressure and temperature monitoring system offers much more useful information than a tyre pressure monitoring system alone

Given that we run TPMS on Prado and Ultimate and use a laser pyrometer to validate the TPMS as we do a lot of tyre testing then I can assure you that 65C is routine for a lot of situations

I can assure you that on a hot day >35C you can find some tyres getting close to 80C even at correct pressures

The more accurate data you collect the better you understand things

RobA
AnswerID: 499321

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 20:23

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 20:23
Rob
The tyres are 31x10.5x15 LT BFG AT and my ute with camper on is under GVM for the vehicle. I don't know the actual temps just that there was considerable difference between the two even when I made the fronts 30 psi instead of 26 psi, they were still hotter. Don't think speed was a factor as 70 km was the leisurely pace.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775301

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 00:08

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 00:08
Again, we keep comming back to the question....have you weighed your vehicle ready to travel.

If not how do you know that it is under the GVM, and how do you know you axle masses are within spec.

now to the figures in 31x10.5R15s

per tyre, double for the axle mass

25psi.....640Kg
29psi.....715Kg
33psi.....755kg
36psi.....800Kg
39psi.....875kg
43.5psi..945kg
47psi....985Kg
50psi....1030Kg the maximum for a 6 ply tyre load rated 109 in this size.
These figures are converted fromKPA and read from the tyre standards manual.
as you can see the pressure V load is fairly finely expressed 4 psi change in pressure for about 50kg....remember the curve is not linear in this style of tyre.
If you punch the figures into ann excel spreadsheet and print the graph, it should be easy to split the steps for loads and pressures inbetween

From memory a pre 05 hilux would be running about 26psi front and rear when unladen and about 40psi fully loaded in the rear, on these tyres....but don't take my word for it.

but remember arround 50Kg per tyre equals 4psi change in pressure.

if you have two skinny people in the front seats....beauty....change that to two overweight sight seers and you need another 4psi in ya front tyres.

remember bullbar add 50Kg, winch add 35kg, second battery up front add 25Kg...there's another 4 psi to the front tyres

remember there are plenty of people out there that think they are under their GVM but are way over.....ya don't know till ya weigh it

From there pull 4 to 6psi off road and stay under 80kph and another 4 to 6 psi for sand and stay under 60Kph

BTW, not one vehicle I have owned in over 30 years has worn out rear tyres before the fronts....wear = friction = heat

FollowupID: 775317

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 21:08

Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 21:08
Bantam
Thanks for the tyre info,very interesting. Yes I have not had car and camper weighed, but know when I first built it that it was around 250 kg for the shell and loaded I recon that its about 600 kg max a I travel light. I think that I'm under GVM as with the camper on in tour mode the rear suspension doesn not sag with standard suspension. As have said just curious.

Cheers Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775463

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 00:04

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 00:04
Mate unless you have had the bathroom scales out and weighed every last thing you put in it you simply don't know.

This is why almost every major transport depot has a scale these days...even though the forklift driver should know what every thing weighs even before he lifts it.

Most major gravel yards have loaders that weigh in bucket these days...but they still wont let you drive out the gate unweighed.

you may find you are loaded too heavily forward.

Ya gota weigh it......be prepared for a surprise.

FollowupID: 775485

Follow Up By: Member - George F (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 07:31

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 07:31
Have you considered heat build up from the engine bay. A lot of heat generated there and heat soak could be a cause, especially on a long run on a hot day.
FollowupID: 775562

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 23:07

Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 23:07
Like so many things people get involved in obtuse and largely irrelivent concerns without dealing with the major concerns, clear specifications and the simple basics.

Unless your tyres are very hot....rubber is a quite heat resistant product......there is no reason for concern.

Reality check......most people will be unable to hold the back of their hand against a surface at 55C, hold the back of your hand for a significant time at 65C and you will recieve tissue damage.......that is frankly in engineering terms not very hot at all.

so
Back to weighing your vehicle loaded as it travels and getting the correct on highway cold inflation pressures......it is a very very rare occurance for people to have tyre failures on sound tyres, run at the correct cold inflation pressures and within their load rating.

once you have gone to that point and have it correct then you can start by measuring hot inflation prerssures....you should not have more than 4psi increase over cold if the load V pressure @ speed is correct.

Then and only then should you concern yourself with tyre temperature and then measuring in relation to some specification and not some vague uninformed concern.

FollowupID: 775660

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 06:49

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 06:49
Hi there Murray,

The general trade off with lower pressures is heat. This can be negated by slowing down as you have done. I’ve spoken with a lot of people who are considered experts and the general rule of thumb for tyre pressures transitioning from a bitumen surface to an unmade (gravel) surface is to let the tyres down 10-15% of what you would normally run them on bitumen. This may be a little bit of a higher figure than you were running them at. Weight and towing are also an influencing factor as I prefer to keep a bit of ‘profile’ to my tyres rather than have them bag out totally if I have the trailer on and am at full capacity fuel/water and equipment wise.

For ever deteriorating conditions I will lower accordingly. Ie; terrifying corrugations. I will back them down to 25-30 psi. Similarly to you, I will slow right down, even to 17-22 kph on the Canning to preserve the tyres and assist the suspension. The trade off is still heat and you need to check the tyres and your shockers on a regular basis (I use a $29 infrared temperature gauge about the size of a 50c piece. Just point and shoot (Jaycar))

Andrew's hypothesis is an interesting one and something that I hadn't considered to explain the difference. Seems a credible theory to me. The other thing I have found is that the tyres facing the sun will always be a few degrees warmer than the side in the shade so don't be alarmed if the tyres on one side of the car are several (typically 5C) degrees hotter than the other.

AnswerID: 499328

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 20:26

Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 20:26
Hi Mick
On letting the tyres down 10/15% from normal road use is a bit higher than what I ran on the dirt. They were not that hot that you couldn't touch then as I could still rest my hand on them. Yes Andrews theory is interesting about engine bay heat. Also theres heat from the disc rotors as well which are all contributing factors. the days were 40ish and no wind so low speed and not much cooling is another factor. I dont think that there was a problem with the tyre temp just curious as to why the fronts were hotter.

Cheers Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775453

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 07:30

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 07:30
Murray,
It might pay to check whether the heat is coming from your front hubs or brakes. As you say it doesn't make sense when your front end is carrying less load than the rears.

As suggested it could be airflow around the tyres but it is normally the rears that get more heat from the vehicle.

I have run tyre monitors and never had this same problem. Mine have always been around 5 degrees hotter on the rear and as said the sunny side gets hotter.

All the best with your problem.
RA.
AnswerID: 499330

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 20:54

Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 20:54
RA
Yes you would think that rears would be hotter due to been load carrying and the drive wheels. Yes heat is transmited from the front hub assembly and conditions were hot and still with slow speeds hence not much air flow. As Iv'e said I don't realy thing there was a problem just courious to reason.

Cheers Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775459

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 21:06

Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 21:06
Murray,
I have seen them put low profile tyres on Mack Titan tri drives and cause the rear diffs to get to alarming temps.

As you maybe able to get some young uni student to do a thesis into the cause or you could go and crack a tinnie and say such is life. LOL.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 775462

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 21:12

Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 21:12
RA
Crack another tinnie as its still hot down here.

Cheers Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775465

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 11:55

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 11:55
Hi Murray,

If you have the same rims and tyres front and rear and assuming that you are now carrying a load in the back which has basically evened out the weight on the front and rear axles (front heavier without load because of engine, transmission, driver, passengers etc etc) other factors are contributing to the temperature increase. To make informed suggestions, as has been said, weights by weigh bridge not guesswork and tyre temperatures by temp gauge not just by "back of hand". Having said that, every time I stop I do a walk around the tug and van. A visual inspection and hand touch of tyres and hubs. The rear hubs are always hotter than the front because of the load and van. Tyres not noticeably different but I always run the rears many PSI higher depending on load.
Some of these may have already been suggested.
Heat from engine
Heat from brakes when stopping, front doing 60-70% of braking.
Side in sun always hotter, should not effect front to back.
Heat from shockies, I am assuming your vehicle has coil front, leaf rear. Leaves self dampen, coil not so much.

My vehicle has leaf springs front and rear.

AnswerID: 499339

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 05:54

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 05:54
Gday Murray
Now listen old son, stop smoking that funny grass and stick to alcohol. You can think much more clearer. Just pull out the chair and sit with a drink,look at the clouds and just ask yourself, i wonder how the tyres are?

AnswerID: 499485

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 22:09

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 22:09
Muz
That sounds like the best suggestion that Iv'e had yet.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 775553