What constitutes a good Camper Trailer test !
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 13:59
Someone we know has brought out a camper trailer manufacturer and has some
prototypes of a new model that requires testing.
We have been asked about testing it on our 4wd property but to be honest
we hate camper trailers.
(The "We" is based on a majority vote count in which I get 2 votes and my wife gets 1).
I simply don't no what people would consider a good test.
I would take it up the hardest tracks we have and see if its attached and unbroken
at the days end - but maybe others would consider dust sealing or some other factors
and I am looking for input here.
P.S. As per Exploroz post 90980 and others I have warned the manufacturer that we
go by the engineering facts no matter where they may lead.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 14:32
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 14:32
Gday Robin
I think you need one that has not fallen apart by the end of the first day out,no matter where you start from.
Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 16:38
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 16:38
hi robin
i guess everyone has there own ideas about what the ideal camper trailer is or has to be and how rugged or or heavy and /or what its made out of
liteband strong or heavy and bulky
its a bit like caravans what one person likes several others will think its a pain the rear design and thats the case about tugs as
well isn't it?
personely it would have to stand up to the territory that i wanted to tow it over or across- reliable in offrd conditions
it would have to be
water and dust proof in all conditions
be easy to unfold and not take more than a few minutes from start to a secure finished job
and not be fiddly/ fiddly
it would also have to be easy to fold and or pack up
some are just so difficult and things and canvass get stuck in the way when your trying to close them up
poles get jammed and/or poke through the canvass and so on
i noticed that at the last 4wd and leisure show recently in
perth
i only saw one brand jayco demonstrating the ease of erecting the poptop camper and a couple of pole brackets broke on the 3rd day and put the kibosh on it
it wouldn't in my opinion last the distanceeven on the rd and would be very annoying for that to happen after shelling out and going on that much needed holiday just because of a faulty design or in this case very inadiquate hardware
i hope my comments have thrown a little bit of light on the question
but if anyone can come up with and i guess thats a matter of varied opinion of a design that can satisfy the majority then they are onto a real winner
last count i had there was about 200 different brands and designs to choose from already with camper trailers
so good luck to your friends
cheers barry
Reply By: dindy - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:23
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:23
Hi robin miller
My test would be two fold. Firstly before I go anywhere I need to know if my swmbo can unpack it put it up, the take it down and pack it up. Now I'm not trying to be misogynistic when I say this but I suggest that many swmbo's may not be able to do this with out help.
Learnt this through the experience of having an unexpected and serious medical episode whilst
camping with a camper trailer. Secondly would be the road trip, this would have to be extensive, covering all the terrain conditions that the camper would be reasonably expected to encounter. All the serviceability and usability factors would have to be assessed and I doubt that this could be achieved in one day.
Follow Up By: dindy - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:27
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:27
Sorry, also meant to say if he wants to shoot one up to me I can put it through an assessment trip over xmas new year. I had planned to travel about Victoria during this time.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:42
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:42
Making sure SWMBO can do it is a good point Dindy
misogynistic - I don't think I even new what that word meant till a few weeks ago !
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:50
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:50
I expect it's ability to go where your tow vehicle can go without breaking is a given.
Additional things I add are waterproof ability, insect proofing and allied to above the ease for a female to pack up and hitch to the vehicle.
A two day workout on a mountain property also won't replicate the pounding that 200-300km of decent corrugations will dish out to a trailer, not only the
suspension but all the welding and fastners. To me the corrugations would be more of a torture test than climbing Billy goat country, and really replicate what CT are designed/used for?
We have had two CT a $10k side flip soft floor and a 2003 Kimberly Kamper. Somethings like dust sealing and waterporoofing you can only really test by being in those environments.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:46
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:46
Hmmm - Corrugations , good point , I had planned for a dirt road , but its nothing like the Canning etc - so will have a good think about Mark.
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:17
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:17
To be honest Robin I doubt your property would truely test a trailer to it's limits other than get some idea of rampover/departure & articulation. It needs to be dragged up the
Vic high country including deep rivers, through the
Big Desert & accross the Simpson with a family of 5 living out of it for a couple months. Only then will it's practicality, reliability, dust ingress, quality & strength be truely tested. Possibly give one to the Gall Bros ;-)
Cheers Craig...........
Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:41
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:41
I agree with Craig, A two day test will prove nothing.
Any style of
camping is a comprimise and it is what your prepared to deal with as to what you buy. A decent test requires an extended trip over a wide variety of conditions to determine it's ease of use, it's towing ability and it's practicability.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:21
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:21
Hi Guys
I think as you both say a longer term varied test would be ideal but I probably won't have that option - I will check out the factory tomorrow and go from there.
Mind you , in the other report I reffered to, that one broke its stub axle on its first real outing - so maybe some good can come from a
well considered but shorter run.
Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:35
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:35
Geez, good to see you have at least given your wife one vote....lol
You haven't mentioned what sort of camper trailer it is......many are classed as soft roaders....others are claimed to be full offroaders..
Many of the softies would tackle the high country fairly easy, as they really aren't all that much different to the full offroaders....to look at, at least..
Corrugations and dust .......and lots of it......that's the only way to sort a softie from a full !!
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:13
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:13
I will inspect the factory to-morrow Gonk , but I know its got independant
suspension so its probably a toughie.
Do you think the world would be a better place if people got votes based on there average body weight ?
Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:22
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:22
G/Day Robin, Good Question!,... I reckon you should hook one 4by on one end and another one on the other end, and start pulling!!....Whatever flys off or disinegrates needs fixing....LOL.....Waterproof test ? ..Tow it through a dam maybe, fully erected,
Dust sealing, Hook it onto the back of a road train out the back of NT somewhere.
I.m sure you will get some interesting results.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:03
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:03
What a great idea Axle - my manual 4800 GU on one end and my auto 4800 GU on the other.
As a bonus I'll find out for sure which one is the best tow vehicle as
well.
Reply By: Member - Allan H (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:27
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:27
All of the above comments and BACK UP SERVICE if needed. Everybody is after back up service being a camper trailer, car, truck, so on so on.
Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:59
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:59
Now thats hitting the nail right on the Head!!.
SOOOO, many dealers, etc,...sell and forget!.
Reply By: Member - John L (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:10
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:10
Don't forget the bed - ease of making & comfort. The worst days travel is forgotten after a good nights sleep.
And somewhere safe for the wine!
Heather
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:25
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:25
The wines safe Heather - everyone reckons we have no taste and just use cask wine - but at least the bottles never break.
The bed , yes your right, its both important and even a nights sleep should sort it out.
I note that many claim a queen sized bed , but I would have thought a double is plenty -any thoughts on that ?
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:33
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:33
Robin,
Queen bed is a must as I can't fit into a double as I am to tall ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:26
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:26
Load the trailer up with about 200kgs more than the GVM, then drive it along the Anne Beadell hwy for a few days and see what damage the corrugations do. That is what TrackTrailer do with the Tvan. Its what I do every year too! Sorts the rubbish out from the solid offroad trailers.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:01
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:01
I am sure your test would do the job Phil but I think at this stage some non-public testing to see what arises is more like what the manufacturer wants , and I can understand this .
At least this is way ahead of some groups that just buy a container worth , flog it and run and in there case testing is not even considered.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:18
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:18
Gday Robin,
But if your trailer manufacturer thinks a jaunt around a property will test its offroad credentials, then they are wrong. Offroad trailers usually fall apart on the severe corrugations a long way from home. BTW, the tracktrailer testing was not public - just found out via the grapevine. Other serious trailer manufacturers would do similar testing.
phil
Reply By: Bob W5 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:49
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:49
Hi Robin. I would like a bed that can remain made and never gets wet. When I stop for lunch and it;s raining, I want to be able to quickly open up my trailer, walk inside and make my lunch, boil the kettle,sit and eat, then simply close my trailer and continue my journey. without fuss. It's my number 1 reason for not yet
buying a camper trailer... Always enjoy your posts... Cheers.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:55
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:55
Hello Bob
Your a bit like me in that flexibility and freedom to quickly react and get moving again are important.
I will be presenting these thoughts to the new manufacturer, thank you.
Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:07
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:07
It's why I have an Adventure Trek AT10.....a crossover type van..
It sure restricts where you can go a bit, but it sure makes life a lot easier for us .....
Some people plan on going to some tough tracks, while some plan on not leaving the black top......but I like leaving the blacktop, but avoid the real hard tracks...
Same as your CT, where does its market lie......
Reply By: Cruisevessel - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 16:58
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 16:58
Robin
Give it to me for 12 months and I will get back to you with the results..............
Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 14:50
Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 14:50
Wouldn’t your
test be designed around “testing” what the manufacturer claims it will do.
Driving it on the roughest, meanest track might be a good
test, but if the manufacturer doesn’t warrant that it is capable of doing that type of travel then the
test becomes meaningless, surely?
So a good starting point for any
test is to assess what the manufacturer claims it can do, and what it can’t do...