Member - Michael K (WA)
I didn't want to go just anywhere for my 60th, so I chose
Cape York.
Dirt, dust and corrugations...no wineries, no rolling hills, no swimming beaches but with too many things to do and friendly with a lot of laid back people.
The time of season was perfect; end of August. We stayed at a number of picturesque
camping areas...took a day cruise to Thursday Island...so much to see on a full circle of this historical island.
I loved it at
the tip. It was great. It was a magical 60th birthday and something really special with my wife.
Any birthday destinations to share!
Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:36
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:36
On yer Michael.
Will be doing the same for
mine soon.
Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:00
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:00
Wish you invited me to your birthday lol
Good for you, sounds great!
Reply By: Member - wadams - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:51
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:51
Way to go Mick,
I was living and working on Thursday Island when I had my 60th.
What a great day. Fresh Dugong, Turtles, Coral trout and Crayfish.
Thought I'd died and gone to heaven.
They sure know how to party and feast up there.
Spent two years there but with only 7 kilometres of roads got a bit island bound
and needed my cruiser and the outback back again so came home ofter that.
Life is too short to not enjoy.
Reply By: Polaris - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 00:28
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 00:28
Had my 50th in Las Vegas.
Grand Canyon in winter - magic!
My family organised a great BIG surprise family and friends event for my 60th here in FNQ (home).
Looks like I may have my 65th on the steps at Centrelink! LOL !!
Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 07:20
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 07:20
My son and I had our birthdays, 30th & 60th in PNG walking the Kokoda Track. A good bonding session that was.
Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 08:05
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 08:05
I had my 50th in the Chichester SF, at the foot of the Barringtons, NSW.
there were 60 family and friends. There was a roast dinner cooked for all in the
camp ovens, a great little river running beside the
camp site, thousands of acres of bush to play in and the serenity.
It was a great atmosphere and everyone had fun.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 08:55
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 08:55
For the actual day we went out with some mates 4wding and came across a big boghole the blocked our path.
My car was the only one that got cleanly threw it - and that made for much ribbing and a memorable birthday indeed.

Perfect Boghole
Reply By: Member - sparra - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:20
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 11:20
I will be 60 end of july next year,going for a trip from over here in the west through the gulf and up to
cape york (again) then meander down the coast and catch up with an old workmate from our territory days,now retired at
grasstree beach,then down to
brisbane and catch up with another old mate. Then head back west through the channel country,
alice springs,
marble bar via
gary junction rd.
Will be travelling solo and light,swag,engel and tuckerbox in the tray of the tojo.
If ya see me along the way come and say g'day, my tojo has a sticker across top of windscreen ' mechanized swaggy'
cheers, sparra.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael K (WA) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:28
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:28
Thanks for your replies.
Your replies are truly awesome...all birthdays spent doing special things and all seemed to be great fun.
It's important to go out and do something let alone what you REALLY want to do.
It's nice to find contentment and appreciation travelling in this wonderful country and world of ours.
There are many more good birthdays and
places to come and to look forward to!