electric brake controller issues

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 07:05
ThreadID: 99276 Views:2371 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Is the blue wire at the trailer plug supposed to have 12v all the time? I suspect not.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

Reply By: taswegian - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 08:11

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 08:11
G'day,
Only when brakes are applied.
AnswerID: 499560

Follow Up By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 09:16

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 09:16
Thanks that's what i thought. Has anyone had this issue before?
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 775565

Reply By: taswegian - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 09:23

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 09:23
Have you picked up controller power on wrong side of brake pedal switch??
AnswerID: 499565

Follow Up By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 11:22

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 11:22
No i have put the multimeter on the wires and the brake switch only powers the controller when i press the pedal. Thanks.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 775575

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 12:16

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 12:16
The blue wire , as said, will only have volts on it when the brake pedal is depressed, and if the controller is working properly.....and typically, it will be in the region of 8 to 10 volts, depending on how you have adjusted the controller..
AnswerID: 499576

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 12:41

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 12:41
Tour boy,
Just try disconnecting and then reconnecting the battery. Once or twice my old controller sat there showing something was happening. IE a code would come up. I found by disconnecting and reconnecting the battery it would come good.

Nothing to lose.

RA.
AnswerID: 499580

Follow Up By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:15

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:15
I disconnected the batt and the wire from the terminal and there is still 2.5v running thru thr blue and wires wtf? The red brake switch wire still does 12v when pedal is pressed as it should.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 775581

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:30

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:30
Mate, if you haven't got any electrical connection at all to the vehicle I would drop kick that multimeter. By what you said you totally disconnected the battery on the vehicle.

It might also pay to check the negative wire to the controller is ok and earthed properly.

As suggested before try a test lamp and see what you get.
FollowupID: 775582

Follow Up By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 18:09

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 18:09
Hi mate,
The funny thing is that it reads 0v on the brake switch wire until i press the pedal so i think the 2v is correct. Anyhow it seems to be working now the green light comming on when the trailer is hooked up. Can't hear the brakes on the trailer working but the controller is new as is the trailer and the trailer isn't regd yet so a trial can't happen just yet. Probably needs to be dialed in.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 775597

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 19:17

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 19:17
Great result. Good to see a win for you
FollowupID: 775603

Reply By: CheapJeep - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:05

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:05
Hi Bundy,
There are some controlers which give an indication that the trailer brakes are connected, by way of an led light on the controller. - In order for that to be achieved, a supply is sent to the trailer plug.
Consequently, When checked with a Multimeter (high inpedance) this voltage will be seen as approx 12 volt. However if checked with a 'test lamp' (low inpedance) then no indication will be seen - apart from the led light on the controller..

Jim
AnswerID: 499586

Follow Up By: Ross M - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 16:37

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 16:37
G'day Jim
You beat me to it. I was typing the same high/low impedence related issues and testing while you were posting.
FollowupID: 775591

Reply By: Ross M - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:11

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:11
G'day Dave
Despite what you might have read above, there are a few situations/comments which I think are important. This question has arisen before on forums re brake controllers.

If you check the trailer plug wire and find it has a voltage then it may be quite normal.
This is because the controller is a solid state switching device and IF you checked the wire with a multimeter (which has high impedance ) then the wire, if not supplying the trailer at the time, will have an accumulation of electrons at the wire and the multimeter will read it as a voltage level. Even if plugged into the brake magnets you may get a slight voltage reading.

This is normal, and does not constitute a fault.

If the wire is tested with a test light, small LED or similar indicating device, then you shouldn't see any lighting indication as there is NO current flow available in the circuit until the decelleration of the vehicle activates the pulse width controller of energy to the brakes.

So, if the mutlimeter says YES there is a voltage and if a little piddly test light says NO then all is well.

If there is any appreciable current flow in the circuit the brake magnets will be trying to activate the brakes and this will cause undue wear of the magnet bodies or actually apply the brake to some degree if the current is strong enough.

Therefore, you are really trying to determine if there is any flow of current or not and not a voltage level/reading. A detectable level of voltage via a multimeter DOES NOT mean a fault is present. A miiliamp flow test might be more suited to find out if any flow is happening.
Think of it as being on standby. Most electrical devices and sound amplifiers as well, all have what is called, quiesent current, designed into them. It means they are slightly doing something so they can instantly react, rather than suddenly jerked into action from a complete "switched off" which causes uncontrolled actions.

It is a matter similar to a meat inspector. He/she must know what is normal in order to decide if there is a problem or not. An understanding of the system is essential for this decision to be made. Plain YES or NO comments don't cut the mustard.
AnswerID: 499587

Follow Up By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:34

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 14:34
Hi Jim and Ross,
You are on the money, volts but no test lamp so i guess all is good. I just have to figure out why I get no leds when hooked to the trailer.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 775583

Follow Up By: Ross M - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 15:33

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 15:33
If you use something like a flasher globe or similar, around 20w, and connect it to the out pin on the vehicle base it will use current when it is supplied and act as though it was the "maggots" getting the current. This will allow you to see if the current is happening at the plug correctly and also allows you to see the modulation of the braking ie harder = brighter.
A spare trailer plug, two long wires and a globe and you can test the output and also drive and see what is happening before connecting to the trailer.

Jack up trailer wheels, touch 12v to the brake wire and earth of the trailer. Both wheels should have the brakes activated and will be prevented from turning. Don't leave 12v on the "maggots" for very long though, they will get hot.
FollowupID: 775587

Reply By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 18:12

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 18:12
Thanks all for your help. I'll take the trailer for rego next week so ill see if it all works.
2015 Fortuner

AnswerID: 499600