Where did you tow where you wished you hadn't?
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 11:07
davop63
Hi all.
As we sit here contemplating our lap of oz with our off road camper, I thought there must be hundreds of stories out there of "When things didn't go quite according to plan" particularly when towing.
What happens when there is absolutely no option but to press on, even if you realise you shouldn't? (Too steep, rocky, soft sand, etc)
Is it possible to take a camper anywhere the 4x4 can go if both are extremely
well setup?
Your stories or thoughts appreciated,
Cheers, Dave n Susie
Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 11:16
Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 11:16
Ever time you increase the length, width or height of your rig, you make it more difficult or impossible to go some place.
Sometimes it just means it takes MUCH longer, sometimes it will simply be too hard.
We sometimes tow a boat (on a suitable serious off road trailer). That makes anything remotely difficult simply too hard and we plan accordingly.
OKA196 Motorhome
Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 11:17
Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 11:17
A track, somewhere in Tassie, can't quite remember where, convinced me that there are
places I should not take a camper trailer.
Aside from all that it is logical that there are
places you can take the vehicle alone but would not attempt with a trailer on.
Follow Up By: davop63 - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 08:04
Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 08:04
I was thinking though, if we are on a (12 month) lap with a camper and we wanted to do for example the Canning, what options do we have but to drag it behind us? Is it a case a leave that part of the trip for another time (miss out), leave the camper at x and retrieve it later (backtrack) or go for it and risk not being able to get through?
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 17:10
Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 17:10
Have a watch of a TV show called "All 4 adventure". Especially the last couple of episodes. Cheers,Bob.
Follow Up By: davop63 - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 08:05
Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 08:05
Thanks for that, I will. Might put their DVDs on my Chrissy wish list too!
Reply By: SDG - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 19:20
Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 19:20
Up my driveway when I return home.
Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 20:42
Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 20:42
I managed to tow my 18 ft cruisecraft into the
Ocean Lake camping area at Fraser and decided to do a quick U turn ready to go out fishing in the morning. I managed to select a decreasing radius track with a tree at the apex. Needless to say I slowed down enough to get bogged on the apex just before the boat sideswiped the tree, and in such a position that we couldn't get a vehicle around to help, and a 2t trailer that needed realigning and debogging . There's a couple of hours of my life invested in that corner, and a fair amount of my sore back......
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 00:04
Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 00:04
Probably the 4wd track into the Organ Pipes in the
Gawler Ranges. It was our first holiday since we had purchased the caravan pre-loved, and it had a difficult non-original hitching system, my husband had to accurately back onto the 'block' section as i held it. After the first difficult unhitch and re-hitch it a very squeezy caravan
park, we vowed never to unhitch again until we got home and bought an AT35.
So the caravan followed us on the track; dragging through loose dirt, dodging overhanging trees, up a steep incline and winding through the bush. Then the track just stopped - bollards preventing going further onto a walk trail, and NO turn around.
Fortunately our caravan is high and has rear cutaway which went over the low scrub while my husband did a very tight 3 plus point turn without any damage to the trees.
We were towing with a Patrol - it would never have worked with the F250.
Reply By: Krooznalong - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 13:55
Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 13:55
Sometimes a CT is a PITA. We found this in the
Vic High Country - it really restricted the amount of country we could have otherwise seen.
Physics dictate that a 4x4 alone will go
places a 4x4 towing will not.
Also need to consider possible track damage when towing.
However if you're doing a lap of Aust then you may
well want the extra luxury of the CT and you will have to accept that some
places will have to miss out.
For shorter side trips where CT is impractical throw in a tent and rought it for a day or so whilst the CT stays put somehwere.
What happens when there is no option but to push on? you ask -
well depends on the circumstances. You might make it, you might jet stuck, you might damage something, you might regret it.
Plan heaps before you go.
Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:05
Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:05
You can see most ( if not all the high country ) with a camper ( or off road smallish van )
You just need to plan your trip ....which most people do anyway..
Camp, then do day trips...then move on and do it again......
But a place like the CSR.....if you aren't very sure of your 4wd and camper capabilities,and your driving capabilities, then don't do it..
Follow Up By: Krooznalong - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 09:30
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 09:30
Gronk - The '
camp and do day trips' was the issue - meant we had to come back to base each night whereas would have been better to be able to move on to new
camp each night. I believe we ended up doing more ks and seeing less country this way. A tent would have been a better choice. Our travelling companions, also in a CT, agreed that we should have tented it. We now know for next time.
Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 10:25
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 10:25
Another very real option is to downsize the camper trailer, or to downsize from a van to a camper trailer.
I am gob smacked at the huge lumps people want to drag behind a 4wd off road.
Reduce the size, weight and length, and you will go more
places and more easily.
Look at the vast majority of camper trailers and they are crude in engineering terms......hardly a full step beyond a common box trailer.......as a result they incur a lot of weight to achieve the required strength...then ya start looking at the rear over hang, the clearance issues with the drawbar and a number of other issues.
Then people want to carry soo much, realy unnecessary stuff.......serioulsy, that all singing, all dancing, roll out, fold up stanless kitchen with the built in 3 burner stove and hot and cold running
water ends up adding over 100Kg by the time its all said and done.
Then there are the full sized, built for a house, inner spring matress, the enormous fridges and the batteries required to run them, the diesel powered heaters......and it just goes on.
Why should a tent screwed to a box trailer weigh in just not much under 2 tonnes, and why would you expect a vehicle to perform off road when dragging 2/3 of its weight and as much length again
serioulsy
Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:02
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:02
I haven't found a track that has stoped the CT yet either behind the Cruiser or the Colorado, Ihave done a few and I still have a few to go.
When I do find a track that stops us I will let you know.
Follow Up By: davop63 - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 20:39
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 20:39
Would love to hear some stories of your 'conquests'...........