Snorkel or not??

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 20:52
ThreadID: 99307 Views:4212 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
Planning an Oz trip in mid 2013. Will be going up the centre and around the west spending most time in Kimberly and pilbara regionn. Have an on-road van but plan to do 4WD day trips. I wont be doing 'hardcore' off roading but would like to be able to access those spots 'off the track'. would really appreciate any feedback from anyone who has travelled these routes during mid year and have advice on this. my vehicle is a 2011 Ford Ranger.

Cheers, Jason.

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 21:16

Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 21:16
Hi Jason

We have travelled lots , mostly via harder tracks and no-tracks and never felt need to use a snorkel.

They have marginal advantages and disadvantages and I don't like anything that ultimately restricts air flow.

We only drive petrol cars which are more tolerant of water than diesels.

However a key point is how high can you water intake be and how deep is water.

On our Patrol it is about a meter and its very easy to lift the bonnet and rotate the air intake tube , this puts the water intake height at 1.25m , if the water is over a meter and running I get scared anyway and wouldn't drive it.

Remember if in any doubt at all please check water depth.

AnswerID: 499684

Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 11:07

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 11:07
Robin what do you mean by "diesel cars being more tolerant of water than diesel" ? By this do you mean that you have less chance of water entering the combustion chamber (but it does happen on petrol engines) as the petrol engine will likely cutout first ? Or do you mean that a petrol engine can pass a little water in the fuel tank where a diesel will be an expensive fix ?
I have a snorkel (as with 5 previous 4wds including one petrol), for extra benefit of not picking up as much dust from the inner wheel arch. If you ever watch a 4wd on a dirt road, the amount of dust that collects in the wheel arch is incredible, so taking the 4wds air from higher up (provided you are not following too closely) keeps aircleaner significanty more dust free than without. An exact same vehicle was travelling with me on the GCR, and he was blown away at the difference in his aircleaner to my aircleaner...and i was behind, but out of the dust.
When wading in deep water I will also use a blind....to be sure.
Advantages are much greater with a snorkel than the disadvantage of .... ?
BW.
FollowupID: 775686

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 13:09

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 13:09
Hi BW

To answer your questions - in general the effects of snorkel/no snokel are overated with the exception of 2 areas.

1/ The water damage to fuel systems is much greater on diesel - many horror stories with up to $20k fixes have been outlined on this site so no need to go thru that again.

2/ In river crossing where snorkel has an obvious depth advantage - hence I concentrated on that aspect.

Dust is a bit different - and can be both better and worse with a snorkel.

No snorkel=more dust is true if travelling behind someone and visible dust is in the air , but there is less dust if travelling alone - using my Patrol as an example- the air intake is at the very front of the car - whereas the with a snorkel behind the front wheels is subject to air billowing up from front wheels.
Its not much , but not as good from front guard - here is a test for you , place you hand outside A pillar when
driving and you will feel warm engine air billowing up.

Odd examples don't mean much on either side of the discussion but from interest , no detectable effects of dust have occurred in over 1/4 million kms in my last car and it drives every week in it(e.g. reduced comp ratio etc)
This is what counts as having less dust in air filter could just mean one isn't using a good enough filter for the really fine particles.

For me though what counts is the loss of max air flow - it is true that in some installation you can get
resonance effect that increases air flow at some rev point - but this has to be lost at other (usually higher) engine revs.

So typically one ends up with added an extra meter or 2 of piping to ones air inlet with 1 or 2 sharp bends and this has a nett constriction and hence less max air input.

I also don't like anything that reduces car flexibility like big snorkel inlets which (as per 2 weeks ago)caused a driver with us to damage his as it caught on a branch on a narrow overgrown track.

Yep blinds are good.

FollowupID: 775695

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 13:22

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 13:22
Oops I forgot to address your other point about cutting out - things are not like they used to be , engines like in my car no longer have distributor and hign tension leads - instead they have a sealed coil pack which plug directly into the spark plugs on top of the engine at over 1.2m height and they run so cooler than higher compression diesels.

Never tried this test , as haven't found a volunteer (maybe this Xmas) but I believe my engine would run longer under water than most modern diesels - its not the engine so much as their super hot turbos and exhaust components that would probably die first.

FollowupID: 775696

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 14:27

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 14:27
Robin,
I have to disagree with the super hot turbos. The engines at work get their turbos swimming regularly when they are hot with no adverse effects.

The only engine I saw destroyed by water and that was one without a snorkel and that was caused by hitting a water crossing to hard and the water being forced up and into the intake.

Modern diesels are all turboed so the fact of a bit of restriction in the inlet won't worry them and normally the piping to the aircleaner is a larger diameter than the air cleaner to turbo piping. I don't believe they help or hinder the intake air.

Don't know about you vehicles but I have never seen dust thrown up by my front wheels as high as the snorkel intake.

I have done hugh K's on dirt and I never even look at my air cleaner until after I get home. Most times I don't even shake the dust out of it as there so little visible on the filter. No I use genuine filters so they do filter properly. Well as good as they can because they aren't Nissan
ones. LOL.

Jason you can see what I think you should do.

Have a good one,
RA.

FollowupID: 775698

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 15:32

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 15:32
Cracking can definately occur RA but these are the more extreme case and it doesn't occurr from a splash or normal use.
Usually what happens is that surface cracks appear and grow over time.

I'm surprized you haven't seen dust build up on back windows of Utes etc - the test I suggested before easily shows how the air moves, the effect is worse the slower you drive, you can actually get to a point where dust will cover the snorkel and not the very front of the car.

But again we shouldn't over emphasize small effects , however when you arrive at a closed gate you will find dust billowing past the car from the rear first - you usually have a couple of seconds for it to travel forward from the snorkel to the front of the car , so keep on your toes.

FollowupID: 775700

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 15:50

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 15:50
Robin,
You have lots theories about how much better a petrol engine is compared to diesel.
Rockape, mining companies, emergency and rescue organisations etc have the practical experience on advantages of diesel over petrol.
Take your pick.
FollowupID: 775702

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 15:57

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 15:57
Robin,
I am sure cracking can occur but I have not seen it. I would think if you drove into a creek that had a water temp of 2 degrees and you had been working the vehicle hard it may occur but so might a lot of things.

The dust will come up the back windows but it won't go forward to the snorkel unless you are travelling slower that the wind and that wind is from behind.

Yes no one can escape dust when stopping but I fail to see that as being revelant as that happens to all vehicles snorkel or no snorkel. One exception was a plant operator who drove his scrapper through 9 sets of dog gates on the Booroondoo Road near Moonie. He didn't have any problems with dust at the gates.

I know how clean my filter is and I know how much dust is in the engine bay after a trip. Lots.

All earthmoving gear and trucks have their intakes as high as possible for a reason.

RA.

FollowupID: 775703

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:12

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:12

Just for fun , this guys happy he has no snorkel RA.

This post is about snorkels Dennis - but if you put up a post about diesel/petrol with some arguements in it I will answer - but you might get surprized.

FollowupID: 775706

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:43

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:43
Good photo.
But I don't slide my 4wd round corners like a rally car or through bulldust like a madman. It is a good way to come unstuck. I also don't get to rebuild my engine after each use.

Transport companies don't put things on vehicles that don't work or add weight.

FollowupID: 775707

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:54

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:54
Robin,
What an argument between a one eyed Troopy freak, and a Patrol Petrol Head? The bun fight would go on for ever - we would end up being moderated and given the chop by The Thought Police.
FollowupID: 775708

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 17:07

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 17:07
Dennis,
Don't own a Troopie anymore and moderation only comes about in this case if you start to get nasty. None of that has occurred or will occur.

Now I do like troopies but I am not one eyed and you are the one who is going to get moderated if you call others names. Not a good look trying to insult others sunshine. Best you read the forum rules.

It is a discussion as simple as that and Robin has his thoughts and I have mine.

Others can decide the merit of the discussion.

RA.
FollowupID: 775710

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 17:25

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 17:25
Rockape – sorry you misunderstood, I’m the Troopy Freak – I was eluding to the challenge from Robin, for an educated discussion on the merits of diesel v petrol.
FollowupID: 775711

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 17:40

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 17:40
Dennis,
sorry I miss read the reply and all is well.

Guess the best you could do is to start another thread about the evils of both types of fuel. I am sure the discussion would go on from there.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 775714

Follow Up By: SDG - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 18:48

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 18:48
My diesel Patrol has a snorkel, and not had any trouble with dust. Cleaner with it than without. I put it on after using standard intake after about a year of ownership.
Just a standard ram head, so I also can't see air being restricted with it being rammed down the throat
FollowupID: 775717

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:24

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:24
the added snorkel weight up top may put the patrol at a similar danger to the Prado of tipping over :-)
FollowupID: 775723

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:35

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:35
...especially if it fills up to the brim with dust...:)

FollowupID: 775724

Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 21:55

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 21:55
G'day Robin,

Thanks for your opinion. The forum is about other experiences, and you have told yours....and I am personally happy with your answers from your experiences.

Was not meant to cause the usual bickering from forum members....you know, mine is bigger than yours and all that rubbish.

BW.....

FollowupID: 775731

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 10:41

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 10:41
I have a petrol Terracan & a diesel Troopie both have snorkels. The Terracan's air filter gets as filthy as all hell whereas the Troopies is very clean after driving in similar conditions. Mind you the filter in the TC is a much finer filter cloth and small in size than the Troopies.

WRT the Terracan the snorkel has made a huge difference in regards to the air filter. Prior to the snorkel the filter was just about a throw away after a single day's driving in dusty conditions. Now the filter will last a month in the same thick dust.

FollowupID: 775752

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 21:19

Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 21:19
G'day Jason,

I assume by the title you're wondering if you should bother with a snorkel?

If so, I'd say yes, and use a pre filter sock in the head of it to keep your filter drier and cleaner. Where you're going has a lot of dirt roads, mostly dirt roads, and a snorkel will have your vehicle sucking cleaner air than you'd get around your wheel arches.

AnswerID: 499685

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 21:40

Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 21:40
Bingo Steve ! Exactly what I was going to say.. much cleaner air.
FollowupID: 775657

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 06:25

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 06:25
We were all around that area this year and I used one of those sock like pre filters for the first time. It caught so much rubbish - bugs, seeds, dirt - I was glad I used it.

Some people say to pull out the air filter and knock out the dust each day. I reckon that increases the risk of getting dirt in past the filter when the filter gets removed.

As long as I kept the sock clean I could leave the filter in place.

I've also had times when the water has been up the windscreen that's made me glad I had the snorkel.

Then there's the time I forgot to put it into low range before I drove into Nolans Brook. The Landcruiser sat there filling up with water but the motor kept chugging away.

I'm a fan of the snorkel.

FollowupID: 775663

Follow Up By: SDG - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 18:51

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 18:51
People have told me stories about this sock restricting airflow a little.Have you noticed this at all?
FollowupID: 775718

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 19:18

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 19:18
SDG, not really - might restrict it a bit, but an air-filter full of dust restricts it a lot more.

I've got a 40 series with 2H engine, and I find it runs (my gut feel anyhow!!) a lot better with the snorkel. Cleaner & cooler air.

Definitely runs heaps better when I clean the air filter out.....
FollowupID: 775719

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:07

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 20:07
I was thinking it might restrict the flow but it's all good.

It picks up a lot of dust and bugs so I make sure I check that often, which is a five minute job.

When it needs it I wash the sock, reoil it and stick it back in.

It makes a big difference at the filter.

We did 13,000 km and I got a service at Broome and they changed the filter. It was like a normal dirty filter but we did more dirt than bitumen to get to Broome. The main aim is to stop dirt getting into the engine and the sock filter does that job without starving the engine of air, and that's in my dirty old 80 series.

FollowupID: 775722

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 22:56

Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 22:56
Midyear you will be ok without a snorkel.
Some of the crossings during The Wet you need a snorkel – depending on where you go and how adventurist you are.
A couple of years ago we were crossing a creek north of Kununurra, in February at the end of the wet, in an old Troopy, water over the bonnet in a flooded creek and nearly ran over a croc swimming in front of us.
It was a diesel with a snorkel – wouldn’t have risked it with a petrol engine or no snorkel.
AnswerID: 499697

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 07:15

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 07:15
You don't mention what engine you have, but if you have a diesel I would definitely fit a snorkel. If you ingest any water into a diesel, you may have major engine failure.

AnswerID: 499704

Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 10:54

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 10:54
4x4 models only come in diesel. But agree all diesels should have a snorkel.
BW.
FollowupID: 775685

Reply By: bluefella - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 07:22

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 07:22
g'day Jason
snorkel for sure mate!
AnswerID: 499705

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:58

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 16:58
After going through deep creeks in the Vic hills, Cape York (Nolans was 1.2M) and the Kimberley where the water level would have been close to the air intake under the guard I am happy to know that we had a snorkle. I am also 100% convinced that it helps to keep dust out. Imagine all the dust that runs around under the guards where the air intake is.

Year sure we didn't have one on the Kingswood. Maybe that's why we blew two motors. And the sons Datsun rally car has the biggest air filters I have seen on a car. And they get chockers.

Both sons have snorkel's on their cars. One 100 series and one Patrol. And we have even then had to blow out the filters on all three cars on a trip to Cape York. It was as thick as soup for most of the Starckie track.

Vote a big "1" for snorkles. Cheap insurance. And you only pay once.

AnswerID: 499721

Reply By: River Swaggie - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 19:11

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 19:11
Having a Turbo Diesel and spending 90% of my time camping and going through rivers,some well over bonnet height i would suggest i need one...

If you spent most of your time out in the Aid desert i would still suggest one..Just in case you go the The High Country etc...

For about $500 fitted its insurance in my opinion...Oh and i noticed locally in town someone turned the head (obviously to avoid dust at some stage) around and forgot to put it back..Do do it there designed to force air down.not to starve air..Any way they have pre-filters available now too..

Goodluck
AnswerID: 499726

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 21:01

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 21:01
Fascinating reading...

In my opinion snorkels are designed to pick up clean and cooler air from up high, instead of hot dust air from the wheel arch (in most cases). This area is also where the spray is most dense during rain as well as splash from water on the road or track.

The theory is that the snorkel will also provide some 'RAM' force for air, although I doubt it.

Snorkels are not solely the domain of water crossings.

Unless the drain holes throughout the air intake (some them pre-filter, some just in the air box) are all sealed, water will get into the air box through the water drain which has a rubber pinch seal. In particular if stopped in water.

Some people seal these, but the danger is that driving in heavy rain can collect quite a lot of water in the air box, this cannot drain.

So snorkels will assist in water crossings, but are of greater value in dusty conditions, especially with a pre-cleaner or sock.

You do need to clean the air filter daily in dusty conditions without a snorkel, even with a snorkel, check often or fit a sock.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 499733

Reply By: Smouch - Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 03, 2012 at 23:00
I have lived in the wet tropics for 16 years, both vehicles I have owned had snorkels. In that time I only ever needed it once but that day I really needed it.

12 months ago I brought a new truck and had a factory snorkel fitted before delivery. A mate of mine said make sure they sealed it. Guess what- they didn't. I sorted it out but lucky I checked. I hope there's never a need to use it. I'll use the cheat crossing every time if I can but there may come the day where I might not have that option.

On the dust thing, I don't think it makes much difference wether you have one or not and as far as cool air thing goes. Most late model 4WD'S will be drawing in ambient air outside the engine compartment. If it's a turbo diesel the air is going to be superheated before it crosses the intercooler anyway so a degree or two cooler from a snorkel with make no difference and ram effect is just a myth.
AnswerID: 499741

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:23

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:23
I use to have something similar to one of these,
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dodge-Ram-2500-3500-Diesel-Air-Flow-Restriction-Indicator-Sensor-Gauge-MOPAR-OEM-/190676237813
and found it excellent to know when the filter needed changing or if the air intake was restricted.
Of course if you are going to put one on your vehicle, you would need to determine the correct minimum vacuum of your vehicle and buy the appropriate gauge.
I use to watch people at camp blowing out their air filters every night with an air hose and all I could see that doing is introducing dust to the clean side of the filter.
Paper filters are a throw away item. Do not take them out unless you are going to replace them. If you want to clean out your filter buy a washable filter.
Tony.
AnswerID: 499760