V8 Diesel for 100 series IFS

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 08:31
ThreadID: 99325 Views:5404 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
I am contemplating swapping the 4.7 litre petrol engine in my 5 spd manual 100 series for one of the new 4.5 l turbo diesel as per 76/78/79 series.

Does anyone have any info/experience on how much work is required :-
ie
What is the difference in engine weight
do the bell housings (clutch etc) match up
is there enough clearance around the bottom of the motor etc to fit the turbo pipes
fuel and wiring engine management etc.

All info and comments welcome this is a feasibility study.

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 08:41

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 08:41
The single turbo 4.5 Diesel, is a bit down on power, only 150 kilowatts and 450 NM.

Why not go for the Bi Turbo version and get some real performance.
AnswerID: 499753

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:29

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:29
NMs are not even that many - 430 according to the specs - a low performance engine for its size.
FollowupID: 775753

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:33

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:33
Yeah, a mate's in the van club has got one and he reckons it wouldn't pull the skin off a custard.
FollowupID: 775754

Follow Up By: Ray T - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 12:45

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 12:45
Not familair with "Bi Turbo" unless you mean the twin turbo in the 200 series

I have seen "Bi turbo" on some troopies but not sure what that is.

Don't really want to put 600Nm through a clutch and box designed to 400 Nm. just seems like asking for trouble in the long run and I don't really need it.

I have all the power I need I just want the torque lower down in the rev range
FollowupID: 775757

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:39

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:39
Bi as in Two! Meaning it has two Turbos on it. Seems to work OK. But as you say, it might eat your gearbox and clutch!
FollowupID: 775763

Follow Up By: Ray T - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:55

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:55
So any idea about the earlier ( ie 2005/ 2006) Toopies with
"Bi turbo" printed on the sides
I don't think they are a twin turbo V8
FollowupID: 775765

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 14:23

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 14:23
I think you will find it is actually Di Turbo meaning Direct Injection

Garry
FollowupID: 775766

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 14:36

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 14:36
More likely than not. Although someone may have done an aftermarket thing?

One thing I am not sure of with the Bi Turbo V8, are the turbos in series ie. a smaller one for quick response and a larger on for bulk air or are they one per bank?
FollowupID: 775767

Follow Up By: Jeff P - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 23:14

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 23:14
Do yourself a favour for the trouble you are going to encounter fit a 6.6 chevy duramax the engine will be half the price and twice the performance of the toyota oil burner and the performance and fuel economy will blow your mind go onto one off the nissan forums there is alot of poeple there that have done this conversion their is a fellow in Brisbane Heath Lawson who has fitted heaps of duramax engines to to toyota 100 series as well as datsuns ( sorry nissan patrols )! google it
Jeff!
FollowupID: 775872

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 11:30

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 11:30
Again a low powered diesel for its engine size (depending on version only a little more than the single turbo toyota V8) and more of a concern it is a low speed diesel with max revs just over 3200rpm so gearing changes may be necessary to get the revs down at highway cruising speeds.
FollowupID: 775892

Follow Up By: Jeff P - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 15:56

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 15:56
A low powered diesel for its size? 365hp and 650ftlb (Standard without any power adders) that puts it up the same power as small prime mover and last time I looked mine redlines at 4700rpm!!! A low powered diesel Iam still rolling on the floor laughing!!
Jeff
FollowupID: 775911

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 16:02

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 16:02
Just ggogled the engine you listed and certainly didn't get the specs you listed - maybe you need to indicate what specific model engine you are talking about. The googled specs for a Chev 6.6 Duramax was 235bhp and 500 Ftibs of torque and max revs of 3250.
FollowupID: 775913

Follow Up By: Jeff P - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 21:14

Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 21:14
The engine model is an LBZ and I stand corrected about the redline rpm it is about 4500 which is the maximum engine rpm in tow/haul mode under engine braking the computer cuts the fuel above 3250(this is not the redline of this engine) the new duramax LML makes 397hp and 765 ftlb mine with a tow tune makes 400hp at the back wheels and 800ftlb and still returns 20L/per 100 towing 3.5 ton ! I drive the toyota V8 ute,s everyday and Iam sorry guys you have been let down!
Jeff
http://www.duramaxdieselspecs.com
FollowupID: 776012

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 09:09

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 09:09
See http://www.australianimages.com.au/conversion/index.php
AnswerID: 499754

Follow Up By: Ray T - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 12:48

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 12:48
Rippa thanks will read in detail
FollowupID: 775758

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 09:28

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 09:28
After any advice offered here, consider joining Lcool.org - they have a 100 series section - full blown advice from members there will be invaluable on your query - various swaps are often discussed in fine engineering detail (but it might be disappointing for you - the hardware surrounding the engine bay can often make such an idea a huge challenge). PS: The 1HD-FTE 6 TD used in the 100's has the same output (last time I looked) as the single turbo V8 TD that you are considering).
AnswerID: 499756

Follow Up By: Ray T - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:51

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 13:51
Thanks for the tip
Will follow up
As I said feasibility study so I am quite prepared for this not to be good idea after a bit more research
FollowupID: 775764

Reply By: chisel - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:25

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 11:25
My advice would be to sell it and buy a 100TD or a 200 TTD.

There's an argument for putting a V8 diesel in a 105, and it has been done, but I really can't see the argument for doing it in a V8 petrol 100.
AnswerID: 499761

Follow Up By: Ray T - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 12:41

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 12:41
Consider this :-

Cannot get a 200TTD in a manual

Any 100TD is going to cost me a $20-25k changeover and finding one with reasonable no of Ks on it more than just a bit of a challenge.

The arguement I have is that I get reasonable economy with about the same amount of torque at 1600rpm instead of 3400 rpm which you never see in actual use.

Anyway I like my 100 series IFS over a 105 for a whole lot of other reasons

I talked to a whole bunch of people with 76 series V8s towing vans and such over a three month trip in the kimberley and no one thought they did not have enough power

It also seems like an interesting project.

I actually did think about this before a asked for advice
FollowupID: 775756

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 15:27

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 15:27
Ray,
If you do go down this track make sure you get the ECM out of the vehicle that donated the engine. Where I worked they did a few engine changes and say an engine came from a 76 series and was put in a 79 ute the engines were gutless. This happened a few times and it was found to be the problem.

It is a shame they have a paddock full of them lying around but most have very high engine hours.

As said Lcool will be the place for tech info. You gearbox would be ok as petrols are pretty strong but I don't know if it would mate up and whether there is enough room between the chassis rails. You would have to do a fair bit of sorting with the fuel system as well.

If you do go ahead I hope your project goes well.

RA.
AnswerID: 499773

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 15:35

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 15:35
Remember in this generation of vehicles its not just a straight engine swap...you are talking half the front of the vehicle....possibly including the whole front wiring harness, ECU and dash... the fuel piping may be different and even the air cleaner and battery can be different and on opposite sides

The differences between petrol and diesel variants even in the same model in post electronic motors makes the whole thing a deal breaker for some.

To be properly viable you are looking for a near complete wreck or at least a behind the windscreen cut.

If you look in the parts sites and magazines that is how a lot of used engines come, for the rice rocket brigade...you get the complete front cut, minus the guards, bonnet, grill and suspension.

Whats ya problem with the petrol motor???

If its more power you are looking for, the diesel may be a disapointment.

AnswerID: 499774

Follow Up By: Axle - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 21:15

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 21:15
Thats what puzzles me!, Whats Ya prob with the pedo??

Smooooooth, ....Quiet,....Quicker response,...and you don't have to take out a mortgage when the first little thing goes wrong!

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 775784

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 16:33

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 16:33
Don't forget that to be able to get it recertified you will probably have to upgrade the brakes as well.

AnswerID: 499778

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 17:45

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 17:45
Peter,
The brakes will be fine. His vehicle puts out heaps of horsepower now and the brakes on a 4.5 V8 ute are nothing to write home about. They do the job but the 100 series will have better brakes.

RA.
FollowupID: 775776

Reply By: bluefella - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 17:07

Tuesday, Dec 04, 2012 at 17:07
g'day Ray
the 1HDFTE in my opinion is a great engine,with good low down torque and economy, costs to change over i think would be less. also a better fit,with the V8 not much room to work with or on latter.
AnswerID: 499779

Reply By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 17:05

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 17:05
Not sure if anyone remembers project ""Toni"", is/was a member on here anc onverted his 3L patrol after it blew up and inserted the 100 series cruiser factory turbo including the 5 speed auto to go with it. Cost him a lot of time and for memory 25K to do it. But he had a vehicle with a stuffed motor so really vehicle was worth jack as it was and was 16k for new ZD30. As far as I know he still has it and absolutely loves it, had Nissan's tough drive train with the Toyota's factory turbo cruiser motor for reliablity. In your case your V8 petrol is still running fine and is in a condition to sell. Personally myself I think to many headaches and if in the outback or where ever away from town if some thing stuffs up getting parts to suit may be an issue. I know project Toni required a petrol rear diff change to suit the tojo due to handbrake set up etc and some parts that were required to be made to suit which is no good if in the outback stranded (just my thoughts). I think front diff had to be turned to suit output shaft on transfer case (opposite side to nissan) I know your talking going from toyota to toyota so these issues may be minimal. For me I would sell the V8 if after more low down grunt and get the factory 100 series TD as mentioned (05 upwards) they have the 5 speed auto, great for towing, great on fuel, and all factory fitted and they have minimal issue that I have heard or read about and they move along if required. Or if you have plenty of $$ and can afford a 200 series TD then you will know what grunt is. I have driven a few now and wow if I had the $$ would be my first choice, now in saying all this I have had 3 prado's and have gone back to petrol. Too many issues with D4D with injectors,seals,turbo's,oil pick ups blocking etc and this is from vehicles well serviced etc and the cost if out of warranty is astronomical eg approx $800 per injector, 5k for a pump rebuild if you get a bit of dodgy fuel. Diesel mechanics must be loving these high tec diesel engines. Think I'm talking out my ars* jump over to pradopoint and check out the 150 section, blown motors already with under 50k on them, scary stuff.........luckily most under warranty...Toyota need to lift their game, not sure why hilux still the biggest seller of the utes, ranger/vw/bt50 lot better drive and heaps more grunt for the same or less $$$ got me beat..........................
AnswerID: 499860

Reply By: Steven K3 - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 00:09

Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 00:09
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 500035

Reply By: Steven K3 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 20:07
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 501470

Reply By: KSV - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 20:39

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 20:39
If my memory serving me correctly it has been done by some ... hmm.. enthusiast from lcool. Straight answer was - it was stupid idea. He even need to modify firewall to fit it. Does not worth it. If I would be in your shoos I would pick proven path like chevy where conversion kits freely available. And I cannot get what exactly wrong with 70 series wagon? Arguments about "gutless" engine in 70 series plainly stupid and ridiculous - Toyota definitely did it for purpose - easier on clutch and far more longer engine life. I have turboed 1HZ and reckon that it does no ore then 130KW and it is plenty. I would rather have detuned version for reason being far more reliable and dependable. YMMV though.
AnswerID: 501472

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 21:52

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 21:52
I found this artical hope it helps.

v8 100 series conversion
AnswerID: 501480

Follow Up By: KSV - Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 09:01

Thursday, Jan 03, 2013 at 09:01
Thanks for find - incredibly interesting reading. Kudos to author - not only for conversion, but also for extensive write-ups. But my conclusion remains the same - I rather live it for more brave (or those who have more time on hand, or those who have big shed, or those....).

Though I have one conversion in mind - plant modern WV 2.0l diesel into Zook - as least everything can be fit in my garage at once LOL
FollowupID: 777669