Words fail me!!!

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 14:33

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 14:33
Allan,

After getting herself into a predicament She should not have been in, at least She pretty much followed correct procedures.
Mike.
AnswerID: 499850

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 15:03

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 15:03
G'day Allan

Thank you for the timely post which should serve as a reminder for anyone venturing out of their so called comfort zone.

Temperatures are on the rise at this time of the season and what was once considered an extreme temperature reading is now almost accepted as being normal.

Pure luck indeed with the mobile phone contact for the lady, but it is amazing how may people still do not carry a PLB (personal locator beacon) such a simply to use device has the potential to save a life ~ your life, and it can alleviate so much anxiety should it be used.

The lady was very lucky indeed, considering her underlying medical condition ~ only fairly recently a fit young bloke perished in the Australian outback ~ admittedly the circumstances were different but the end result would have been identical ~ death.

Safe travels :
AnswerID: 499851

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 16:17

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 16:17
We read about the ex-South African who died in the Simpson trying to walk 16kms in 50 degree c heat. According to a newspaper report.

Sad.

I learned on my first trip across the Tanami, from the Aboriginal women, to rest under a bush in the heat of the day and travel early morning and late afternoon.

I cannot imagine trying to walk in that kind of heat. Water consumption would be massive.
FollowupID: 775838

Reply By: Mark T6 - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 15:15

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 15:15
I have just finished reading the very good book by Bob Cooper "Outback Survival", available on download from Amazon for less than $10....well worth reading.

She's one lucky lady, and correct she at least didn"t leave her car (rule number 1 in the book)
AnswerID: 499853

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 22:40

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 22:40

Good reminder, many years late but I also put my order in for the book. She was indeed lucky she got the mobile to work.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 775866

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 16:05

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 16:05
I am interested as to why words fail you.

AnswerID: 499855

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 18:48

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 18:48
I just knew someone would question what I thought was obvious.

I consider it foolhardy for a woman alone to take the route of a "remote track south of Murrayville" rather than stay on main roads where help is never far away. This is compounded by her health condition of diabetes and overweight. It is quite possible that she could not even change a flat tyre.

Then there is "Relying on survival tips she learnt during her travels in the Northern Territory".......... she obviously did not learn to not travel on unknown tracks without a whole lot of precautions that I hardly need to spell out. Yes, I know, she did belatedly observe some measures of survival but was extraordinarily lucky that she was eventually able to make a contact on her mobile phone from there.

Finally Mrs Amos is quoted as saying that "....in future she would keep her family well informed and stock her vehicle with emergency provisions." It takes more than "keeping someone well informed" to avoid a situation such as this. But of course, it may be less than complete journalistic reporting. I hope so.

FollowupID: 775847

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 22:38

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 22:38
Allan B

Thanks for pointing out this one, a very interesting read and I agree with you 100% but something just does not seem right with this one, in my mind at least.

I've already put my order in for Bob Coopers book, better late than too late and we always learn something from incidents like this one. We too got a bit slack for a couple of years wandering off course without passing that on to our contact points, my fault entirely. So this is another timely reminder to me to look after the bride and do a travelling protocol review.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 775865

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 22:51

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 22:51
I read the artical and didn't find that she had done anything wrong, but there again I am not holier than thou.
FollowupID: 775867

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 23:03

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 23:03
Aussie Traveller,
If the lady had done nothing wrong she would not be in a predicament.
And I would thank you to address the subject matter and not express insulting remarks toward the writer.

FollowupID: 775869

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 23:06

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 23:06
I stand by my statement.
FollowupID: 775870

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 20:48

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 20:48
I wonder about some of these things myself Allan.

Sometimes , one obvious mistake after another but more often I see ocurrences , not of mistakes but of just not thinking past the fact that there is a road in front of one and the engines still running so I'm ok - even the thought of having enough fuel seems to much for many.

Earlier this week I posted a little about a car and its broken front shock , but 3km further up the road was a recently abandoned car with its front wheel where the drivers leg should be.

I wouldn't even lay out a senario about this - it would be just to much.
AnswerID: 499867

Reply By: Robyn R4 - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 21:36

Wednesday, Dec 05, 2012 at 21:36
Allan B, I totally agree with you.
Having lived on the Murray for over a decade and travelled a lot over to SA, we only took tar roads unless we were genuinely looking for 4WDing opportunities...and we never did that sort of thing in the dead of summer! As for doing it with no preparation...!
It was just one mistake after another!
Jeez...I don't even do a solo trip of 3 hours on our very popular east coast highway without having my UHF, mobile (knowing that it works where I'm going!!), water, a snack and someone who knows what my ETA is!
What possessed her to leave the tar roads unless she was very familiar with what she was doing?
Regardless of the things she did right, she did a hell of a lot wrong and should never have...
I'm sorry... I'm stunned, too.
AnswerID: 499871

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 06:20

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 06:20
I know that area well as I own a property out that way.

I can't for the life of me understand why she took that road. The Pinnaroo Bordertown rd run parallel to this route just to the West. It is sealed & has a 110kmh speed limit.

Maybe the GPS suggested the route she took? I only take the Murrayville rd like she did when I am out sightseeing in the area.

Very nice route by the way & some good 4WD opportunities in the area but it's not the go for a quick shortcut between Murrayville & Nhill.

Stu
FollowupID: 775880

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 00:44

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 00:44
Hi Allan,

I can understand your consternation but I give her credit for managing the situation as well as she did.

She made mistakes and admits it. She also did a lot of things right.

Did you hear about the three people north east of Broken Hill a couple of weeks ago?
If they did at least one of the things this lady did, ie, stay with the car, ration water, seek shade, I reckon all three could all be alive today.

Take it easy,
AnswerID: 499883

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 00:54

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 00:54
Hi Steve, I agree that she did some things correctly after getting into trouble, but I am astonished that she put herself in that situation in the first place, especially considering her health condition. She really was lucky to have not perished.

FollowupID: 775878

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 07:54

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 07:54
Yes. Lucky lady
FollowupID: 775881

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 08:29

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 08:29
Hi Allan,

I think the key thing is that she felt sick and things quickly went downhill from there. I dont think using rational thinking is useful to try to explain what happened - humans are frequently not rational!!! - especially if they are under stress as the lady would have been when she became sick.

Who among us has not had a "brain snap" or 3 - although we may not admit to it. Mostly we get away with doing the odd foolish thing, but sometimes there are serious consequences.

As I read it the lady felt confident about going on out-of-the-way tracks, and given her history as outlined by the reporter I would assume that she would be pretty competent at changing tyres and managing other mechanical issues. Possibly she was over confident, but her judgement became impared when she got sick. Then she found that she was short of water, without her medication etc.

I think she did pretty well to get herself found.

Val

AnswerID: 499888

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 09:00

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 09:00
Hi Val, Yes she did well but with a lot of luck. It could easily have finished very differently.

My point was, why would a woman on her own and in her condition take that track whilst commuting rather than the nearby Pinnaroo-Bordertown Road. Like Stu (Bushranger1) above, I am familiar with that territory and would not take that track unless picnicking. In Mrs Amos' own words, she was aiming to reach Nhill before nightfall so time was of the essence. It was either a mistake or foolish.

FollowupID: 775883

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 09:20

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 09:20
Well said Val. We all make decisions in life that turn out to be not such a good choice. When you are crook your thinking can be clouded and your thought processes often become irrational.

The interesting part is where the lady wanted to hide herself from others while she slept. That is a sad reflection of our times.

The old story when you have a problem that you have trouble sorting out. You have a good sleep or sit down and relax and that problem often turns out to have an easy fix. Have done this by having a beer or three but that can have it's own hazards because sometimes the next morning you can't remember how you solved the problem. Ha. Ha.

Have a good day,
RA.
Oh!! to be perfect

FollowupID: 775885

Reply By: Mark T6 - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 09:34

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 09:34
Rather than argueing lets all learn from the experience, as I say buy the book, it's available in a hard copy in the Explore Oz Shop, or as I said via download to your Kindle / I-Pad or Tablet from Amazon for under$10.

It's well worth a read, and his "basic survival kit" has already been put together and sits in my fourby as I type, lets hope I never have to use it.
AnswerID: 499894