Parker racor 400 series spin on fuel filter / water separators

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 17:54
ThreadID: 99369 Views:4329 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Gday to all I would like some info on the parker racor 400 series fuel filter /water separator fitted with r45s 2 micron filter / pros and cons and does anyone know where you can get replacement filters online or elswere I was told replacement filters retail for around $110 in Australia but remember reading a while ago about some bloke getting them from USA for $ 40 each anyway any info would be helpful all the best to ya .

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 18:48

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 18:48
Mate,
try this mob. Racor filters

Racor are great filters

RA.
AnswerID: 499915

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 21:50

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 21:50
hi also
www.dieselfilters.com
$26.81 plus freight
FollowupID: 775921

Reply By: fairdingkum - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 20:20

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 20:20
Thanks Rockape your a champion.
AnswerID: 499921

Reply By: Ross M - Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 23:31

Thursday, Dec 06, 2012 at 23:31
fairdingkum
Raycor are good filters but I noticed the 2 micron rating you mentioned.
2 micron is desirable but it depends on how you intend to use it and on what type of engine system.
Generally most CRD engines use a filter a bit bigger for filtering and have a flow rating of at least 70 or more litres per hour. The engine will flow about 30 + litres and hour.
2 micron might restrict the flow to a CRD High pressure pump unless it has a larger than normal flow rate.

Failure to observe this good flow rate in an attempt to get great filtration can easily save the fuel system from contamination induced failure but cause it to destroy itself because of insufficient flow rate and reserve capacity.

A 2 micron filter will block more easily as it is more efficient and for some engines you might need two or even three in parallel to provide the supply rate and filter use life, depending on engine size and fuel demand.
AnswerID: 499932

Follow Up By: fairdingkum - Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 10:03

Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 10:03
G,day Ross goin to install racor r45s on parker racor 400series system on 2102 toyota landcruiser v8 ute the filter has a max flow rate at 170 LPH and your right about the filters blocking up it states on the filtration system fact sheet 1 dirty tank of fuel will block the filter .better in the filter than in the donk ile have to carry some spares when on my travels thanks for you input all the best to ya mate .
FollowupID: 775941

Reply By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 13:13

Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 13:13
The racor filters where at one time very popular in the marine market particularly on petrol engines, but there are quite a few technicaly and price competitive filters on the market these days.

The cav / lucas / delpi filter system is quite popular...and there are others.

AnswerID: 500018