Submitted: Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 21:05
Member - Arsenal Phill
I am currently working for an elderly couple that have a caravan. Vans and
camping have obviously become a centre piece of discussion. They posed me a question, that as being a novice, I can't answer. I did however tell them, `don't worry, I know some people that can!! '
So here is my latest question on their behalf.
Apparently they have some kind of
orange goo accumalating on their work top where the front corner of the van meets the side wall on the interior. It appears to be coming down from behind the finishing strip the is the corner cover.
They wipe it away, but eventually it comes back and they just wipe it again. The lady removed some and showed me. It ends up as an almost sponge like substance and is
bright orange. Any ideas???? I've posted pic to help analysis.

Orange Goo
Reply By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 21:37
Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 21:37
It's a wood fungus.
My weeping Silver Birch trees attract it on old dead branches. Also have seen it many times on pieces of old timber/wood that have been left lying around in damp conditions, like alongside of houses etc etc.
Cause -
Water leak/s somewhere, maybe when cleaning that benchtop down.
How do you get rid of it in the caravan you have shown - I would respectfully suggest there is no other way than pulling that wall lining off from the corner area shown and then cutting the affected areas out. It might even go down under that bench top.
If ignored it will eventually work its way through the existing wood that it has attached itself to just like rust in steel and is also a slow mover like rust.
Someone may be able to suggest a 'product' that may kill the fungus, however it is usually only a short term visual effect as this stuff is like rust, once it is there, you have to cut it out to eradicate it.
DD
Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 21:48
Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 21:48
Yep, Wood fungus,
Not a good
sign as it generally means there id moisture back in there somewhere probably from a poorly sealed bench top. As DD suggested it would be best to pull the lining off and see how far it has spread.
Problem is that once the wood is infected with the fungus spores it is very difficult to get rid of.
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 22:09
Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 22:09
Another vote for a fungus. The wood underneath the lining is most likely starting to decay, so will need to be replaced. Take care to check all wood around that area as fungi can spread considerable distances. Bad news unfortunately.
Val.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 22:37
Friday, Dec 07, 2012 at 22:37
Hey, thanks to you all guys. I almost hate to tell the old couple. They are lovely people. I guess in the end though we are going to be doing them a favour by letting them know the seriousness of the problem.
I'll be working at their place tomorrow so I'll sit them down and break the bad news.
Thanks again all. Enjoy your weekend.
Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 10:32
Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 10:32
Oh yess yet another vote for a timber fungas...and this is not from a leaking bench top.
This is the fruiting body of a
well advanced fungal problem..and to support this there jas to be some wood there that is permanently wet.
Unfortunately is is all too common for caravans to leak and the timber frames to rot.
Caravans may look all fancy and expensive, but unfortunatly all to often they are rough and poorly sealed.
AND it needs to be dealt with sooner than later, because the damage is pregressive and ongoing.
Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 12:23
Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 12:23
Defiantly something leaking above there going by the dark stains on the wall lining. Just had a simular problem repaired, thank goodness for insurance, $3000+.
Mine was a badly sealed high clearance light, had to rebuild the frame,replace lining and cladding.
Barry.
Follow Up By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 18:43
Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 18:43
As previously mentioned, probably best to remove the panels and find the source of the leak. A solution of Copper Sulphate will kill the fungus.
Follow Up By: 0ld Codger - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 12:53
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 12:53
Hi all ,can someone please send or post a photo of their Wood Fungus .Our Caravan Builders say they have never heard of it
Follow Up By: The Bantam - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:25
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:25
mate they are either very stupid and ill informed or they are giving you the runarround....not surpriesed..if its how I think it may be it will be expensive to fix and is definitely a builder's problem.
Failure to seal the outer sheeting properly.
This is an all to common issue in wooden framed caravans.
Juts google wood fungus pictures and you will find plenty.
I recon you have "Pycnoporus Cinnibarius" or "red shelf fungus" or "Red Polypore Fungas"
Google "Pycnoporus cinnibarius" and you will find plenty.
If you want any joy I strongly recommend you get it independently assessed and get legal help......AND...don't take a singel step backward on the matter.
Follow Up By: The Bantam - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:27
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:27
sorry thought you where the original poster.
Follow Up By: 0ld Codger - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:41
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:41
Thanks Bantam ,Yep that's us (The Elderly Couple ) hence the Nom De Plume, Old Codger . The Damage is actually worse than the picture above it is over on the left of the window as
well as the right and is a big circle of bubbling of the veneer
Follow Up By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:47
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:47
Bantum I think you maybe replying to the guys with the issue. I introduced them to the site and told them that they could then run their own posts etc. When I posted they did not know of the site and its excellent uses.
Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:02
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:02
G'day Old Codger, I have added 3 photos of what to expect in the wall.

Wall stain

Wall frame damage

Main culprit, poor sealing (note large hole for wire)
Good luck, and do try Insurance, worked for me.
Barry
Follow Up By: 0ld Codger - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:15
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:15
Thank you heaps Barry ,it will be interesting to see what ours looks like :(
Reply By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:48
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 13:48
Can I retract `ELDERLY COUPLE'???? and put something like....`distinguished and mature couple'???? LOL
Reply By: Lyn W3 - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:26
Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:26
The problem is that the mold spreads by spores which can sit for a long time before being activated by moisture,
Under an ideal situation the van would be placed in a sealed plastic bag with operators wearing breathing apparatus to stop the spread.
Many mold spores can be VERY dangerous and can cause many health problems.
Mold health problems
If your van builder has no idea please seek the opinion of a professional mold mitigator.