Severe Diesel Shortage in Victoria.
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 20:22
Member - Scrubby (VIC)
For those with Diesel vehicles planning to travel in Victoria be aware that Diesel fuel is very difficult to obtain in a lot of
places.
There is a lot of info available if you Google "diesel shortage Victoria"
I have been told that there is none available in or near
Bendigo.
The news is that the problem could continue at least all next week.
It might pay to keep topped up from wherever you find it available.
Scrubby
Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 20:46
Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 20:46
Thanks Scrubby
We were going to take a quick trip down your way this week, so being fore warned is makes life easy and now I have a very good excuse not to go! Another reason for me to get on here more often.
Fiona & Paul
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 10:43
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 10:43
Another reason to get those jobs around the house done
Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 19:30
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 19:30
Well Bonz the boss decided she still wanted to go, use the spare jerry cans was her suggestion and I caved in. Looking carefully under the van, etc, I decided it looked a bit on the low side - managing to point out some large clumps of clay on the back end to SWMBO.
So I'm getting it jacked up a few centimetres by a specialist, and, that takes care of another 10 days, so I can still stay home and watch the cricket. I also bought her a better PC than
mine, with Win 8 & touchscreen techo to keep her occupied finding out how it all works! She will find it when she comes home from shopping and I could be off the hook.
Fiona & Paul
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 16:51
Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 16:51
great plan Paul, let us know how you are once you get out of Hospital mate
Reply By: Member - Rod D (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 21:52
Saturday, Dec 08, 2012 at 21:52
Yesterdays
Geelong Addy said that
Geelong service stations were fast running out of diesel and service stations in
Torquay,
Anglesea, Colac, Winchelsea, Inverleigh and Camperdown have run out of diesel.
Reply By: rooooboy - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 05:19
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 05:19
Was told by a friend mooropna, shepparton and tattura are also out.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 08:20
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 08:20
Gday Scrubby, you rumour munger.
I filled my tanks on Friday morning in Dandenong ,so there is at least three weeks of going to work and back.
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:02
Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:02
G`day Muz,
Geeeez mate I thought you were smarter than that, you could of had a great excuse for a couple of days off, ah
well with the benefit of hindsight hey ??? LOL
Scrubby.
Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 08:47
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 08:47
Thanks, just went and filled up. The servo said they got a 25% ration 3 - 4 hours ago and will be out be the end of the day.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 10:45
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 10:45
whereabouts was that Boobook? You can MM me if you dont want to mention it in the thread. Thanx
Bonz
Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:37
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:37
Caltex, Cnr Bambra and Glenhuntly Rds.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 13:59
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 13:59
thanx for that
Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 08:53
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 08:53
Forgot to mention watch for dirty diesel when the tanks are low and refilled.
Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 10:15
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 10:15
Wow that's a huge problem, coming from a transport background I feel sorry for the small operators in the area leading up to Christmas its their busiest time.
Follow Up By: philw - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:23
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:23
Any one know why there is a shortage? Something strange going on here.
Follow Up By: Member - There Yet - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:50
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:50
Apparently there was a diesel spill at the
Geelong refinery around 3 days ago which stopped tankers filling that day. Must still be causing disruption.
Follow Up By: Member - There Yet - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:53
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 11:53
Gisborne and Sunbury also out of diesel.
Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 13:31
Sunday, Dec 09, 2012 at 13:31
It is kinda funny for me, and why would it be "funny" ???????
Well we are "remote" and our fuel is far to "expensive" according to most city tourists and they constantly complain about being ripped off by remote
places .....
Well right now i have 60,000L of Diesel stored under the ground in prep for the wet, it will sell at around $1.98 pL and i wont run out, i know for a fact if i pulled it out of the ground now and took it down to
Melbourne the same tourists that complained about about my prices out in the bush would line up for it at $2.00 per L in
Melbourne ....
And in 5 months time the same ones will start again and use the CHEAP
Melbourne prices to compaire against and dribble about being ripped off .....
I guess it is a very good time to drum into you ALL, when you travel, if you cant afford the "expensive" remote fuel then stay
home please and dont complain, at least when you get to us you will be actually able to get fuel and continue on, avoid the "remote" expensive ones and the day you NEED them they will be gone and it is impossible these days to open a new remote one due to set up costs ........
Enjoy your time driving around looking for fuel in
Melbourne, karma is a bitch
:-)