Geminids meteor shower tonight.

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 09:07
ThreadID: 99468 Views:4525 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
The heavens should put on a spectacular show tonight and tomorrow night in the form of the Geminids meteor shower. This year it should be quite spectacular as there is a new moon. with up to 150 shooting stars an hour at the peak, and about 60 - 80 an hour most of the time it should be easy to make a few wishes.

It will be most impressive from about 1AM till about 4AM tomorrow morning.

You will need to get to a clear, dark sky away from city lights. They will come from about Gemini which rises above the east horizon at about 2AM and rises in a NE direction.

Don't miss it, the moon is co-operating nicely which is a rare event.

Reply By: Honky - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 11:38

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 11:38
Never been much into watching meteor showers ever since I read Day of the Triffids as a kid.

Honky
AnswerID: 500273

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:01

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:01
Heee heee.... and add to that the "end of the world" (dec 21) is coming! :-) Not to worry I am going to make an aluminium hat especially to protect me whilst I watch!

Sue
FollowupID: 776326

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:34

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:34
hi sue
i'm highly amused by your aluminuin hat
i have a ball of outer space material and i put it on a piece of railway iron and hit it hard with a 12lb hammer the hard space ball didnt even flinch but the hammer had a severe mark in the head of it
so good luck wth your ali hat lol
FollowupID: 776327

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 11:59

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 11:59
Thanks for the reminder - I had read about the Geminids shower a weeks or so back and had intended to take a look but would have forgotten without your timely reminder. If we don't get too much of an afternoon/evening build up we should have a pretty good view up here in the Pilbara.

Sue
AnswerID: 500276

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:38

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:38
hi sue we are into our third day without the sun shining had 118.4 mls of rain here in bunbury suppose to ease off later today but still very dense cloud cover cheers
FollowupID: 776328

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:41

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 12:41
Gday Boobook
Is this shower visible all over Australia , even in Victoria?

AnswerID: 500278

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 13:06

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 13:06
Where?

RA.
FollowupID: 776329

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 13:21

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 13:21
So is Victoria part of Australia?
FollowupID: 776330

Follow Up By: Danna - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 14:37

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 14:37
Of cause, it's part of Mexico....
FollowupID: 776335

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 15:45

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 15:45
Gdday RA
I was being serious.
Realy, i come from NSW , finished up here for the company.

FollowupID: 776337

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 16:07

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 16:07
So have you fixed up your driving habits yet?
FollowupID: 776338

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 18:02

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 18:02
Muz,
I reckon with a D9 and a ripper plus a few crowbars we could remove Victoria from Australia and probably the world or any other big place.

For those who drink VB and support AFL. I will apologise for even suggesting it. Then again it has a nice ring.

Bad RA.

FollowupID: 776344

Follow Up By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:08

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:08
Hi from another victorian is it possible .
We still do not have an answer yet.
FollowupID: 776350

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 21:02

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 21:02
Melbourne, yes

FollowupID: 776358

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 21:10

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 21:10
RA
Do you think the meteorite shower will be like having all the grand kids at the same time?

FollowupID: 776360

Reply By: Danna - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:22

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:22
December 13/14, 2012, late night December 13 until dawn December 14 Geminids
The final major meteor shower of every year (unless one surprises us!) is always the December Geminid shower, often producing 50 or more meteors per hour. It is a beloved shower, because, as a general rule, it’s either the August Perseids or the December Geminids that give us the most prolific display of the year. Best of all, the new moon guarantees a dark sky on the peak night of the Geminid shower (mid-evening December 13 until dawn December 14). But the nights on either side of the peak date should be good as well. Unlike many meteor showers, you can start watching the Geminids by 9 or 10 p.m. local time. The peak might be around 2 a.m. local time on these nights, because that’s when the shower’s radiant point is highest in the sky as seen around the world. With no moon to ruin the show, 2012 presents a most favorable year for watching the grand finale of the meteor showers. Best viewing of the Geminids will probably be from about 1 a.m. to 3 a.m. on December 14.
AnswerID: 500299

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:33

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:33
Danna keep in mind that the web site you got that from is a US site. We are almost a day ahead and for us the peak is Friday Night (14th / 15th ).

FollowupID: 776353

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:59

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:59
This is the map of the sky from Perth at 2:20am tonight, time of maximum height of radiant point.
The central point from where the meteors eminate is near the star Castor, which is shown with a white box around it.

AnswerID: 500301

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 06:35

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 06:35
Have you got a map for Canberra for tonight the 14th? And where do I look? I do not understand all those lines.

FollowupID: 776368

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 10:26

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 10:26
Here's Canberra map for tonight.

Castor at almost 23 degrees from horizon looking north 2:03am (not day light saving)

Horizontal lines altitude every 30 degrees, vertical lines ground bearing every 30 degrees, Castor is on zero degrees.

FollowupID: 776379

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 10:55

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 10:55
Excellent. Thanks

FollowupID: 776380

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 03:29

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 03:29
unless you have a crapple
your phone can download the free meteor app
AnswerID: 500313

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 06:45

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 06:45
Google sky map is a fantastic free app on Android. It will show you the sky based on whre you aer and where you point the phone. It can search for 10,000 stars and sky objects.
AnswerID: 500314

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 13:20

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 13:20
hi
woke up this morning at 3.10am wa time went out and had a look the sky was the clearest view you could ever wish
for the milky way and every other star was visible but didnt see anything unusual until 3.25am when 2 satelites came into veiw
1 travelling north to south and 1 west to east and they xed over right above my house and when i realized this was about to happen several things pasted through my mind
is the insurance up to date -yep
has the budgie got food and water if i dont survive -yep
get the mobile incase i need emergency services -yep done
is the date the 21/12/12 -nope
whew that was close !!!!!
they were obviously at different altitudes
went back to bed and pushed a few more ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ's
FollowupID: 776390

Reply By: Member - Grundle (WA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 19:42

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 19:42
This gemini wont be getting up that early Lol