Advice? Perth to Adelaide - camping areas and diesel stops

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 23:10
ThreadID: 99512 Views:6444 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
Hi Guys
We are doing the Perth to Adelaide trip for xmas this year, did it a few years ago and remember that Balladonia and Border Village were good stops for fuel, also Ceduna and port augusta. These should suffice for fuel stops I think, with a full tank and 40L extra it was enough on the last go across in the Ranger.

Also, looking for a few camping spots along the way for the trip home, we are going to mosey home slowly and were wondering where you guys think would be good for the family to stop by.

Going to stop in the Flinders Ranges on the trip back and maybe through Esperance and take the long way back to Perth but was looking for a different way as weve dont the eyre a few times now.

What do the experienced think on the idea? Anywhere that we shouild keep an eye for?
Steve n Kel

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 23:33

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 23:33
Hi Steve and Kel,

I like Balladonia, just far enough away from the masses to get that feel of being at a remote roadhouse - however the fuel price last month (diesel) when I went through was higher than everywhere else on the Eyre Highway at $1.90/l.

Other prices I noted were:

BP Norseman - $1.57/l
Nundroo - $1.59/l
Wudinna - $1.59/l
BP Ceduna - $1.59/l
Coles Port Augusta - $1.50/l

Eyre Telegraph Station would be worth a look if you can get down the escarpment as would Twilight Cove. Also the shortcut from Balladonia to Esperance would be something different, heaps of places to camp along the way.

AnswerID: 500512

Reply By: jacent - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:51

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:51
compared to most of the others I found Eucla to be pretty reasonable for fuel, have done the trip three times now!
AnswerID: 500515

Reply By: Varmint - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 07:57

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 07:57
If you go to Esperance be sure to visit the life sized replica of Stonehenge very impressive.
varmint
AnswerID: 500519

Reply By: new boy - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 10:48

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 10:48
I,m doing the trip end of January so will be interested onlooker.Last 3 trips 05,10 and 11 Mundrillabilla has always been about 10c cheaper than middle ones
AnswerID: 500531

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 12:55

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 12:55
Fraser Range is a working station, half way between Norseman and Balladonia. No fuel, but a much nicer environment than the normal roadhouse experience.

They've got campgrounds, nice accommodation in converted stone shearers quarters.
http://www.fraserrangestation.com.au

and for details on all the stops

http://www.nullarbornet.com.au/towns/nullarbor.html

Tim
AnswerID: 500535

Reply By: Priscilla G - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 14:27

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 14:27
Known for many years that Penong, west of Ceduna has good fuel prices.Make there & stay at the Penong Caravan park.Nice clean park,free washing machine use & nice people.Take a trip to nearby Point Sinclair & the famous surfing area, Cactus Beach.Fowlers Bay ok too.I think Eucla is better for fuel than Border Village.Haven,t stayed at Eucla CP but reckon the view to the coast would be awesome, & the old telegraph station is there.
AnswerID: 500537

Reply By: SteveAbbott - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 22:26

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 22:26
Bang on guys thanks for the help.

Penong was GREAT last trip across, the staff were friendly and the facilities were awesome. Thanks for the feed back on the fuel and other stops, will put a report up on the way back across to let others know of costs etc
AnswerID: 500585