What glue can I use to put two pieces of fibre glass back together.
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:31
Member - Boo Boo (NSW)
G'day all
Well, without going into the embarassing details I need a glue or something to put the 'support' block back on the wing of my pod on the back of the Dmax.
'Somehow' It broke off and the brackets for the hydraulic arm were bent, ( now straightened) , but having a little trouble with the part where the top bracket goes onto this piece of fibreglass that is detached from the wing.
Any help would be appreciated.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:49
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:49
International Epiglue available from most marine outlets such as Whitworths.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:58
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:58
Thanks Shaker, but the nearest place for me would be at
Singleton or
Newcastle. About 1 to 2 hours.
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:58
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:58
Whitworths do mail order.
Agree that epoxy resin would be the best
Reply By: Hi-ryder - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:52
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 16:52
Hi Boo Boo The only stuff to really use is Fibreglass resin you can buy it from boat shops but i would just try a local fibreglass person . They would most likley give you a small amount for how much you would need . Dont waste your time on glues .
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 17:02
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 17:02
G'day Hi-rider
After I posted I thought of our local panel beater who does a lot of fibreglass work. I'll take the problem down to him tomorrow.
After he has a bit of a laugh he'll probably do it on
the spot.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 17:52
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 17:52
polyester resin is pretty hopeless at sticking to itself. Epoxy will be far better and you can buy it at Bunnings.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 18:15
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 18:15
You shouldn't give advice if you don't know, resin is not an adhesive, it needs to be mixed with the correct ratio of micro balloons & glue fibre before being used as an adhesive. Epiglue is the best GLUE for the job.
I wouldn't consider using a panel
shop as they are likely to just try & glue it body filler,I have seen it before!
But then what would I know, my trade is only boat building.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 23:36
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 23:36
haha, settle down mate Epiglue IS a type of epoxy resin, dont get snotty at me. Do you reckon polyester resin makes good glue?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 07:11
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 07:11
I know what Epiglue is, I've used gallons of it. You didn't specify epoxy & even if you did, straight resin is not a good adhesive unless mixed as I mentioned.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 08:54
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 08:54
Boy your a laugh a minute arent ya :-)
Hopefully this morning youll be off the sauce and notice that i DID specify epoxy and i DIDNT mention resin. However smartypants, if you google it, youll see that pretty much every suppliers description is "epoxy resin" or "epoxy resin adhesive".
Maybe you should burn up your time and aggro emailing them with your life history and "polite advice" instead cobber.
Follow Up By: Hi-ryder - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 17:06
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 17:06
Well said fisho64 . As i read your post properly you did mention "epoxy" . And Yes you can use a fibreglass resin as a glue when mixed but like i suggested Boo Boo goes to a fibreglass workshop where they would give him the right gear . Hope you got on
well Boo Boo
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 18:22
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 18:22
I don't under stand why you have got your nose out of joint, my follow up comments were directed at Hi Ryder's reply, not yours!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 18:25
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 18:25
apology accepted, but perhaps you should take a bit more care how you reply and address people. Your reply was vague and some would find it a little "snotty".
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 20:10
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 20:10
It wasn't really an apology because it was addressed to the above reply. I also intended the tone of my follow up.
Giving incorrect advice can, in some instances, have serious ramifications.
Follow Up By: Hi-ryder - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 21:25
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 21:25
And tell me shaker how i was giving incorrect advise .??? A fibreglass resin would do the job no worries . maybe i should have been more detailed in my post but we are talking about the same thing here . I think you may be mis guided by the idea of going to a panel
shop i didnt say that . I gave advise on a place to get it .
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 12:12
Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 12:12
G'day all
Well I took it down to the fibreglass
shop and they will fix it on the 2/1/13.
From what I understand he will sand the 2 pieces and put new fibre glass on them, the let it set and I can pick it up at the end of the day, or the next morning.
I'll let everyone know the outcome.
Also this mob has been doing fibreglass work for more than thirty years so hopefully they know what to do. lol.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 16:24
Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 16:24
They should know what theyre doing but better check with Shaker first