bat charger

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 22:51
ThreadID: 99544 Views:7020 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
gday people.
I have purchased a bat charger from bit deals and i am not convinced it is suitable for my vision 120ah agm bat. I switched it on to charge the new bat and within 5min the gadge said it was full, i understand that the bat might be close to full when you buy it.. then after 2-3mins of the charger reading full it blew the fuse in my house.. I tried it again the next day with everthing else in the house switched off and it blew again. the charger is a mishto hc20a. The thing that makes me a bit suss is there is no switch to change between acid agm or any other type off bat, and there are number of spelling and english mistakes in the 1 page info page that you get. I did asked the bloke b4 i bought it to make sure it was suitable for my type of bat and his reply was yes.
does anyone have any experience with this before.

Reply By: Bush Wanderer - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 23:04
Batteries are expensive......I would only use a quality charger to look after them.
This one sounds a little "cheap".
BW....
AnswerID: 500646

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 00:45

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 00:45
A battery charger that blows fuses like that is faulty. Return it immediately before it causes more trouble.

AnswerID: 500649

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 01:17

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 01:17
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Double-up Post Removed Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 500651

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 11:29

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 11:29
Hi Trev, Without sounding rude what did you pay for it.? Just had a quick look and they seem to be your typical Chinese product where cheap component failure is quite common or small short circuits cause fuse failure. Some of the cheaper chargers can blow fuses if you connect them to the battery whilst already switched on? If battery charging is not a big issue for you then by all means see how you go but if it's critical then buy a Ctek Battery charger for around $250-320 (25amp). You get what you pay for and can always trust Ctek to deliver perfect charging. I am not associated with Ctek but have various chargers they make and can recommend them as I'm sure others can too.
AnswerID: 500662

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 19:02

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 19:02
The Chinese make some very good products these days.
I am sitting at my Hewlett-Packard computer – a grand sounding American name – the sticker on the back says Made in China.
FollowupID: 776718

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 23:29

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 23:29
Dennis, Please when making analogies please try and get closer to the mark. There is a huge difference between a no name Chinese company designing a battery charger using cheap components to HP supervising a PC plant in China. Hilux is made in Thailand but in a Toyota factory. The made in is not as important as the who made it?However I suspect you already know that DE..!
FollowupID: 776746

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 11:00

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 11:00
It’s a fact of life, a lot of good stuff is coming out of China - American supervised or not.
After the last World War they called Honda and Toyota “Jap Crap”
Go to Bunnings – half the stuff coming out of there is chinese branded (with English sounding names)
I have also brought Australian branded equipment with the wording “made in china to our specification” – only to find an identical Chinese branded model without the big price tag. Obviously out of the same factory.
Merry Xmas
FollowupID: 776756

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 14:37

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 14:37
Dennis, Read your own comments, you say they incorrectly describe the specs of the charger! Trev has one that is causing havoc in his house. Yes off course some good stuff comes out of China, not disputing that, but that doesn't help Trevor nor does incorrectly labelling the chargers, me I'll stick to my Ctek's all day everyday, merry Xmas...
FollowupID: 776777

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 16:37

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 16:37
This is what they state: ”It is a switchmode type three stage charger that provides a true 20A continuous charge to a 12V battery. The unit automatically selects between bulk, absorption and float charge modes, with LEDs to indicate mode. Works for either gel cell or wet cell lead acid batteries”.
No mention of an AGM – but I wouldn’t float long term on gel or wet cell at their voltages.
It will take the battery through the three stages but from my investigations it floats at about 14.4 volts. It does this by tapering off the current as the internal resistance of the battery rises. It is debatable whether their description is inaccurate – being an old sparky I prefer my description.
With equipment for Asia you have to be aware of inadequacies in their translation – some of it is virtually indecipherable.
I have three of these chargers and they are well built, as far as I can tell – I’ve work them very hard as fast chargers. I use them in tandem as I need a 100amp fast charger. I wouldn’t float a battery with them more than a couple of hours because of their high float voltage. They are ideal for the job that I brought them for.
As for his unit blowing fuses, it could be either:
A manufacturing fault, I had a top quality Xantrex blow up once, had it fixed – it still going and never missed a beat in the 5 years since.
Damage by the operator or in transit.
I brought a lot of small stuff from china (under $500). I research the product as best I can, then I take a punt. 99% of the time I’ve got what I wanted and overall I am way in front.
FollowupID: 776787

Follow Up By: Razerback - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 16:55

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 16:55
If charging is important I would recommend a Ctek charger as well. I like the non spark and reverse polarity protection and the build quality. You can risk it with the cheap no-name stuff but you get what you pay for 9 times out of 10.
FollowupID: 776790

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 18:06

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 18:06
I am not knocking the Ctek.
Trev&ness was seeking advice from someone with experience with their type of charger - I gave them that.
No doubt about it, for most people, a set and forget smart charger like the Ctek is the way to go.
FollowupID: 776796

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 17:57

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 17:57
These chargers are not good for float charging AGMs
They incorrectly describe them as 3 stage - but they are actually a constant voltage battery charger.
At about 14.4volt their indicator light indicates fully charged and they float at about 14.4V
I have 3 of these connected in parallel to a 150a/h Lifeline AGM - they pump just over 100amps between them into the battery when it is first turned on (up to about 37 amps each initially).
They ideally suit my purpose as a fast charger but I don’t need to float charge the Lifeline when its fully charged to specification.
I have used these for about 6 months now and they haven’t missed a beat – they automatically cut back on overload and overheating but the manual says “no reverse polarity protection”.
If you are blowing a fuse you either have a defective unit or you may have connected it in reverse at some stage.
AnswerID: 500683

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 18:08

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 18:08
I just noticed - yours is their 20 amp unit.
Mine are their 40 amp units - though I imagine the specs are the same.
FollowupID: 776709

Reply By: Skippype - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 19:37

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 19:37
Trev
You wouldn't need a bat charger around here. They fly around the house all bloody night without running out of charge.............
Tounge in cheek ;)
Skip
AnswerID: 500694

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 07:57

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 07:57
If it's blowing the house fuse..... to me that would be a good sign something is wrong.

I would send it back, get a refund and save a bit more coin and by a quality one like a Ctek.

We use Cteks in our workshop and never ever had a problem except for the power cable.

As four spelling mistakes, typical cheap chinese manufacture......
AnswerID: 500786

Reply By: Trev&Ness B - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 12:51

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 12:51
thanks everyone for your help it has answered my question . I will use this charger for quick charge and not leave it atached to the bat more than nesasary.. My computer has been playing up and i wasnt sure if this post made it to the forum so i apologise for postoing it again..
AnswerID: 500867