Caravan stamp duty

Submitted: Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 17:46
ThreadID: 99587 Views:6787 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Just got my brand new van. Yippee. So excited until we went to get it registered. Holy you know what! $1813.35 with $1676 of stamp duty included. Good old Tassie government will have a great Xmas party this year.

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:19

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:19
Same in most states - 3% up to about 45,000 then 5% above that.
AnswerID: 500821

Reply By: sam h6 - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:06

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:06
Just more tax with a different title so we don't call it tax. I often wonder how much of every dollar we earn that we get to keep after we get slugged all the hidden fees and taxes. Oh well better spend what's left I guess before they get that too!!!
AnswerID: 500825

Reply By: Member -Shakeejob - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:09

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:09
Buy your van in WA - no stamp duty!!

Merry Christmas
Shakeejob
AnswerID: 500826

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:38

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:38
But when the OP moves the van to WA he will have to pay it then.
FollowupID: 776870

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:21

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:21
TAS I mean - and edit function on this forum would help
FollowupID: 776885

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 20:11

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 20:11
No, you pay stamp duty (where applicable) on purchase only once; at the transfer of rego to your name.

"But when the OP moves the van to TAS he will have to pay it then."

Mh

FollowupID: 776933

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:24

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 19:24
must be a rare stamp with that much tax!
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 500827

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:21

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:21
I believe that NSW that we dont pay stamp duty. It came in as of the 1/07/09.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 500834

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:36

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:36
No stamp duty on trailers in QLD.

The GST was suposed to do away with state taxes like stamp duty.......yeh right.

AnswerID: 500838

Follow Up By: sam h6 - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:49

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:49
I didn't give it a thought as I have never paid this much for a van or any trailer before its never been an issue. My boat is worth twice my van and that's why it shocked me so much,I thought it would be similar in price but silly me forgot that the boat trailer is only $11000 and registered seperatly to the boat price. Oh yeah and there is gst in the rego price too. Enough of the complaining I don't see it changing any time soon, best get out and enjoy the new toy.
FollowupID: 776880

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:51

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:51
Mate if I was you I’d immigrate to Australia - no stamp duty on caravans.
AnswerID: 500841

Follow Up By: sam h6 - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:55

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:55
Is that in all the mainland states?

Maybe I should make some calls and make sure the girl hasn't put it through the system in the wrong category.
FollowupID: 776881

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 23:23

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 23:23
I was being flippant (the immigration bit).
I brought a new caravan in Western Australia 2008 and didn’t pay stamp duty on the registration. Don't know about the other states.
FollowupID: 776889

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:22

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:22
I didn't realise Tasmania hadn't joined the other states. When we purchased our caravan in Queensland, WA which has steep stamp duty still applied it to trailers. Buying privately in Qld and changing the rego to our name there saved us about the same as the fuel there and back to get it. A couple of years after that WA dropped it to "come into line with the eastern states".

AnswerID: 500845

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:35

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:35
HI,

Not sure about other States but in QLD Motor Vehicle stamp duty is paid on the RRP.
That is say a vehicles RRP is $50,000.00 the manufacturer has a new model coming out and reduces the price to $45,000.00. Stamp duty is calculated on the $50Gs.@ 3% $150.00 extra.
Al Capone was sent to gaol for tax evasion.

Mike.

AnswerID: 500847