daz (SA)
evening all,
purchased a new van some 12 months ago, & found there was no jack or
tools to remove
wheels. The dealer quite happily sold me jack for $300 plus. Visited a dealer today in
Adelaide selling new vans & noticed a jack in the boot. They said this was standard. My question is, Are Jacks and
tools normally supplied with a new van purchases. Your replies may tempt me to contact the manufacturer to cover the cost.
Regards to all Daz
Reply By: Member - Terry. G (TAS) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 21:49
Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 21:49
daz (SA)
I purchased a new van five months ago and this is the second van from this particular manufacture (Cre#tive) made in Victoria that I have owned both brought as new vans and no jack or any thing else .So it was a case of hold my breath and hope no puncture till the required items were purchased
Terry
Reply By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 22:47
Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 22:47
I got nothing from Windsor either.
Just use the jack and
tools from the Pajero.
Reply By: Bush Wanderer - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 23:19
Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 23:19
Interesting....the past four vans from 3 different manufacturers all had jacks and nut spanner...I would have thought that this was standard fare.
BW.....
Reply By: The Bantam - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 00:10
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 00:10
There is no standard and no legal requirement to provide a jack or even a spare wheel.
So it will vary from manufacturer to manufacturer and dealer to dealer.
$300 for a jack........HELL......that must have been some funky jack.
That sort of money will buy you a pretty good garrage quality trolly jack.
Follow Up By: daz (SA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 22:06
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 22:06
Trailmate jack, lifts from side of van , and used in lieu of a windup jockey wheel
Reply By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 00:48
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 00:48
Our van came with brace to get
wheels off. We did negotiate when ordering, for a jack to be supplied. Found it excellent
tools as we use it instead of a jockey wheel and its also very handy to use for leveling the van on set up.
Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 07:41
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 07:41
WE got our new Sunland Patriot this year and it came with a jack, wheel brace spanner, white
water hose for mains connection, black pipes for waste
water distribution etc. Basically everything needed to head off on a trip. I never actually thought about asking about a jack either...but it was all there neatly packed in the front boot.
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 18:32
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 18:32
Same with our Jayco.
@ $300
id be buying one of those red jack mates.
Follow Up By: daz (SA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 22:08
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 22:08
yes the jack was a trail mate, lifts from side as
well as using on draw bar when parked off the vehicle instead of jockey wheel
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 00:03
Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 00:03
They sure are Better than a jockey wheel
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 08:09
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 08:09
In every van we have purchased there has been a jack and a wheel brace.
So yes I think they should be standard however there is no compulsion or law to do so.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 10:09
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 10:09
Ours came with a 4 ton hydraulic bottle jack kit, 4 x wheel brace, long handled brace for the Alko legs, HD sullage hose, 2 wheel chocks and a
water hose. No power cable. Fair enough.... had to buy another sullage hose (van has two outlets - huh?), extra
water hose (some taps are not close enough), ramp wheel chocks, the power cable and so much other handy stuff that I can hardly get the front boot closed !
Reply By: new boy - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 10:47
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 10:47
Hi Had 2 new Coromal vans the first I found after a lap that the wheel brace didn't fit the nuts ,my
Perth dealer was willing to change the brace except the local agent wasn,t,t but a $10 socket sorted the probelm.When I order and accepted the new van I made sure the brace fitted.
Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 11:10
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 11:10
It would have been nice if members had stated which vans they bought had jacks and wheel braces and which did not. It would be nice to know who were the mean suppliers.
When I got my Regent ('94) it came with a spare wheel and an adaptor to connect between your wheel brace and the 5 sided Dunlop nuts. Neither of my later Spaceland vans had jacks or braces.
The only requirement with the supply of jacks is they must meet the AS/NZS relevant standards if one is supplied. I started vanning when a spare wheel was something that had to be ordered separately. I have just carried my equipment from one van to the next so I don't want extra junk arriving with the van.
Follow Up By: The Bantam - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 00:31
Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 00:31
Mate its not legal to sell a vehicle jack in Australia that does not comply with the standard.
5 sided wheel nuts.....why.
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 10:29
Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 10:29
"5 sided wheel nuts.....why."
Gives a little security. Actually the tool was sort of a 5 sided Allen key.
Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 12:22
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 12:22
G'day All,
We are on our third van,
First, a Coromal No tools )
Second, a Concept No tools ) except for leg brace
Third, a Lotus Trooper No tools )
Baz
Reply By: Member - Jim - Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 19:39
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012 at 19:39
Mine is a Coromal (Circa 2004) and came new with a hydraulic jack, the adaptor to the nuts and the relevant size socket and a brace with an extension handle plus screw drivers etc in the bag when delivered.
Jim