Waeco Tropicool - Road Test

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 19:57
ThreadID: 9961 Views:5343 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
Greetings all.

For those interested souls, the results of our road test on a 32l Waeco Cooler.
Cost about $310 incl 240v transformer so couldn't pass it up .. being mindful of it's shortcomings compared to real fridges for 3-4 times the price.

Claimed temperature reduction of up to 30 deg below ambient. Came very close before Xmas at home hooked up to 240v in 36 deg temps.

Off to Straddie for 10 days intending to use it as backup cooler, primarily for salad stuff etc. Idea being to run it off 120 Ah CT battery during day and top up battery at nights with genny.

OK for the first few days but that 5 amp continuous draw starts to show after a while. Genny on for say 4 hours at night and charger on normal rate, not boost.

To cut to the chase we gave it away after about 6 days. Couldn't put back what the cooler took out. Battery was down to about 6 v when I said OK .. I loose.

End result ... fine as cooler on extended trip in back of truck but forget it in a fixed base camp situation.

Cheers and Happy New Year to one and all

Fidei defensor

Rosco

Reply By: bazza - Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 20:25

Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 20:25
Thank u Rosco ---- back 2 the drawingboard/info gatherings.
AnswerID: 44022

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 20:40

Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 20:40
Hey Rosco,

Just to let you know I used my Waeco 80 ltr for the first time on my trip to the farm, was there for 5 days 4 nights, I have NO power down there. I just wanted to say that the 80 ltr ran perfect. Duel batteries started the GQ up perfectly mate.

I gotta tell you though, first time i ever used a fridge on car batteries and it worried the hell outta me as i always have battery problems in every car ive ever owned. So you can imagine ..I'd be checking this thing every time i walked past. But in the end, i was impressed. Best ice cold drinks ive ever had from a portable anything.
Just my shillings worth mate.I love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 44025

Follow Up By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 21:04

Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 21:04
gday cokeadue to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
FollowupID: 306258

Follow Up By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 21:07

Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 21:07
gday cokeaddict dont know what happened there lol.
we just about to give our new 90ltr a big test this long week end .
how often did you drive the car in the time you were away to keep them charged enough to keep fridge going or didnt it use a lot of power .

due to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
FollowupID: 306259

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 21:26

Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 21:26
Hey Diamond,
I drove the car for 30 minutes each day, just to run it around the farm on some challenging wet / muddy/ slippery/ fun (if you get my drift) tracks. Other than that, it sat idle as my Yamaha was being abused severly.... chasing roos and wabbits...wascally thangs !!!

But seriously I was very impressed. Much more confident with it now, just need to keep those batteries in tip top condition. Fantastic investment for me the Waeco. If i would have done it the usual way, i would have had to run into Taralga every second day for ice. and thasta 34 minute drive each way.
Good luck with yours Diamond... Hope it works well for you and your family...enjoy the weekend and drive safeI love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 306261

Follow Up By: macca - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 15:39

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 15:39
Hi Diamond,
Still sitting on the fence re the waeco..can you give me a yell how your monster goes when you get back. I have told the navigator that the decision has to be made this week as I'm getting itchy feet and have to head out and our old 39 lt engle is being used as a house fridge at the daughters.
FollowupID: 306349

Follow Up By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 17:35

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 17:35
gday macca.
did you get the reply to your question regarding the fridge shop.
ours arived on time in perfect condition a little dusty thats all.
i have been using it at home since then as a back up freezer
no problems at all everything stays frozen.
ill let you know monday how it goes with the 12volt over a long weekend.
due to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
FollowupID: 306358

Follow Up By: macca - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 18:16

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 18:16
Howdy Diamond,
Yes I got that message thanks. The navigator is still a bit concerned about the warranty.but as I said the decision will be made this weekend. Look forward to your results after the weekend. Have a great trip ,stay safe. Just wish I was heading out too !! but we have been rewarded with a brand new grandson this week so that is the focus this week
FollowupID: 306361

Follow Up By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 18:34

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 18:34
gday macca.
congratulations on your new family member.
the fridge ran like a dream all weekend.
i have an 80 amp hour deepcycle battarie as my second bat that i used to power the fridge.ran it flat out all weekend and ran the car for about 2 hours.didnt flatten a thing.
dont know how we ever got bye without one lol.
ps 90ltr was heaps of room for us(6)due to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
FollowupID: 306686

Reply By: Member - Ross - Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 22:28

Thursday, Jan 22, 2004 at 22:28
Hey guys

As a followup the 3-way worked fine .. as usual. In relation to travelling I know they're not too flash on 12v, but with regard to the thermo-electric jobs, am I correct in assuming they're not affected by motion???

TaFidei defensor

Rosco
AnswerID: 44048

Follow Up By: nickoff - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 15:29

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 15:29
Ross,

Yes, the thero-electric fridges that I think you are talking about are a solid state eletronic junction, peltier effect, I seem to recall, and these can be used in any position. The main thing is to keep the air vents clear so that the fan can remove the hot air. The can be heavy on the battery though, as the draw up to 5 amps all the time.

Nick
FollowupID: 306346

Reply By: ThePublican - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 18:22

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 18:22
Just had 10 days on Morton island,,used less than 4.5 ltr gas for 3 burner and 40ltr chescold,,,cant get better than that,,,,
AnswerID: 44134

Follow Up By: phil - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 15:12

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 15:12
Is that 4.5 litre or 4.5kg? Gas has a density of about 0.6 so there is quite a difference! Bottled gas is sold by weight (sort of!)
FollowupID: 306434