Jackaroo 3.0 turbo diesel won't start!

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 13:35
ThreadID: 99647 Views:11877 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
My son's 1999 3.0l turbo diesel which was running fine has just refused to start. On turning the key to the on position all the lights come on as usual but when turned to start position nothing happens and the check engine light flashes. They are all packed and ready to go on a campming trip tommorow! I have told him to look at the engine wiring loom which can get contaminated with oil but have no other ideas. He is at wits end - any ideas out there?
Keith

Reply By: Polaris - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:17

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:17
Flat battery / dirty battery terminals. Maybe the camp fridge has pulled the battery too low.
AnswerID: 501069

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:32

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:32
first thing id try is jumper leads see what happens
FollowupID: 777112

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:45

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:45
Had the same vehicle - among other scary things that can happen with the technology they used in that motor, it may as suggesed be as simple as the battery - had mine towed once, late in the warranty period - workshop said the battery was too low (but not flat, hence some lights) - puta didn't like it - refused to try a start. They need a full blown battery charge for starting, even under ideal weather - if its chilly, look out.
FollowupID: 777125

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:37

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:37
Is he a member of an Auto Club - NRMA, RACQ,etc?
AnswerID: 501070

Reply By: Herbal - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:43

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 14:43
Use Google. Look for a forum. You could just search using your thread title here - Jackaroo 3.0 turbo diesel wont start.

Once you have found an "expert" you want to ask the location of any fuseable links. These sometimes look just like fuses but can also look like a wire. You want to ask for ECU codes. The check engine light flashing will most likely be a number code like morse code, ie long and short flashes. The code number that it is flashing at you is the problem. You need the code list to look up the number.

While you are waiting for an answer there are a couple of things you can try. First re-set the ECU. The ECU is simply the computer. To re-set the ECU simply disconnect the Neg battery terminal wait 10 to 15 seconds and put it back on. Try starting the engine. If the engine starts remember you still have a problem that you need to find. If the engine still does not start re-set the imobiliser if the car has one. To do this you will need the re-set instructions which you can find on the net or someone here might know. For example my cars immob is re-set by turning the key on and off 3 time in 5 seconds.

Locate both the fuel pump relay and engine relay and check them. A faulty engine relay will not allow the engine to turn over. A faulty fuel pump relay will not give enough pressure for the injectors to work. If either is faulty you can bridge the relay terminal with a wire but if you do this remember to remove the wire when not driving as it might flatten the battery.

As the ECU is flashing (check engine light) at you there is charge in the battery. However, a loose or corroded battery terminal is often the cause of your symptoms. Since you will have the battery disconnected to re-set the ECU may as well give the terminals a good clean.

Hope that is of help.
AnswerID: 501071

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:50

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:50
another possible cause is that while the vehicle was being packed the interior lights and maybe the ignition was on for a period of time and possibly a fridge was connected only you know that/this if the batterys old say 3plus years it dont take long to run it down in above circumstances
FollowupID: 777127

Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:36

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:36
hi gwray
dont have a jackaroo but some vehicles have a fuse in the starting circuit check under the bonnet fuse box as well as under the dash remove and clean both battery terminal and inside clamps not just the negative one
check the cables that attach to the starter motor make sure they a tight
check for and earth strap going to the engine and/or chassis make sure it is clean and tight
AnswerID: 501075

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:39

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:39
i agree with herbal loose and dirty battery terminals and clamps are a common cause of your symptoms
FollowupID: 777124

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:45

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 16:45
or a couple of dead battery cells swap someone else's good battery into it and see if it starts and will eliminate whether the battery is the problem
test the battery cells with a hydrometer see if all cells are equal in the readings on the glass how olds the battery ????
FollowupID: 777126

Reply By: anglepole - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 19:15

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 19:15
You could try looking through this site
http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?/forum/18-jackaroo-frontera-rodeo-and-colorado-owners-group/
As others have stated the battery and connections are the first stop. In later models they came with 2 batteries to make the vehicle more reliable starting. After that the ECU should be checked out

If the motor is turning over and will not start particularly on cold morning you should be using a 10W something engine oil

AnswerID: 501076

Reply By: rooster350 - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 08:34

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 08:34
Similar thing happened to our Musso....battery was testing nearly perfect but that was not good enough...put a new battery in and all was well...old battery went in to the caravan and will see out its life just running led lights.
AnswerID: 501087

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 12:03

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 12:03
Hi Gwray,
Has it been through water lately and if so it could be your starter motor has got water inside it. Had one up here last year with same problem. Pull out starter motor and clean it, test on bench and put back in.
Yours Andy

AnswerID: 501094

Reply By: Axle - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 15:10

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 15:10
G/Day Mate, ...hold key on ,tap starter with hammer, ..maybe solenoid problems.

cheers Axle.
AnswerID: 501100

Reply By: escapesilv - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 16:45

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 16:45
Hi Gwray

Did you find the problem, can you tell us what it finally was.

Rob.
AnswerID: 501103

Follow Up By: Herbal - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 17:12

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 17:12
I was thinking the same thing. I would have thought that since his son was hoping to leave today, he would have at least acknowledged the helpfull suggestions that we have all offered.
FollowupID: 777152

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 18:17

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 18:17
was wondering myself whether the problem got sorted.... got us all hanging in suspense.................
FollowupID: 777154

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 18:51

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 18:51
hi you guys
be prepared on here most people are greatful for the advice/help given freely and will acknowledge it with thanks
others would take your heart and not as much as bat an eye lid
thats par for the course
i give my imfo unconditionaly so be it
its always been my belief that what goes around comes around
so on we must go
FollowupID: 777155

Follow Up By: Herbal - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 19:22

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 19:22
Acknowledged!!

Yes, some people are just like that. There has been a few times over the years that I have stopped to help a brocken down driver with no so much as a thanks.
FollowupID: 777158

Reply By: G's jack - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 02:30

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 02:30
Hi all, the jack we talk about is mine dad put the post up for me to try and shed some light! So a bit more info Christmas day (was a hot one in Perth) car ran great no troubles starting ect did about 30ks stopped for fuel then wouldn't start! Everything works fine got full charge in both batteries even tried a jump start from another car and the jumper pack but nothing not even a click from the solenoids! When I turn the key to start the check engine light flashes and the anti theft light stays on!! So towed the car home disconnected the battery over night then in the morning it started no worries! Today drove to bunnings (about 5ks) and when I came out same thing no start!! Towed it home again disconnected the batteries again for a few hours and it started tonight so I took it for a drive around the block when I got back it was fine again but after 15 mins wouldn't start! We even put the OBDII on her but no codes came up on the ecu!!!! Ive got no idea any one ???
AnswerID: 501129

Follow Up By: Herbal - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 08:14

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 08:14
Sounds to me like the engine relay. Find the relay and remove it. There should be 4 or 5 terminals and a diagram on it showing which terminal is which. Find the 2 terminals that make the curcuit and (on the car) bridge those 2 with a wire. See if the engine starts. Note don't try and put the relay back on with the wire in place. A relay is just an automatic switch.

Two other possibles. Engine fuse. The fuse is probably bolted on. It will be the big fuse around 120 to 150 amp. If it is bolted on, loosen the bolts and retighten them. See if the engine starts. The last possible is the immobiliser. Re-set it if you can. Check that you don't have a spare key in the car, if you do move it as far to the back of the car as you can. Having two keys near the immob will cause probs. If still no go. Take off the neg battery terminal and locate the ECU. Unplug all the conectors on the ECU and check they are clean etc.

Any other cause (I can think of) will give an ECU code.
FollowupID: 777172

Follow Up By: Member - John N (SA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 13:15

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 13:15
A few years ago, an old mate had similar problems with his diesel Jackaroo - it just wouldn't start. The local RAA bloke suggested he check the engine oil as well while going through everything else. The car needed about 2 litres to bring the oil level up and the engine fired and away he went. Sounds weird but that was his problem it seems. Something about the engine needing enough oil pressure to make some important bits work. We were all surprised as it would have been the last thing we thought to check.

Best of luck - John
FollowupID: 777181

Reply By: Gwray - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 12:42

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 12:42
Firstly a big thankyou to all of you who posted suggestions. After reading some earlier posts we disconnected the battery and left it overnight (had tried disconnecting for short peiod but no luck) and YES it started and did so repeatedly. I sat down to write a thankyou to this forum and received a call from my son to say it had happened again!
Since then we have been flat out trying everything to reslove the problem, including trying to explain to two devastaed young girls that there trip trip to Warrooro station is not happening.
It was most dissapointing therefore to get on this forum this morning to read disparaging comments about my lack of feedback.
Hardly surprising that this forum is dominated by few hard core contributors, and very occassional users like myself are reluctant to post in fear of being riduculed.
The Jackaroo problem is not resolved, we are seeking professional help.
AnswerID: 501148

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 16:30

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 16:30
well said
i think they open there mouths before thinking .
funny thing is in real life therre probly the last to say thanks
cheers and hope you sort it out
FollowupID: 777195