Engel repair Perth

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 19:20
ThreadID: 99653 Views:12909 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
My 20 year old Engel has stopped cooling on both 12/240 volts. I see from archived threads that the parts are expensive and as it is close to 20 years old, it may not be worth repairing. Any suggestions on a repair shop who might give me an honest opinion on repair or ditch?

Reply By: Ross M - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 19:44

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 19:44
G'day Trevor.
Although my Engel is not quite that old you can check it a couple of ways.
If you remove the case, near the top of the black compressor is two wires connected by joiners to the compressor wires.
If you switch it on and test with a multimeter set to AC you should be able to read about 20v AC or a bit more at those connectors. This is quite safe to do, just don't short circuit anything.

If there is no voltage at those wires on both 240v and the 12 volt power, then the inverter has failed. That is the bit in the large box where you plug in the two power supplies.

If there is around 20+ volts AC at those wires then the compressor has failed.

If you do this or get someone who knows how to do it, then when you take it to a repairer you can quickly decide if you are being fed porkies or not and possibly gauge the integrity of the repairer more accurately.

Ross M
AnswerID: 501077

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 13:24

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 13:24
Ross M

could you answer this for me please?...following your test procedure I see you are looking for 20v ac to the compressor

I have never actually thought about whether the Engels, when powered by 240vc are stepped down to 12 vdc.........or the 12v dc is stepped up to ac via an inverter

you mention an inverter so it ...... seems that either power source is converted to an operating 20v ac?

this next query is liitle off topic but ..In the case of a Waeco it is powered by 12v dc in regardless..so what happens in their case..operating voltage wise?

Hope this hasnt hijacked the OP but the answers in the case of the Wngel is relevant for any body testing themselves ..as many of us may be when away from service centers

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 777146

Follow Up By: Ross M - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 15:39

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 15:39
bungarra
The Engel uses 12v to run a power inverter to make around 20 V AC.
In other words the 12v is switched on and off into a transformer and stepped up to 20v.
The power box also uses/can use 240v AC and when use it is dropped to around 20v AC and it runs the compressor.
So Both power sources are modified with either electronics and/or circuitry to match the SO CALLED swing motor.
I might add, there is no swing to it at all. It is an oscillating compressor
which is a solenoid with a operating a piston which pumps gas. It just slides back and forth like a spool vale does in an auto transmission.

Waeoc use a Danfoss 12vDC compressor similar to a house fridge and it needs 12v DC. So the inputs fed to it are either 12vDC od 12vDC via a stepdown transformer/electronic switchmode power supply like a Laptop has. Just different and yes both are electronically controlled and operate the compressor via the thermostat. Some have a soft start action to the electronics too.

What I outlined re test is what I have done years ago to check the situation of the fridge and I fitted electric fans to some long before Engel ever did.
I am not a fridge mechanic I come from an Automotive Technician Technical Engineering background.
Fridges are really simple things but use some complicated physics/electronics and thermodynamics in their design.

Then again I might know bugger all about everything.

Ross M
FollowupID: 777148

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 16:40

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 16:40
Thanks Ross

much appreciated...now filed in brain for future error trapping ...hopefully never needed

Graeme
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 777150

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 21:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 21:26
Try Lyons Air Con in Kewdale. Good mob to deal with and I have found them to be pretty straight with pricing.

AnswerID: 501080

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 00:07

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 00:07
G'day Trevor,

Keep the 20 Plus YEO Engel and spend the $$$ to get it repaired.

As indicated above, Lyons are the major repairer of WAECO and Engel Fridges in Perth.

Your main problem will be .............

If they are open ...............

If they are not too busy repairing Engel Fridges...............

If you can drop your fridge off and pay the base repair fee.

If you are SOR............. I can suggest a repair centre that may be able to assist.

They do not advertise on this site and that may create a little problem.

With that in mind .........................

They are a "Service Centre" who services "4WD's" in "Armadale"

Michael may be able to help with an indication of the base problem to assist you.

BEFORE anyone makes any comment, when I was at Lyons on my last visit .................

there were more Engel fridges than Waeco in for repair........ and we have BOTH fridges running in our vehicles.

Merry Christmas and our wishes to you all for a very prosperous 2013.

Cheers to everyone.

Wayne & Sally.
AnswerID: 501084

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 02:37

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 02:37
..At a guess more Toyotas in for "repair" at moment compared to say Great Wall. Does this represent valid proof that Great Wall is more reliable or just that far less people have them? Figure there will be more Engels around than Waecos...so even if reliability of both products the same there would be heaps more in for a service.

FollowupID: 777133

Follow Up By: Member - Grundle (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 19:29

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 19:29
A mates waecos bleep itself in Alice a while back, it had to be sent back to WA.The place where he was organising this had a stack of said units waiting. This brand never for me.

FollowupID: 777159

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 02:13

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 02:13
Heaps more 20 year old Engels than 6 month old Waecos in for repair.....makes sense!
FollowupID: 777169

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 02:15

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 02:15
and more people get their engel repaired because the will go for another 10 years....Waecos are throw away items unless they're less than 5 years old.
FollowupID: 777170

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 12:20

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 12:20
Gday Grundle,
What shop did your mate take his Waeco to? Not the right one obviously.......repairs can be done in Alice. No need to send it away.......and if needed they will give you a loan fridge while they work on it. And Id be quite supprised if the Waeco agent he sent his fridge to didnt have a heap in for repair, he's a repair agent.........probably find the Engle agent has aheap of Engles too?
FollowupID: 777177

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 13:11

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 13:11
Gday D-Jack,
"More people get their Engels repaired" is hardly a good argument for reliability is it??? LOL
And Im not sure what you base your comment of "Waecos are throw away items unless they're less than 5 years old." on......My Waeco is 7-8 years old now and Im not considering throwing it away????
Neither is a mate who has two it the back of his ute that never get turned off ( one is the same age as mine). Ive used both Engel and Waeco and have a good run out of both in the same conditions. I know people who have wrecked them both in the same conditions.
So many people compare the two and all too often they dont know the history of the fridges..........one may live on the back of a ute and used every day and one may live in the shed and get put in the back of the Sahara twice a year.
I decided to give a Waeco a go because the shape was much more practical than an Engel and a bleep load cheaper at the time, and have convinced me with their reliability and would consider another one when needed.

FollowupID: 777179

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 23:05

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 23:05
I use both the 40 litre Engel and the CF40 Waeco – whilst the Waeco was about 15% cheaper, it was false economy – the Engel takes 60 cans within the evaporator zone - the Waeco takes about 30. Not really cheaper when you compare useable space per dollar. The inside of a Waeco has a lot of wasted space, outside its evaporator (cooling) zone.
FollowupID: 777232

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 12:43

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 12:43
Each to their own I suppose.........Ive never filled my fridges full of cans so everything in my fridge doesnt need to be instantly the same temp. In fact Ive never noticed one area of the fridge much different to another, except of course the butter/ fruit area. Everything goes in cold and seems to come out cold too, and never bothered to physically measure the fridge either.
The main reason I bought a Waeco (60L) was the shape........I wanted to put it in a 80 series. The waeco fits in with one rear seat folded up and the engel need both, which makes a lot of difference. Also the Waeco fits on the fridge draw on Tanami Draws where the Engel wont so it wastes heaps of normaly usable room........then there was the $600 price difference, which I believe isnt as bad any more.
FollowupID: 777252

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 13:53

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 13:53
You don’t fill them with cans! – I thought that’s what they were for.
So that’s why the missus keeps trying to squeeze food in between the gaps.
FollowupID: 777255

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 14:08

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 14:08
LOL.........I have 2 big eskys for beer, and no food allowed in them!
FollowupID: 777256

Follow Up By: Member - Grundle (WA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:04

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:04
Gday Hairy,Dont remember the name but i it would have been a Waeco place.It was stuffed and had to be sent back to Perth at his expence. He was bleep of and went and bought a ENGEL.They ended up giving him a new one when we got back, which he then sold.Not a good look for Waeco.

FollowupID: 777441

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 01:34

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 01:34
there is a place in balcatta , they are engel agents
AnswerID: 501086

Follow Up By: Trackerdog - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:40

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:40
The company is called Engleland and located Unit 3 / 15 Kirke Street, Balcatta. (Just off Halley Road)

Had my old egel repaired there adn bought my new one from them, good people
FollowupID: 777823

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 09:27

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 09:27
http://www.engelaustralia.com.au/cu_agents.asp?state=wa
AnswerID: 501089

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 09:30

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 09:30
I've always sourced my Engel parts from this mob in Balcatta - always found them great to deal with

http://www.engeland.com.au/welcome.toy
FollowupID: 777139

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 10:18

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 10:18
Is the compressor running on 12 and 240 Volts?

The most common scenario is a refrigerant leak.

The repairer would (if this is the problem) fix the leak then re-gas the system and you'll be good for another 20 years.

Your Engel is but a pup, I have one of the green lid one's over 30 years old still going strong!

AnswerID: 501092

Follow Up By: Ross M - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 10:40

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 10:40
Unfortunately Trevor didn't provide much info as to the fault re observations about the fridge.
He says it stopped cooling, and like Geoff said it could be a coolant leak IF the compressor is running.
If the compressor isn't running then it won't cool on either 12v or 240v.

I have commented from the point of view of voltage and compressor troubles and, you Geoff, have commented about a possible refridgerant leak/depletion.
If a slightly more involved initial diagnosis/observation was given then we would all be able to focus on what could be the real issue.

Many people seem to ask about theiir troubles without ever thinking much about the problem.
If Trevor's compressor was running, surely he would have heard it and be able to say either yes or no to compressor and then the replies will actually mean something.
As it stands he is forced to seek repair as nothing can be eliminated.
FollowupID: 777143

Reply By: Member - ACD 1 - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 21:57

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 21:57
Hi Trevor

Not-sure where you are based, but you could try Engel World in Midland. They are located just off the Roe and Grt Eastern Highway flyover.

Link Engel World

Always found them easy to deal with for purchase and services. When they did a repair it was quick and not all that expensive.

Anthony
AnswerID: 501125