Isuzu D max

Submitted: Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:05
ThreadID: 99680 Views:14319 Replies:14 FollowUps:22
I have Isuzu Dmax and carry approx 200kg constant load. Drops the rear by 20mm. When attach Van of about 250kg ball weight drops it further 40mm. Anyone can suggest the type of spring solution. Van used about 5 months of the year. Thought of just rear spring upgrade (and shockers) but likely to be wheel alignment issues when van off/on.
Lift Kit? what capacity. considered 300kg plus springs but no sure if this would work. Appreciate any advice.

Reply By: member - mazcan - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:16

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:16
hi glenton
there seems to be a misconception that if you upgrade your rear springs that you then need to do a wheel alignment at the front this is not the case maybe if you have a 4inch lift done on rear it would have an effect on the wheel alignment but a moderate lift of upto 2inches wouldnt alter your front geometrics
sax suspension have a rear helper system take a look at their site
they also have new replacement spring sets for rear that seem to have a good reputation with reasonable pricing

saxsuspension.com.au
AnswerID: 501160

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:23

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:23
most 4wd vehicle owners never bother about there front wheel alignment until someone looks at it and it"s sugested that they should have it checked and/or adjusted and that is usually when they are having a rear spring upgrade but imho it is not mandatory if there was nothing wrong with your steering before you go in
FollowupID: 777203

Follow Up By: Member - Glenton - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:27

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:27
Thanks mazcan will look up the site. Being pensioner need to keep eye on the dollars and don't want to do it twice. Apart from the soft springs very happy with the Dmax and have been lot of bush places with no problems (no van just a camper). Upgraded to off road van so need to fix the problem with the springs.
FollowupID: 777205

Reply By: bluefella - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:19

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:19
G'day Glenton
on a D22 navara i had i went the OME 400kg upgrade, worked well for me.
AnswerID: 501161

Follow Up By: Member - Glenton - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:30

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 17:30
Hi Blue
Thanks, is the ride OK when not loaded. Mate of mine suggest OME but there is sure a lot of options out there.
Glen
FollowupID: 777206

Reply By: wr450tractor - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 18:48

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 18:48
air bags you can change your ride height to what weight you are dragging around
AnswerID: 501170

Follow Up By: Ross M - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 19:22

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 19:22
If you are going to fit airbags to most modern "light" 4wd's then the pressure required in the bag creates a point force on the chassis where it was never designed to have force there and apart from a small adjustment pressure/force it will hugely increase the likelyhood of the chassis cracking at the tub brackets slightly forward of the highest point of the chassis curve.
Most suffer from this if stresses too much and no suspension travel because of heavily loaded makes it worse again because there is no compliance left in the suspension.

Think carefully about this!!!!

Ross M
FollowupID: 777213

Reply By: Ross M - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 19:16

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 19:16
G'day Glenton

The Isuzu Dmax will sink with a caravan ball weight and replacement with 300kg capability springs is a good idea.
I have a 2011 Dmax LSM ute and find/found it can take a load as it goes down to the load leaf at the bottom. This means you have on most vehicles very little travel left to absorb bigger bumps and this causes sudden stresses on susp and chassis.

I differ from MAZCAN's view. If you are going to add weight in the tub and also 250 kg to the ball then the front WILL raise from it's normal alignment position. This WILL cause some toe out and also negative camber of the wheels. How much depends on how far it rises.

To minimize the ball weight use a tow tongue which has the ball as close to the towbar as is humanly possible. Redrilling of the pin hole and/or a different profile will be better. This will give better sway stability, place less leverage onto the rear axle and suspension and also minimize the raise effect at the front.

Try and load the cvan so it is more balanced, this also helps, not too light though.

For towing I would replace the front and rear shocks for items which are more effective at dampening control because you are dealing with far more mass than before. If you ever have to suddenly brake or avoid you will be thankful you replaced the OE shocks. The OE shocks are appalling at dampening. They allow multiple rebounds instead of 1 to 1 1/2 and when compared to a BT50 they would register as unroadworthy.
Many call the Dmax susp Cadillac suspension for this reason. Very soft and baggy when going over gutters and cornering. Poor instantaneous directional control if required in an emergency.

If your front does raise more than a small amount 10- 15mm then be aware and keep a close eye on any feathering appearing on the outside edges of the tread ribs.
If it, does toe in will have to be adjusted to suit the condition/situation. This can easily be checked by placing two straight edges against the sides of the tyres above the bulge and measuring the distance fore and aft of the front tyres.
Ross M
AnswerID: 501175

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 20:12

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 20:12
ross m
my opinion was in respect to upgraded suspension not oe sagging springs if the rear has better springs the front wont come up like it does when the rears are to soft
thats my onrd experience from over 2million k's
i certainly agree with better shocks all round as it stops the wollowing caused by the van and puts the ute back in controll of the van
FollowupID: 777218

Follow Up By: Ross M - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 09:44

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 09:44
Mazcan
If the weight is in the tub or there is tow ball weight the raising of the front is caused by the rotation of the body around the rear axle.
So raising of the front ie less down force on the front wheels, is weight related not anything to do with the springs at all.
Many people think stronger springs in the rear stops the front rising, not so.
It might help the angle of the body work and it may look like the front isn't affected but the same lift effect is there and this action is as mentioned, independent of springs. Zachary the same happens if you have no springs at all.

Ross M
FollowupID: 777245

Reply By: Warren B - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 20:22

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 20:22
Hi glenton,

I have a 2011 D max, steel b bar, winch, and canopy. I also fitted an Ironman performance suspension with a 50mm lift. My " Dirt road " caravan has a ball weight when in travel mode is 260kgs. I also use an eazy lift WDH. ( would prefer not to. remove it when in rough terrain).
In the tub has aux battery, toolbox, generator and big engel as well as the usual stuff.
when fitted the lift kit got the front end aligned, and for some reason needed to get another done about 25000 K's later must of hit something as was way out on one wheel.
have dragged the van through dry /wet creek beds, strez track, Noccundra road , Odnadatta track, no real problems yet.
would have prefered to have ball weight bit less but the van was ordered for one vechile, that was sold and the Max bought. the weight tends to make Max porpoise a bit we towed a mates van 900k's for him , it had a 200kg ball weight and no WDH needed and no porpoise.
Cheers Warren
AnswerID: 501181

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 12:12

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 12:12
Warren
Have you got uprated shocks on both the front and back?

If your van is loaded so there is less ball weight then there will be less tendency of the heavy cvan ball weight from taking over and causing the porpoising. This will also give suitable shocks a chance to absorb the movement and provide a far superior ride and control of the rig under braking and steering emergencies.
When porpoising is experienced the ball weight factor is probably nearing an instantaneous weight transfer of possibly 700kg and that takes quite a bit of dampening out.
All this is done by the shocks at both ends.
Alter your tow ball tongue so the ball is as close to the tow bar as is humanly possibly to achieve. You may have to re drill the pin hole and the hole in the tongue has to be as close to the receiver as possible.
The stock Dmax one isn't.
Every little bit helps.
FollowupID: 777335

Follow Up By: Warren B - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 20:20

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 20:20
Hi ross M. sorry about the late reply quick trip to Adelaide. I have a full ironman suspension, ( bad choice should of went other brand.) I have just moved the ball closer to car by 1" so will see how this works, my main problem is the van was ordered for a cruiser then that sold and max bought even lifted 2" it is lower than the van are going to fit a mchitch which will bring the coulping down more level. looking at moving the battery underneath in front of the wheel at moment.
FollowupID: 777451

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 21:10

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 21:10
One thing everyone forgets is to weigh your 4x4 and if you tow; weigh it with what ever you tow connected.....

Most people would be surprised to find when loaded they are over weight and illegal.

A suspension lift will not give you extra weight carry capacity and the so called 200-400kg constant springs are a joke and mean very little in real world terms.

You can have very heavy spings that will give you standard ride height but the down side is when unloaded the ride will be very firm and uncomfortable.

Don't even thing of using air bags...... properly set up and balanced suspension will out perform a cheap shonky suspension set up any day.

In most cases with factory and most aftermarket suspension it's a balance between ride comfort, handling and weight carrying......

Ross there may be a reason why 4x4 utes including the have Isuzu have "Cadillac suspension"...... if they didn,t you would have 98% of owners complaining.

And as mentioned above dampener upgrades are a must.

Get some professional advice from a suspension manufacture like Lovell who have experience with upgrades and can make suspension for your needs...... don't go to ARB,TJM or any of the other 4x4 places for advise....... they only sell off the shelf "one size fits all" bits.

Every 4x4 we have owned and all the service vehicles at work have all had custom suspension set ups..... not off the shelf.

Do it right the first time.
AnswerID: 501183

Reply By: john a1 (QL - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 22:14

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 22:14
I have a Mazda BT50 towing a Kimberley Kamper sport rv,springs sagged and when I sought advice from my Mazda dealer he advised strongly against airbag assist for the same chassis stress problems mentioned in an earlier post..instead he recommended IRONMAN helper springs,got on their website ,found what i needed $150 del. to my door in N.Q. in a couple a days .Took me less than an hour to fit and do the job very well..Hope this is of help ....Regards Jack
AnswerID: 501189

Follow Up By: john a1 (QL - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 22:24

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 22:24
just go to IRONMAN,, click on suspensions then click on LOADPLUS..hooroo, Jack
FollowupID: 777230

Reply By: Member - Glenton - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 07:20

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 07:20
What great response and most welcome. One thing for sure the shockers are going to get upgraded. Have a set of Iron Man load assist and while they can be adjusted found they tended to distort the back half of rear spring. Ended up with poor tyre wear on rear.

Appears I need complete lift kit, although rear spring upgraded and shockers may do. Will take into suspension specialist, which one is another matter, depending who is in the local area. Noted that I need to be aware of off the shelf one size fits all as it appears what works for one does not work for another.

Been reading up on weight issue regarding vehicle etc and will have to make sure keep inside the design specs. Think I need to get all weighed when loaded etc.

Comments all appreciated and appears everyone has dealt with this problem at sometime. Just my turn.
Cheers Glen

AnswerID: 501194

Follow Up By: Ross M - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 14:56

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 14:56
Glenton
Everyone thinks in terms of lift kits. It is only a kit because someone has collected some springs and shocks and called it a kit.
It may be better to select teh load and heaight bearing springs with advice from Dobinsons or similar "spring people" who know about springs.
Also you can but any shocks you like and again select to give the mass stabilization you require.
The heavy sellers, ARB, TJM, OL, etc are just resellers and don't necessarily know this stuff, they just sell to you what is in their catalogue.

I would think you need extra height/absorbtion ability in the rear for load and instantaneous mass and travel control with shocks to match. The above sellers cannot tell you because they are salespersons and not technical persons.

with abit of research you will be able to assemble your own kit after good advice and then raise the front and wheel align if and when required. The back will be higher and firmer anyway.
FollowupID: 777262

Reply By: Grant L - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 08:38

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 08:38
Why ? Would you need to touch rear suspension with a moderate 400kilo load I am on my third Isuzu (previous two were 2.8 td 4wd doing Heavy farm work) has 100ks on clock usually has 600kilo in rear and then add 23' van, rear sits approx 20mm from bump stops and doesn't bottom out , take load of and springs rebound to original height only need to replace shackle rubbers, which I will do in next month or so (rubbers arn't worn out but like to run nylothan rubbers due continual heavy loads.
Isuzu suspension very is very strong and resilient.
AnswerID: 501196

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 08:55

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 08:55
If you only have 20mm to the bump stops then your in dire need of some suspension work unless you like the low rider Mexican look!

Most 4x4's will have a lot more clearance then you have.

I am sure your suspension would be bottoming out and if it doesn't there must be something limiting it's downward travel.

No standard ute suspension is designed to carry constant loads.

But if you think it's Ok then you don't have to worry.
FollowupID: 777240

Follow Up By: Ross M - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 14:46

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 14:46
olcoolone
I agree with what you said here. If the suspension has only 20mm clearance then it is close to bottoming out and even a catseye will cause that gap to disappear.
Any bumps will then suddenly start the instant shock loading of the axle to the centre of the chassis between the spring fix points. This WILL crack the chassis if the forces become often and severe enough.

Built in compliance ie raising the vehicle helps with this factor.

The stock unladen height/distance between the axle tube and the rubber on a Dmax (by the Isuzu manual) should be 80mm and that can easily be soaked up on rough roads with not too much speed involved even when near empty.
Heaven help, with a cvan and 250kg ball weight.
Grant says 600kg in the back and a van in tow. He is obviously a very aware, careful and lucky operator.
PS the Isuzu 3050mm wheel base dual cabs have a lighter suspension than the 3200mm cab chassis models. Neither will like the constant above weight loading with any reserve of ability or performance.
I own one of these vehicles and have a small amount of knowledge regarding them. Some load heavily and are quite fortunate to date.
FollowupID: 777260

Reply By: Grant L - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 10:32

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 10:32
No Mexican look, the suspension will bottom out when van not attached (weight distribution hitch also) if you attach humps etc square on at speed but that's just operator error if it happens.
Maybe the Isuzu suspension is a tad heavier than some others mine has just done 17,000. Around NSW and SA including Simpson
AnswerID: 501201

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 15:10

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 15:10
Suspension SHOULD NOT bottom out, the bump stops are there as a safety limiting device not an extra load carrying device.

When suspension bottoms out on the bump stops this means you have reached the end of you suspension travel..... meaning no more suspension making it dangerous and unstable plus placing extreme loads on every thing else including you back...... why don't you just weld two steel bars in...... it's the same thing.

I'm sorry Grant I do not agree with your way of thinking and safety.

And don't get me started on weight distribution hitches.......

Quote "the suspension will bottom out when van not attached (weight distribution hitch also) if you attach humps etc square on at speed but that's just operator error if it happens."

What can i say....... yes operator error but not the type of operator error your referring to.

BTW.... have you weighed it loaded and what was it? (including people, fuel and everything else).
FollowupID: 777265

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 17:55

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 17:55
hi grant L
your a typical farmer there's hardly a farmer around that doesn't overload their vehicles no mater what it is and i should know im an ex farmer
the fact that your d-max is hitting the bump stops or has so little clearance left it would bottom out on a small bump so this indicates that it needs an upgraded suspension for what you are towing thats fact not fiction
have you ever weighed the whole outfit to see how much weight is on the rear axle you might be surprised if you did
most farmers have the she'l be right mate attitude because its carrying what they want and when and where and push the boundary's
then they trade their vehicles in on a new one if it starts to faulter been there done that not having a go at you but being realistic in the light of things
FollowupID: 777273

Reply By: Grant L - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 18:36

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 18:36
Wow suspension doesn't regularly hit bump stops in fact hardly at all once or twice in last two weeks when partner loaded Xmas plus shopping and even filled rear seat.(don't normally have anything other than coat, hat in rear seat for safety sake)
Been in transport of livestock local and interstate doing approx 170k/ annum for too long to not have safety and drivability at forefront of mind.
Not a farmer do not overload, ran ute and van over way bridge before trip GCM 5100.
Ute Alone 2450. Without roof load 60 and partner (shouldn't say will get killed) 63. Van 23' ATM 2556. Haven't weighed it on its own.

Setup drives, stops doesn't bottom out very nicely no need for suspension mods.
Did contract doing farm work with staff driving vehicles and delivering f/wood (hardwood) in evenings those two utes worked! Sold both at approx 380/400klm on clock one to farmer five hours away who lit stubble paddock and had to replace the ute he forgot in paddock
AnswerID: 501221

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 22:11

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 22:11
amazing!
grant you have come back and basicly twisted around what you clearly stated in your first 2 threads
which is what i based my comments on and others who made comments will see that as well
cheers and have a good new year
FollowupID: 777305

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 22:18

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 22:18
Me think he is stirring the pot..... any one in there right mind know right and wrong.

Yes he has turned it around and now say different.

End of story!!!!!!
FollowupID: 777307

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 19:02

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 19:02
Dmax ute 3050 wheel base OE weight is 1930kg and yours is 2450kg???

So you have already added at least 50% of the utes carrying capacity before you start travelling/addding attaching cvans etc.

Hmmm' And it doesn't hit the bump stops? Mine was std and did hit the bump stops just with a 40kg canopy nothing else. You have 500kg somewhere. Yours has to have almost no travel left at the rear.
FollowupID: 777352

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 23:42

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 23:42
Just worked out, Grant does 3269km every week for 52 weeks
If on holidays for 4 weeks that rises to over 3500km every working week.
Not a bad effort , I have only travelled a few more in a week when driving coached with two drivers.
FollowupID: 777371

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 06:59

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 06:59
Ross M,

That is a pretty standard distance for an out of town longhaul driver. Most will do between 4000 and 5000K a week with very little time off in the year. Many clock 200,000k + per year.

RA.
FollowupID: 777375

Reply By: Member - willawa - Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 22:07

Saturday, Dec 29, 2012 at 22:07
Hi Glenton

You may like to check the thread-: 96748- re the Super Springs I fitted to my 2011 Colorado.

I have had no problems with them and they are easy to fit yourself.

Ed
AnswerID: 501230

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 00:14

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 00:14
The manufacturers of our twin cab utes supply us with suspensions that will carry the designed loads. However they expect us to mount the load a bit further forward than the great loading on a tow ball.

What most people do not realise when it comes to the loading of out tugs is the effect of the weight on the ball. Measure the distance of the ball from the rear axle centre line. Compare that with the wheelbase. You will find that the overhang is approaching 50% of the wheelbase. So what is the effect of this? If you have a 50% overhang it will mean that for every 100 kg you load on the ball the weight on the front suspension will become 50 kg lighter. So where does this 50 kg go? If you remember back to our physics lessons on levers at high school you will realise that putting 100 kg on one end of a lever and 50 kg on the other end you will have 150 kg on the fulcrum. With our utes the fulcrum is our back axles. To put it another way, when you put some weight on a tow ball you add a load equal to 150% (or close to) on your rear axle.

Many of us know of the load de-rating that Nissan apply to their vehicles when we are towing. Nissan do not recommend that weight distribution hitches (WDH) be used on their tow bars. They thus supply the figures for the load reductions we should apply to our vehicles. Other vehicles are not exempt from the lever effects when you are towing. It is up to you to work out the de-rating for your own vehicles if you are not employing WDH.

If your vehicle is down at the heel and up at the front it is a sign that your rear axle is carrying a large weight. This weight is in all probability an overload on the axle.. Beefing up the rear suspension does not remove this overload, it just makes it look like you have done so. There are only two ways you can restore the over loading on your rear axle to be within the limits set by the manufacturer. One is to leave some of your load at home. The other is to fit a WDH. Beefing up your rear suspension just makes things look good, it does not make your vehicle operate within safe limits. If you use air-bags to beef up the suspension then there is a high possibility you will be another casualty with a bent chassis.

The following JPG is an actual demonstration of the effect of WDH that was given at a Melbourne caravan show

AnswerID: 501237

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 19:10

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 19:10
That is good info Peter D.
Everyone is going to ask a bit more of the rear suspension and the fitting of springs a little heavier provides a a partial restoration of the suspension travel which is so important to provide the ability to absorb the bump with all that trailer load on the ball and hopefully not cause bottoming which DOES bend chassis and stress things beyond design limits.

Stock springs don't usually cut it when the chips are down ie heavy ball weight and undualting road. Dmax definately don't.
FollowupID: 777353

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 19:11

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 19:11
Typo there "undulating", sorry.
FollowupID: 777354

Reply By: Grant L - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 08:14

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 08:14
Thank you Peter D,
Great info wish I could have expressed it as we'll .
So why do people modify a vehicle when it is so simple stay within design limits or leave the load at home or buy a more suitable vehicle.
Use the vehicle hard but don't abuse it and it will go and go safely/economically
AnswerID: 501241

Follow Up By: Member - Glenton - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 11:23

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 11:23
Great input by everyone with varying solutions and opinions.
This is my second D max (auto) and both loaded the same with no van attached.
Vehicle dual cab, canopy, black widow draws and 100 amp deep cycle battery mounted near the cab and Waco 80 lt fridge Say about 30 kg in draws.. Full tank of fuel ( no long range or other tanks) 2 adults weight about 150kgs
In both cases the result was raising the vehicle front by 10mm.
Connect off raod van with ball weight 250 Kg and front raises further.
Van correctly loaded and all up weight of van 2500kg max.

Isuzu spec
Tow ball rating 300kg and load able to pull 3 ton.
From my calculations I am within vehcle spec ( perhaps I am wrong) . My greatest need is to transfer weight to the front to achieve effective steering and braking.
Agree overloading a vehicle not on or solutions to make it look OK.
Seems solution is a specialist in suspension to ensure all aspects are adressed not just covered over.
Appreciate everyones input. Have Happy and sucessful New Year.
Glen

FollowupID: 777397