Ratchet jockey wheel

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 17:46
ThreadID: 99697 Views:15225 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
We own an Adria Altea caravan - a single axle 12 footer and fairly light. I need to move the van across the back yard to its parking spot. It's across short but thick buffalo grass with a very, very slight grade. At the moment the two of us push the van into position but it takes a lot of effort. I have been looking at the powered movers but I can't justify the cost for the distance the van needs to be moved - around 15 metres. I was even thinking about building one, however I have just had a look at the ratchet jockey wheels on the internet. Two interest me: the Maco and the Alko. The only problem is they don't show a video of them in action.

Can anyone tell me what they are like, please and importantly how far they move with each push of the ratchet handle. If it is only an inch or two then it will take forever to get it to the parking space. Also, your advice on which is the best brand would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - John G - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 18:43

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 18:43
G'day Greg

We have a Manutec Easy Mover ratchet jockey wheel. Cost was around $350 from memory. It has a solid rubber wheel, which is an advantage for our purposes. I reckon it moves about a metre + with each 120 degrees of push. We use it on concrete, up a slight grade. We've had it for three years, with no problems.

My only hesitation is performance on grass, where the weight on the draw bar may mean that the wheel slips. Maybe a pnueumatic tyre would be better for that purpose.

Overall, it beats the physical effort to move the camper.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 501268

Follow Up By: Plantagenon - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 20:14

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 20:14
Thanks John

A metre is a fair bit of movement and sounds good. The draw bar weight on the van is only 62kg so its not a heavy bit of kit. I will check it out.

FollowupID: 777358

Reply By: Roughasguts - Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 22:34

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012 at 22:34
I would in your situation get a boat trailer winch! dig a hole and put some concrete in it, and use that with some reo as an anchor point! then winch your van into position.

All you need is to make a tripod or similar to hold the winch just above the ground so you can wind the handle, tie the back of the winch to the anchor point and an extra lengh of rope to reach the van on the winch cable if required.

I bought a camper trolley but as you say quite a few dollars to invest there.

AnswerID: 501281

Follow Up By: Plantagenon - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 07:22

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 07:22

I can see where a cheap 12v winch (Supercheap Auto) would make life a lot easier getting the van into position but I have to get it back out again and that means a lot of pushing as welll. My other problem would be a hitch point to the van. I think the only spot would be the axle as Adria have a very different chassis set up to Australian made vans. Its just a single Y shaped chassis without the cross members that the Australian vans have. I can't even mount a bumper bar or a bike rack on the back of the van.

I was mainly interested in how far the van would move with each movement of the ratchet handle. If it is only a couple of inches I would be there all day. If it was a foot or so at a time it would make life a lot easier.
FollowupID: 777376

Reply By: glids - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:11

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:11
I have a Chinese copy of the ratchet jockey wheel, with solid rubber tyre. My van is nearly 2 tonne, and occasionally the tyre will slip on wet concrete wit very small slope. I have worn most of the tread 'grip' from the tyre on mine. I reckon you would have trouble on grass. My unit has a single wheel. Dual wheel ratchet jockey wheels are available and should give greater grip.

As far as distance travelled per stroke:
Most of these jockey wheels are about 200mm in diameter. Circumference is therefore about 630mm (Diam x Pi). You can work on about 90 degrees of handle stroke as the average, so 630/4 = 157mm travel per stroke.
If the wheel is different diameter, adjust the figures.

Have you considered laying pavers or concrete across the grass for the van wheels and jockey wheel? That would greatly improve the grip of the jockey wheel and reduce the resistance of the van wheels.

Another alternative you could consider is to have two sheets of strong plywood... place one under the jockey wheel on the grass, and the other next to the first but in the direction of travel. When your jockey whell moves onto the second sheet, move the first sheet along to be ready to be next. The grip on the ply should be good enough, and much better than the grass.

There are 12 volt jockey wheels available at reasonable cost. eg, look at:
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Automotive/Wheels-Tyres-Parts-Accessories/Caravan-Accessories/AdNumber=AD004978323
My neighbour has one for use on concrete, and very happy with it.

good kuck,
glids
AnswerID: 501305

Follow Up By: Plantagenon - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:56

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:56
Thanks Glids

I tracked down the 12v powered jockey wheel. Shisham tools (Victoria) as well as Nepean Tools (Penrith) sell them at around $250 although they are only advertised on the Trading Post on not on their own websites. Maybe they are getting rid of them. They are obviously made in China at that price. I am a bit worried the cogs would be plastic and strip under pressure, especially over grass. I suppose you get what you pay for and they are well under half the price of a manually operated Maco.
FollowupID: 777392

Reply By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:34

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:34
Hi Greg,

I've got a pneumatic ratchet wheel on my small van and it works OK on hard flat surfaces, but is useless on grass. I'm not sure of the brand as it was on the van when I bought it and I'm not home at the moment to check.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

AnswerID: 501309

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:36

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:36
Hi Greg,

I own a Maco Mule dual wheel mover and absolutely swear by it.
They are not cheap (hell, I saw $600 quoted during a search) but leave any other device, (short of a battery powered one) for dead.

One modification I did make was to replace the pneumatic wheels with semi-solid rubber ones, as I found every time I went to use it, the pneumatic tyres were flat and the required pumping up became too much of a hassle.

The dual wheels give greater purchase on wet and grassy ground and I have little trouble moving my 1 tonne+ camper trailer around, including a short section of driveway that has a gradual but constant rise up to the garage.
This in fact was the reason I bought the Mule.

The Mule requires mounting on the drivers (right hand) side of the A frame.
I mounted a second jockey wheel clamp for this purpose and it works a treat.

There are times when the A frame "interferes" with the operation of the handle, thus reducing the stroke distance, but as I stated above, short of a 12 volt powered device,
The Maco Mule dual wheel mover is the next best choice.

AnswerID: 501310

Follow Up By: Plantagenon - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:58

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 09:58
Thanks Bill

I am going to pop over to Camec in a couple of minutes to have a look at them. Camec have them priced at $546 for the single wheel and $790 for the dual wheel. Not cheap!

FollowupID: 777393

Reply By: Plantagenon - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:48

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 12:48
I went over to Camec and looked at the Maco and the Alko ratchet jockey wheels. The Alko is about $160 as opposed to the much dearer Maco. However, the Alko only has a rubber/plastic tyre and not a deep tread pattern on it. Unfortunately, Camec said they would not replace or exchange it if I used it the first time and it slipped on the grass.

I look a photo of the back yard only to find I can't upload it here. It is pretty well flat. As I said 2 of us can push the van into place with a bit of effort. It has to go up a very, very slight rise (more of a lip) when it is moved from the crusher dust parking area onto the grass.

The guy at Camec thought the Alko would be OK but if its not I am stuck with it. Obviously the Maco dual wheel would be a better option but I don't want to fork out nearly $800 for a ratchet wheel.

Can you get better traction from putting more weight on the draw bar if it did begin to slip?
AnswerID: 501332

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 15:19

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 15:19
hi plantagenon
i have a power wheel
i just went out to the shed where its 40deg atm
and tested its
travel goes 33cm each stroke of the handle it has a 4.10x3.50x4inch course tread air tyre
yes you can get better results on slight upward slopes by adding weight to the drawbar either get some one to stand or sit on it or put a couple of bags of sand/blue metal on the a/frame it will improve the traction a great amount and with ply wood if required
i was lucky back in august i saw a second hand one for sale
$40 it needed some grease and a set of ballbearings in the swivell plate at the top it also had a slight bend in the shaft
so i was able to straighten it using my pipe bender so i have a refurbished cheap one
took an hour to fix so im laughing
by what you have said i am sure the power wheel will do the job for you it will move as fast as you can lift the lever and it doesnt take long to cover a few meters add weight if slippage accurs
cheers have a great new year
FollowupID: 777427

Follow Up By: Plantagenon - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:01

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 17:01
Hi Mazcan

Thanks for the information. What brand of ratchet wheel do you use?

FollowupID: 777437

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 21:58

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 21:58
hi plant===
its called --- power wheel---- white label red printing
ratchet type with 1.2 meter long 25mm square tube lever
FollowupID: 777455

Reply By: Member - John G - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:43

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:43
G'day again Greg

In the interests of not leading you astray, I went out to the carport and conducted a practical test. I over-estimated the distance, but with each push of about 120 degrees movement, on concrete and with the bit of momentum that comes once the camper gets going, I can move 300-400 cm, a bit more if I put my shoulder into it.

I reckon the idea in one of the responses, to put in place some concrete pavers, would solve the problem of working the wheel on grass. I've tried using mine in camping spots, on grass and dirt, with very limited success. I did start out looking at the Maco double wheel, but gave it away because of cost.

Good luck with it all

AnswerID: 501342

Follow Up By: Member - John G - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:52

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:52

I have no interest in Manutec, but checking their website at www.manutec.com.au shows their ratchet jockey wheel illustrated and at $250.

FollowupID: 777424

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 16:23

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 16:23
hi john g me thinks you mean 30-40cm with each stroke not 300-400cm ?????????
FollowupID: 777432

Follow Up By: Member - John G - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 07:23

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 07:23
G'day mazcan

And thanks. Of course you are right, or would you accept mm in lieu of cm? I'll need help if they ever go metric with time!!

Reminds me of the old adage - "I'm not often right, but I'm wrong again".

FollowupID: 777465

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:52

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:52
Greg this is what you need !
(Copied)
DON Geering was forever shifting his caravan from his carport to the front lawn so he could get into his garage.

Annoyed by the constant shifting, Mr Geering designed a bracket for use with ratchet jockey wheels, enabling trailers to be easily positioned in tight spots by hand.

The caravan industry has snapped up the device, called the Caravan and Trailer Mate Bracket, since its release last October.

Judges in the Riverina Field Days Inventors' Competition were equally impressed and awarded Mr Geering Inventor of the Year.

A former dairy farmer, Mr Geering lives at Wangaratta, in northeast Victoria, and designed and built assembly lines for computer manufacturer IBM for 22 years.

"I retired in 1998 and helped our children renovate homes until my wife Lois and I bought a caravan to do some travelling," he said.

"I had to continually move the caravan in and out of a single carport so I could get into the garage."

Mr Geering bought a ratchet jockey wheel to make the task easier, but found manoeuvring the caravan difficult.

He kept the ratchet wheel and worked on a design for a bracket, to allow the lever to operate in a 300-degree arc without restriction.

Suitable for horse floats, boat and car trailers, the bracket includes a jockey-wheel clamp and a locking device.

It attaches to the caravan or trailer ball coupling and can be installed or removed in seconds, with no tools needed.

The locking plate can be inserted through the bracket and safety chains, and a padlock is installed to give a secure lock.

There is no welding or drilling needed on the drawbar to install a second jockey wheel clamp.

Three models cover a range of electric brake-type cast couplings, with 50mm tow ball and load capacities of up to 3500kg.

"It took me five years, on and off, from the drawings to the finished product," Mr Geering said.

"I've sold 50 brackets so far since its release last October, with a caravan dealer buying 11 on the first day."

Mr Geering said the bracket made moving trailers up to 3.5 tonnes a one-person operation.

"A trailer can be moved by hand within centimetres of the car's tow ball, enabling the driver to then reverse easily to the trailer," he said.

"It is also good for getting out of tight caravan parks, where the car can be parked on a 45-degree angle and the caravan walked to the car."

Mr Geering was thrilled to win the inventors' award for his first major invention.

"I'm impressed with these field days and the amount of work that's gone into staging them," he said.

"They really need supporting, as the farmers are having trouble with the dry seasons."

For details, phone Don Geering on (03) 5721 2457.

Note there is a phone number above.
I wish this was around when I needed one.
Barry.
AnswerID: 501344

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 16:09

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 16:09
hi niss 42
the only mention on the internet that i canfind is in the award for the field days 2009 caravan and trailer mate bracket no photos or other details so the inventor don geering doesn't bother advertising it on the web and have conducted an extensive search and came up with zilch so it must have gone to ground or is a very limited item
FollowupID: 777431

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:38

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:38
G'day Mazcan.
I only saw a photo and details on this bracket in the last week, but all I could find today was what I posted.
I am pretty sure it is available, I think they also make the Trailer hitch lock which is fitted with a jockey wheel clamp, and is used in the ball hitch giving unrestricted movement left and right when moving van/trailer.
A phone call will reveal all.
I will keep searching !
Barry
FollowupID: 777444

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 19:09

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 19:09
I have found a PDF file which I had saved, Contact Don Geering to purchase, I believe about $260 ea.

Barry
FollowupID: 777446

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 22:07

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 22:07
hi niss 42
yep good idea but i wont be buying one i will make my own attachmt
it will be totally different to that one and wont take 5yrs to design cheers
FollowupID: 777456

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:58

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 14:58
Greg, this maybe what you need.
(Copied)
DON Geering was forever shifting his caravan from his carport to the front lawn so he could get into his garage.

Annoyed by the constant shifting, Mr Geering designed a bracket for use with ratchet jockey wheels, enabling trailers to be easily positioned in tight spots by hand.

The caravan industry has snapped up the device, called the Caravan and Trailer Mate Bracket, since its release last October.

Judges in the Riverina Field Days Inventors' Competition were equally impressed and awarded Mr Geering Inventor of the Year.

A former dairy farmer, Mr Geering lives at Wangaratta, in northeast Victoria, and designed and built assembly lines for computer manufacturer IBM for 22 years.

"I retired in 1998 and helped our children renovate homes until my wife Lois and I bought a caravan to do some travelling," he said.

"I had to continually move the caravan in and out of a single carport so I could get into the garage."

Mr Geering bought a ratchet jockey wheel to make the task easier, but found manoeuvring the caravan difficult.

He kept the ratchet wheel and worked on a design for a bracket, to allow the lever to operate in a 300-degree arc without restriction.

Suitable for horse floats, boat and car trailers, the bracket includes a jockey-wheel clamp and a locking device.

It attaches to the caravan or trailer ball coupling and can be installed or removed in seconds, with no tools needed.

The locking plate can be inserted through the bracket and safety chains, and a padlock is installed to give a secure lock.

There is no welding or drilling needed on the drawbar to install a second jockey wheel clamp.

Three models cover a range of electric brake-type cast couplings, with 50mm tow ball and load capacities of up to 3500kg.

"It took me five years, on and off, from the drawings to the finished product," Mr Geering said.

"I've sold 50 brackets so far since its release last October, with a caravan dealer buying 11 on the first day."

Mr Geering said the bracket made moving trailers up to 3.5 tonnes a one-person operation.

"A trailer can be moved by hand within centimetres of the car's tow ball, enabling the driver to then reverse easily to the trailer," he said.

"It is also good for getting out of tight caravan parks, where the car can be parked on a 45-degree angle and the caravan walked to the car."

Mr Geering was thrilled to win the inventors' award for his first major invention.

"I'm impressed with these field days and the amount of work that's gone into staging them," he said.

"They really need supporting, as the farmers are having trouble with the dry seasons."

For details, phone Don Geering on (03) 5721 2457.

Note there is a phone No above, may have a supplier near you.
Barry.
AnswerID: 501345

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 15:01

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 15:01
Bugga wish there was an "EDIT" function. (David ?)
Barry
FollowupID: 777425

Reply By: AdrianLR - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 15:09

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 15:09
I have an Arc version of the cheapy with a "deflatable" wheel. Moving a Trak Shak so about a tonne loaded. Ok on flat concrete (but I can push the TS with a bit of help in the same spot), useless on gravel as the tyre slips, and where I wanted it most, moving the TS from gravel onto a concrete pad over a 2 inch bump would spin the rim inside the tyre and rip the valve off!! Tried it a couple of times (replacing the tube each time) and it now sits in the corner of the carport (anyone want a slightly used unit with a flat tyre - going cheap).

I suspect that grass would be a problem if at all damp.

AnswerID: 501346

Reply By: Trev6 - Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:54

Monday, Dec 31, 2012 at 18:54
I have an Ark brand of wheel on mine and am quite disapointed in it, I don't think that it would suit your needs as mine won't even push my off road trailer around on dirt, it just skids most of the time and will move only a few cm per stroke.

The problem I can see is that the skinny jockey wheel is not good enough (to smooth)to push the two van wheels along over humps and holes and the buffalo would only make it worse especially if the tow ball / front of van weight is not very high.

hope this helps

Trevor
AnswerID: 501354

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 07:36

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 07:36
Greg,
simple and easy way to move the van. All you need is an anchor point and a detachable bracket so you can move the winch around.

Just use one of these. About $80

RA
AnswerID: 501363

Reply By: Plantagenon - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 10:10

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 10:10
Thank you all your replies and helpful advice. I managed to buy an unused Alko ratchet jockey wheel for $45 so I am going to give that a try first. I was told to put shade cloth over the grass and it would work ok because of the yard is fairly flat. If it doesn't work then I haven't lost much. I will let you know how it works after I pick it up.

AnswerID: 501368