x army olypmic steeltrex 750 R 16 lt

Submitted: Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 19:01
ThreadID: 9978 Views:5231 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
got some x army olympic steeltrek 750 R 16 LT 10ply tyres cheap has any one had experance with them.I hope to go to the kimberleys later this year with them I have tubes with them they don"t a side wall ply on them so I am guessing it is 10. any help appreciated

Reply By: Member - Peter- Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 19:33

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 19:33
They were the first 750 x16 radials freely available back in the late 70's in Oz.
I put several sets on firstly an early hilux 4x4 and later 40 series troopies.
They performed well compared to the cross and bias plies generally available especially in the steering department, totally transformed the old 40 series.
They wore well and proved to be pretty tough. I mostly fitted 8 plies from memory but did do one trip to the Kimberley's in a fully laden HJ47 with 10's. Went there and back with no problems.
AnswerID: 44141

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:11

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:11
WHYworry.
These tyres are a bit old to use, most tyre people recomend replacing tyres after 6 years regardless of tread because the compound starts to brake down. The steeltrecks will be hard to balance if they have been in storage for 30 years. Eric.
AnswerID: 44155

Follow Up By: Dennis (Brisbane) - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:37

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:37
The Army still use them Eric :)

They may not have been in storage for long at all, just may be surplus or 'old' stock.
FollowupID: 306395

Follow Up By: Crazy-Mik - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 09:26

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 09:26
Eric,
When tyres are made their is a waxy film put on them to slow/stop any rubber "going off" they never worry about telling you this when you buy car tyres, but go out and but a couple of bike tyres they warn you and warn you again, scuff it in before you trust it completely, when tyre rubber goes off the compund becomes harder, and the tyre doesn't tend to have as much grip, but with a little care, they should be fine.
FollowupID: 306413

Reply By: Dennis (Brisbane) - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:34

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:34
Had a run of flats on Ex K95 throughout the NT and Qld ..........................but I don't think it was the fault of the tyres.
AnswerID: 44159

Follow Up By: dingodigger - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:57

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:57
yeah i reckon the steeltreks on our rovers put up pretty bloody well around TSV, Shoalwater etc.
they copped some abuse and I don't rememnber a lot of bitching about them so thats a good sign.
seriously mate i reckon for the right price they are no worries
dd
FollowupID: 306397

Reply By: whyworry - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 07:15

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 07:15
thanks all I checked out the tubes before I brought them they were not periched so I don"t think they were in storage all that long so I am going to fit them. any body know if the side walls would be 10 ply. You have just proved to me what a great sight this is will become a member whene we get back from kimberleys hope to work up there for the dry season leave 1 march and take about a month to get there. Thanks again.
AnswerID: 44180

Reply By: Member - Peter- Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 07:52

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 07:52
The ply rating should be on the side walls of the tyre along with load rating and maximum inflation pressures. If as you say there is no ply rating there should be a load rating which may give you an idea.
They were available in 6, 8 and 10 ply from memory. I was told when they first came out that the tyre case construction was very similar to the original road grippers as fitted to troopies and traytops from the early 80's. The original roadgrippers were a great general purpose tyre as you will find with the steeltreks, very tough but sensitive to tyre pressures.
Remember the 4 lb rule when running the tyres.
AnswerID: 44182

Follow Up By: whyworry - Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 19:50

Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 19:50
Could you please let me know what the 4 lb rule is so I can try to remember to use it
FollowupID: 306504

Follow Up By: Member - Peter- Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 20:27

Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 20:27
Basically the rule says that for any given speed, vehicle load, tyre and type of vehicle the tyre pressure when hot should be around 4PSI more than the cold inflation pressure.
It was originally put out by Michelin I think.
After driving down the road for say 1/2 an hour (long enough for the tyres to warm up) at the speed you normally travel at check your tyre pressures.
If the increase is more than 4lb you need to increase the initial (cold)pressure in the tyre.
If the increase is less than 4lb you need to lower the initial pressure.
Changes in speed and load will cause a change in the pressure increase, with a bit of practice you will be able to find a pressure that is right for your vehicle and your travelling speed on dry roads.
Wet roads will let the tyre run cooler so the pressure increase will not be as great.
I've used this method for 30 odd years with great results, the only time I vary it slightly is when running on rocky stony roads at speed where with modern passenger/AT type tyres it is recommended to drop the pressures to lower the risk of damaging the tyres due to rocks punching through the tread. If this is done you should lower travelling speed as well as tyres don't like overheating and the 4lb rule can still be used as a guide.
FollowupID: 306507

Reply By: colin - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 22:48

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 22:48
Am i wrong here but i thought ply rating is for the tread rating and not the side wall.??? Col
AnswerID: 44244

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 23:56

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 23:56
If your heading to a remote area, why would you risk it on old tires you are unsure of?
AnswerID: 44249

Follow Up By: whyworry - Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 19:43

Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 19:43
I do not think they are old tyres as the tubes look ok and they perish real quick when left flat and open to air & light. I was only trying to find out if anyone had experence with them and what ply the walls would be. I have fitted them and so far am happy with them. Went to local quary and they climbed ok then did 50k highway not noisy and handled ok. will proberly do 2000k before we go away and if I have any trouble with them they will not be going but we will. thanks for the intrest truckster but that was someone else saying they might be old [like me] we didt even have these tyres when I did my time.
FollowupID: 306502

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 00:18

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 00:18
Must have misread someone elses reply above, thought they were old.

kewl, safe travelling !
FollowupID: 306540