Best Part of Oz to travel at this time of year?

Submitted: Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 11:38
ThreadID: 99784 Views:2007 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
We are currently in Kalbarri WA and are getting advice that we shouldn't continue much further north due to extreme weather. It has kind of put our trip up the coast to a bit of a stand still. Now looking for somewhere else to explore that's more user friendly

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:02

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:02
Mawson Base is nice and cool at this time of the year....

AnswerID: 501628

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:09

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:09
Tassie is good this time of the year. The xmas holidays will be over the time you get there from Kalbarri.
AnswerID: 501630

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 17:08

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 17:08
Tony, you must be out of touch with the current news.

Hobart reached 41.3 degrees Celsius - its highest temperature in 120 years of record keeping.

FollowupID: 777852

Reply By: TrevorDavid - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:13

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:13
RTH

You could keep heading north, Shark Bay, Carnarvon and up to Coral Bay any further north it gets very hot. It is cyclone seasone but nothing on the horizon at the moment & generally get enough warning.Carnarvon for example has not had a cyclone for yonks

Regrds

TDB
dontyajustluvit

AnswerID: 501631

Follow Up By: Road Trippin Hippies - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:26

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:26
thanks mate
FollowupID: 777820

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:40

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:40
may not have had a direct hit for a while but pretty much any NW cyclone dumps a tonne of rain in the Gascoyne catchment;
http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/weve-lost-everything-carnarvon-counts-the-cost-of-50year-floods-20101220-1928q.html

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-02-19/carnarvon-locals-weather-flood-peak/1949254

head south to Albany or Esperance way for the summer, its not pleasant up north at this time of the year other than the lack of crowds (for a reason)
FollowupID: 777837

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:55

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:55
This is true Fisho, but the catchment is gi-normous. You can have a flowing Gascoyne River at Carnarvon ( From a cyclone ) but not see a drop of rain.

TDB
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 777840

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 15:22

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 15:22
Hence not best place to spend summer. Flooded out last 2 summers
FollowupID: 777844

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 15:35

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 15:35
Fisho, there was no flood last year, I said a flowing Gascoyne River. You just proved that you have no idea. Stay down south that would be good.

Hooroo

TDB
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 777845

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 16:02

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 16:02
get some manners mate.
Ive lived in Coral Bay for a few years, now live down the road from Carnarvon. Heading north at this time of the year isnt much fun. I still work up past there.

As you said you dont need a drop to get flooded in Carnarvon. There has just been a downgraded cyclone pass Carnarvon a few days ago. Yes we had no rain, its pretty well anyone that crosses north/east of Carnarvon that floods the Gascoyne River.
FollowupID: 777848

Follow Up By: TrevorDavid - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 20:05

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 20:05
Fisho, Looks llike we agree on somthing then. In my post I said that I reckon its OK to go as high as Coral Bay this time of year. thats my opinion. You say not to , Thats your opinion, I guess others will have there opinion as well.
As for manners ......I have plenty
dontyajustluvit

FollowupID: 777862

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 20:11

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 20:11
Yep im sure youve got plenty, just not sure how to use them.
"Youve just proved you have no idea, stay down south"

Uncalled for
FollowupID: 777863

Follow Up By: Hunter Gatherer - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 22:31

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 22:31
Some wise person once said that opinions are like backsides everyone has one !!!
FollowupID: 777883

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:17

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:17
Where have you been so far? Have you tried a bit inland - nice spot at Ellendale Pool which is not far away.

Val.

AnswerID: 501632

Follow Up By: Road Trippin Hippies - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:25

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 12:25
thanks, Ellendale pool is a great little hide away!
Just at the very beginning of our trip, left Perth a few weeks ago
FollowupID: 777819

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:24

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:24
How about spending time down along the south coast of WA - anywhere east of Cape Arid is accessible and there are some beautiful places along there. Maybe a bit busy during school holidays.

Val.

FollowupID: 777835

Follow Up By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 15:22

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 15:22
I agree with Val. You ought to consider coming back south. Other things to consider maybe whether or not you wish to remain hugging the coast? Although it will be hot, Mount Augustus is worth a visit. We stayed at Cobra and enjoyed jaunts to the biggest Rock in Australia.
Then, as Val says, there is plenty to occupy you in the South-West. Again, you can decide whether to stay coastal or go inland. Spots we'd recommend would be Conto's, Augusta, Pemberton, Denmark, Windy Harbour.All places to use as base camps and then go out exploring locally.
Happy travels.
FollowupID: 777843

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 13:10

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 13:10
How much time have you got and how far North were you planning on going?

AnswerID: 501642

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:18

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 14:18
Sorry, to answer your question.....Your in it!
FollowupID: 777834

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 16:54

Friday, Jan 04, 2013 at 16:54
the amount of cyclones this year is predicted to be below normal, cyclones dont just come from nowhere and surprise everyone , plenty of time to get out of harms way

seeing as your up there id stick with your plans and keep an eye on the weather - thers no garantees in life.

you could head down south and have your trip curtailed by bushfire
AnswerID: 501655