Increasing Towing Capacity of 87 Land Cruiser Ute

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 11:59
ThreadID: 99886 Views:6234 Replies:7 FollowUps:22
Hi Guys,

I stupidly purchased an old Land Cruiser Ute thinking it had the 3500KG towing capacity. It is an 87 Model HJ75 which unfortunately is at 2500KG.

Does anyone know in QLD what I have to do to have this capacity increased (If Possible?)

I am planning on heavily modifying this car as I purchased for the sole purpose of towing the boat on Fraser later this year (3.5t of it).

Thank you

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:08

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:08
Big boats like that are ok on the beach, but can cause a lot of holdups on the sandtracks of Fraser - frustrating for those following them.
AnswerID: 502100

Follow Up By: Owen W1 - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:13

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:13
There are plenty of 3.5t Caravans out there.. Whats the difference??

FollowupID: 778464

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:29

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:29
Someone would have had to dragged them through the tracks with a tractor.
FollowupID: 778465

Follow Up By: Owen W1 - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:33

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:33
Ok, well thank you for taking your time to post something totally unrelated to the advice I am seeking!

Sorry for your previous frustrations regarding boats.

FollowupID: 778466

Follow Up By: GEMAC Solar and Power - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:37

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:37
Dont worry Owen
This site has a lot of people who fail to read the question prior to answering it.
I had the same issue with a patrol cab chassis.
And I was unable to get anything done.

The tugs will tow with no problems just that the ADR People never seem to venture out into the real world

FollowupID: 778467

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:02

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:02
Glad I could be of help Owen.
You mentioned towing a 3.5 ton load with an old 4WD around Fraser.
I have seen people get into trouble with similar setups on Fraser’s sand tracks – particularly up the north end. They had to be recovered with tractors.
I don't get frustrated but there were about 50 other drivers behind them, with no way around on the one way tracks, pretty stirred up.
FollowupID: 778469

Follow Up By: Owen W1 - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:05

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:05
I understand that, and in the same vain I am frustrated when there is a Caravan on the highway towing at 70km/h in a 100 zone. I however dont judge all caravan owners for this.

And as a matter of interest, all tracks are set out and it will be a 3 car snatched tow through the cuttings, and all recovery gear including winch, snatches and max tracks are already purchased.

FollowupID: 778471

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:41

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:41
Whoopee that should stir the place up a bit – sounds like fun.
FollowupID: 778474

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:52

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 12:52
Hi Owen,

AFAIK the GVM (what is can "legally" carry) can be upgraded by suspension and tyre mods but the towing capacity cannot.
A lot of guys with 80 series earlier than about '97 had the same issues. 2500 kg towing capacity. '98 onwards, same engine and transmission, suspension, brakes, chassis, all the important bits 3500 kg towing. Toyota of course wiped their hands of the matter. They wanted to sell new, and from what I have seen on lcool and other sites the increase was driven more by "keeping up with the opposition" than any stunning engineering upgrades.
Once again, AFAIK no engineer would sign off on the higher tow rating but if you can find one I would like to know.
Just as a matter of interest I tried because my van was just under 2500kg fully loaded and like most the "must have" stuff could creep up a bit...lol. I have a '91 HZJ75.

AnswerID: 502102

Follow Up By: Owen W1 - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:03

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:03
Thank you Pop, much appreciated input.

Now this is getting difficult. Might be easier to start chopping fibreglass off the boat lol.

Thank you
FollowupID: 778470

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:28

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:28
Owen

Unfortunately I think Pop is correct. A GVM upgrade to a vehicle < 4.5t GVM will not increase the max towing rating provided by the manudacturer. I believe it is not possible to increase this specification
CJ
FollowupID: 778473

Follow Up By: Owen W1 - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 13:42
Thanks Guys
FollowupID: 778475

Follow Up By: flashwillie - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 15:14

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 15:14
a few years ago i bought a land cruiser 100 that was upgraded to 4.2 ton it had a blue plate on the fire wall and an engineering certificate, so it must be possible.it was a vx gray import,so it had 2 blue plates.
FollowupID: 778484

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 15:56

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 15:56
We've been told you can get it done, I'm sorry I don't know where.Yet!
Hubby has also been told, as we're owners of an 80 series thinking of towing a van ,that Qld.Police are really onto overweight towing.
Some one recommended weight distributing bars could help bit.
Take care, safe travels.Ma
FollowupID: 778486

Follow Up By: Owen W1 - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 16:11

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 16:11
Thanks.

I have been doing a little bit of research and im trying to find the GVM and GCM for an 87 cruiser.

Spoke to a Mechanical Engineer who stated something about it being determined from the GVM/GCM, however if the GCM - GVM is 3500kg, and my towing capacity is 2500kg, that leaves a 1000kg inbalance.

Any tech gurus here?
FollowupID: 778489

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W1 (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 16:16

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 16:16
G'day Owen, why not give the Qld Transport a call....most (not ALL) times they can be pretty helpfull. At least then you'd get an official answer particularly if you act 'helpless' and ask them for a copy of the relevant legislation covering modifications to a vehicle. Cheers
FollowupID: 778490

Follow Up By: Member - Rob K (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 17:20

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 17:20
G'day Owen,

From the little bit of research I did some time ago about a GVM upgrade in Victoria, the GCM (Gross Combination Mass) of a vehicle can not be changed. The GVM (Gross Vehicle Mass) can be changed at the expense of reducing the vehicle's towing capacity (ie. increase GVM and reduce towing capacity to maintain the vehicle's GCM). I also learnt that once a vehicle has been registered changing the GVM is nearly impossible and can be very expensive. Most owners who want to increase the GVM of a vehicle do so before the first registration - much easier.

In regards to your situation I make the assumption that an increase in towing capacity will require a reduction in the vehicle GVM but I'm no expert?, I haven'y come across anyone wanting to reduce a vehicle's GVM to increase it's towing capacity. The road authorties would be a better place to ask about registration requirements.

FollowupID: 778492

Follow Up By: mynance - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 07:05

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 07:05
Friend had his Patrol upgraded and stamped to tow 9 tonne by a firm in Toowoomba will try to contact him to get the name of the firm for you.

Myles
FollowupID: 778509

Follow Up By: Joe G2 - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 07:49

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 07:49
Gee Myles, there is something wrong here either a misprint or your mate is pulling your leg. We tow 9 tonne ATM trailers in our business with trucks that weigh 7 tonne + there load, I cannot imagine how dangerous towing anywhere near those weights with a patrol would be. Please chase your mate up and see if it is actually correct.

Joe
FollowupID: 778511

Follow Up By: mynance - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 08:44

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 08:44
His 5th wheeler came in at almost 4t so he took it to Toowoomba and had extra set of wheels put under it, and as far as I know it was rated to 9t.
I have sent him off an email to confirm and find out the firm who did the upgrade.
He has the last of the Turbo 4.2 patrols and also using gas injection and monitoring his exhaust temps.

Myles
FollowupID: 778512

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 09:36

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 09:36
Bet he didn't make it up or down Toowoomba range towing a 9 tonne trailer behind a Patrol.
FollowupID: 778513

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 12:54

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 12:54
9 tonne plus a couple of tonne of Patrol.
I wouldn't like to see that coming at me down hill – it would be like Johnny Cash’s Wreck of the Old 97
FollowupID: 778528

Follow Up By: mynance - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 12:34

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 12:34
Creative Conversions Brendale 2 years ago plated to 9t Extra axle and full truck airbags. Cost $18k.
Tows comfortably at 135 Kph in NT.

Myles
FollowupID: 778746

Follow Up By: Joe G2 - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 08:32

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 08:32
I thought there would be more to it than a standard patrol, a 6 wheeler. That would be 9 tonne GCM I assume, which is a lot different to being able to tow 9 tonne which would then make his GCM about 12 - 13 tonne?
Thanks for following it up Myles, as it had my curiosity up.

Joe
FollowupID: 778831

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 17:56

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 17:56
Don't have the ph.nos but you should be able to find them easily , ,,,,creative converions ,,,,,,widebay motor bodies ,,,, and ,,RWV , all do major vehicle upgrades so should be able to set you on the right track ,,,,
AnswerID: 502115

Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 20:46

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013 at 20:46
It is possible in NSW and given that they are trying to get national standards then one would think QLD (although 20yrs behind LOL) should allow as well. RTA NSW even have a bulletin describing the requirements so dig deeper. Or move south.
AnswerID: 502122

Reply By: mountainman - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 01:28

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 01:28
taken from outerlimits after a bit of a search.
i hate these people who have noo idea and say it cant be done.
and its all the time on here, know it alls. winging old timers!! ha haa

yes they are restricting heaps now on the new laws that are out.
this has been done to an 80series.
soo with the right engineer, and as you said proper mods, and willing to get them done it might be doable.

good luck buddy.

im weary of the 2500kg tow rating, i have that now, id like the 3500kg to tow a car trailer. which will mean an upgrade. of vehicle for me.

I live in NSW and I have a 1995 80 series with the 16 inch wheels, disk brakes on rear etc but rated to only tow 2500kgs and gvm of 2960 kgs.

After about 2 years of searching I have been able to upgrade towing to 3500kgs and gvm to 3350kgs. Finally I will be legal and won't have to worry about insurance problems.

I have no financial interest etc, etc but the engineer who passed it was John Wilson at www.vehicleengineering.com.au/
based in Canberra/queenbeyan.

He uses common sense and was easy to deal with without stupid changes. I will post this on other sites as well.

I hope this helps others who want either of these upgrades.
AnswerID: 502133

Reply By: lizard - Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 19:44

Thursday, Jan 10, 2013 at 19:44
You need to upgrade the GCM - this usually requires a chassis modification .
A Signatory Engineer can certify this .
The formula is , GCM minus GVM = towing .
For the knockers who say it can't be done , my GU Patrol (2005) has a towing capacity of 3200 kg - similar to the 3.0 litres - has a new VIN plate and a DPI file , accepted by insurance company
AnswerID: 502169

Reply By: mynance - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 17:02

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 17:02
Creative Conversions Brendale 2 years ago plated to 9t Extra axle and full truck airbags. Cost $18k.
Tows comfortably at 130 Kph in NT.

Myles
AnswerID: 502372