A couple of Crisis Moments on the Gary Junction - Video

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 17:40
ThreadID: 99952 Views:3946 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
At great personal risk I have gotten a few pieces of video strung together over the past week or two (new wife concerned at how much time I'm spending on the computer lol). Whilst this is the latest, it's actually relates to one of the earlier blogs from our 2012 travels and covers a couple of outback fixes for those "Oh bleep e" moments. Yes there is bush welding involved as there always is!

A crisis a day keeps Jaydub happy!

July 9th 2012 - Gary Junction BLOG

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 17:51

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 17:51
Gday Mick
I was wondering where you fitted the diff in that axle, then realised it was the trailer...

AnswerID: 502377

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 18:14

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 18:14
Have you been trying out that new EO Stubby holder again! ;-)

FollowupID: 778801

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 18:41

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 18:41
'At great personal risk'...welcome to the real world my friend...lol

Indeed it is another great bit of memorobilia...love it.

Keep 'em coming Mick O...............regardless of the consequences:;)))

Loves ya work..

MJ
AnswerID: 502385

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 19:04

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 19:04
Frying pan to the back of the head if I'm not careful (or you aren't !!).

;-)

Cheers Mikey.

FollowupID: 778806

Reply By: Axle - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 18:47

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 18:47
G/Day Mick, Good Repair under the conditions, One thing was that axle tubing or solid bar, if not might be worth welding a bar on edge all the way along for next trip?

AnswerID: 502386

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 19:03

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 19:03
As far as I can tell, what happened was this Axle;

When I got the new ute, I had the trailer narrowed by as much as we could. They took about 100mm out of the middle of the axle as both stubs were solidly welded in. Thankfully the welder put a mandrel (another sleeve) inside the pipe but I'd suggest that he did not "V" the cut before welding. With all the heavy work of three trips, the weld has weakened and given way. Thankfully the internal mandrel saved the day to some extent and Jaydub and I did the rest. Took us a little over an hour to repair and that included prep time as well.

That Jaydub is a whiz mate.

FollowupID: 778805

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 21:23

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 21:23
G'day Mick

Nice video !!

Only thing was - I was waiting for Pat Callinan to stick his boofhead into the picture promoting 24 volt welding kits and cordless drills ( lol )

Happy Travelling

Gazz
AnswerID: 502392

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 23:55

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 23:55
Gazz, did you miss the part where I turn slowly to my engel fridge to grab a beer and then lean on my ARB bullbar and give that old hat tilt and wink to the camera. Poor planning on my behalf. At a minute 45, I could have got a whole lot more product placement in there.

;-)

Cheers Mate. Mick

FollowupID: 778821

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 09:24

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 09:24
You didn't have your nice blue shirt tucked into you jeans.
Come on, have a go!!

FollowupID: 778956

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 22:37

Saturday, Jan 12, 2013 at 22:37
Wondering why old girlfriend now new wife is suddenly concerned about your attendance for long periods at the keyboard.
You have always lived in front of the bloody thing!! :)

AnswerID: 502395

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 12:39

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 12:39
Apparently their priorities change once you commit lol. Thankfully she's out mowing the lawn so that should get rid of a bit of frustration. I'll get here to shampoo the BBQ later and she should need a nap after that. All good.

;-)

FollowupID: 778855

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:43

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:43
Get her to wash the truck whilst she is so enthusiastic, maybe vacuum the cab as well, anything to keep her occupied and away from the important business being undertaken on the computer :)

Forgot to say, nice bit of video and agree with other comments about product placement, you could give Pat Callahan a run for his money :)

FollowupID: 778879

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 01:15

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 01:15
She's got a better grip on him now!! LOL!!!!
AnswerID: 502402

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 09:45

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 09:45
Hey, I wear the pants around here my friend (when it's OK with Vik)

FollowupID: 778837

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 08:38

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 08:38
Mick, one of the place I still want to go, now steeped with heaps of emotion, I may never get there mate. I am sure that your new wife was totally cognisant of the train wreck of a computer user she was taking on, I bet shes just testing her patience.

AnswerID: 502409

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 09:48

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 09:48
A lesson to the unwary my friend as far as upgrading your operating systems is concerned. I upgraded from Girlriend 2.9 to Wife 1.0 and it's slowed my system down no end!!

;-)

FollowupID: 778838

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 10:55

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 10:55
Might have slowed your system down somewhat Mick, but the upgrade hasn't crashed your wit or sense of humour.

Keep the videos/blogs coming.........err, when you're allowed, of course.

FollowupID: 778845

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 12:40

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 12:40
I've got to cling to something Bob. She did try to reshedule my birthday though!!!

Just kidding. Cheers Mate Mick

FollowupID: 778856

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:46

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:46
Only because your birthday just happens to now conflict with another important event on the same day :)

FollowupID: 778881