Perth is a great city.

Submitted: Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 09:58
ThreadID: 99978 Views:2383 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Having just arrived back from a hot summer holiday in Perth we can't speak highly enough of the place. Our word for it was "spiffy". Even the grass in parks and near beaches was green and cut like a bowling green.The number of workers trimming trees around town cracked us up. Is it mining money paying for all this? Melbourne could learn a lot from Perth's example.

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 10:17

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 10:17
Read in a whispering voice:

Chris, sshhhhhh.... Don't tell everyone. We want to keep Perth to ourselves...

AnswerID: 502506

Follow Up By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:04

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:04
Well said GB LOL
FollowupID: 778964

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:04

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:04
I think you will find WA has more volunteer organisations than other states which reduces a lot of costs.
Most ambulance and firies are all volunteer. If Government red tape does not stop we will run out of these though.

Neil
AnswerID: 502514

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 13:36

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 13:36
I could not agree more. I love the place. An amazing and pleasant city.

Sadly, whilst NSW pollies could also learn a lot by visiting Perth, our Pollies here are so brain dead that I'm afraid learning anything apart from lying is beyond them.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 502523

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 19:38

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 19:38
Jack,
If you reckon the WA pollies are lying, what about

"There will be no carbon tax in a govt I lead" a few days before an election.
"There will be a budget surplus in 2012/13" hahahahaha
"I will not challenge the PM" a few days before he was deposed
"I know nothing about the slush fund" despite living with the instigator of it.

You have to be joking.

Disco.
FollowupID: 779028

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 09:15

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 09:15
Read it again ... very slowly, Disco. I was not referring to WA pollies. I was referring to the NSW pollies. And if you think much will change federally at the next election, then you are the one that is joking.

And, yes, I was joking. You obviously don't get it!!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 779079

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 10:57

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 10:57
Don't stress Jack, your post was very clear, some just try to push there own wagon.
FollowupID: 779090

Reply By: WBS - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 17:44

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 17:44
Yep, I also agree. A great place to grow up too. Loved the beaches especially Scarborough and sailing on the Canning in my mates lightweight Sharpie. I now live in Melbourne which is also a great place. Have moved around a fair bit and I reckon we're just dead lucky to be living in Australia in general. I'm one happily little immigrant.
WBS
AnswerID: 502539

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 10:58

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 10:58
I'm with you WBS, travelled a lot around Aus and the world, no better country, and Perth is the cherry on the cake
FollowupID: 779091

Reply By: Robtbob NSW - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 20:19

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 20:19
I thought people who lived there in Perth and surrounds must live there because they were born there. I was wrong. The area is great.Spiffy in fact. Great infrastructure around the beaches.The Swan River is so much more than just a river. Clean modern city and great to go down to Freo for fish tucker at the wharf.
AnswerID: 502553

Follow Up By: Member - Grundle (WA) - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 21:19

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 21:19
yep 1500 a week coming in,adding to the already extremely congested roads ,housing ect.Its a great and free country thankfully.

FollowupID: 779045

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 23:08

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 23:08
Perth is great if you own your own house and have a good income.
The mining boom is good but has a down side.
Rentals are sky-high and scarce - a lot of poor sods renting and/or living on social security are doing it tough.
AnswerID: 502568

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 04:39

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 04:39
people on social security should be doing it tough

its welfare not work replacement
FollowupID: 779068

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 04:41

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 04:41
as for rentals theres plenty of decent priced places..... its only those that think there entitled to be 2 min from the beach and 5 min from the city that have issues
FollowupID: 779069

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 11:07

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 11:07
Youre a hard man Get Outmore.
I am not saying they should have an easy ride.
Just saying that the mining boom is not great for all.
In our street a 2 storey house came up for rental a couple of months ago at $1000 a week.
Average rents in Perth are over $400 a week.
A low wage earner or pensioner without their own home struggles in Perth.
FollowupID: 779092

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 12:37

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 12:37
And a pensioner who owns his/her own home just manages to exist. When you factor in shire rates, home insurance (not contents), power and water service charges (not usage charges), and property maintenance that are not paid by renters it's almost an even playing field Homeowner vs Renter.

Disco.
FollowupID: 779099

Reply By: Member - Chris and Lindsay (VI - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2013 at 20:51
Interesting to see all the points of view. I was simply commenting as a visitor. If you had to rent a house in melbourne pro-rata distance from the beach orCBD you would also pay high rent.
AnswerID: 502643