White lettering on tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 20:52
ThreadID: 101132 Views:11458 Replies:40 FollowUps:79
Hi folks,

I have had my Landcruiser for 1 year this month and I have learned and experienced so much in that time. One thing that has cropped up a couple of times while out and about and even once or twice in various comments to my posts on here is the whole issue with the white lettering on tyres being on the outside instead of the inside or vice versa.

Now I am probably opening up a can of worms here but as far as I can gather it seems to be considered by some that if you have the white lettering facing out it means you are a poser and a show off (correct me if I am wrong here) and if you have the lettering in it means you are a more "hardcore" and serious enthusiast. Now if this is the case, to me this is a massive contradiction. I bought my vehicle with the tyres already put on that way and it had never occured to me as it never has with any car I've owned that this would be "a thing".

Surely if you go to the effort of ensuring the lettering is facing in it is to show the 4 x 4 community and your peers that you are in fact a "hardcore" enthusiast which would indicate to me that you are more of a poser than your average Joe who bought a set of new tyres and had them put on that way? Can someone explain this to me? Is there some sort of practical reason where it would be better to have the lettering facing inwards that I am missing? I hate the whole show pony thing and think it's a ridiculous notion that you would be considered such just because of the way your tyres are fitted to your vehicle!!

Cheers!
Back Expand Un-Read 4 Moderator

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:09

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:09
It all means nothing. Do it the way you like it and that is the right way.
AnswerID: 506925

Follow Up By: Pothole - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:01

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:01
If thats all there was to worry about things would be going pretty bloody good.
Pothole.
FollowupID: 784112

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 17:43

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 17:43
But pothole there is still the chrome or black wheel valve caps to contend with
FollowupID: 784128

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:10

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:10
Pothole,
have you got that name because you are always in the road. LOL.
FollowupID: 784131

Follow Up By: Pothole - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 21:46

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 21:46
Rockape you are spot on. From the old speedway days.Ha Ha

Pothole. :-0
FollowupID: 784151

Reply By: Witi Repartee - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:11

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:11
Do I suspect a Troll?
AnswerID: 506927

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:21

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:21
A Troll? I am a paid up member of this site asking a legit question. I have been accused of being a poser for the way I have my tyres on my car. Just asking the opinions of others. Is that not what a forum is for?
FollowupID: 784047

Follow Up By: Witi Repartee - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:35

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:35
Sorry mate...I couldn't conceive this was a genuine issue that would cause anyone to go public to solve their dilemma.
FollowupID: 784052

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:43

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:43
It wasn't a dilemma mate. It's just something I've heard around the traps and wanted some opinions out of curiosity. If you don't like the post then you have the right not to comment just as I have the right to ask whatever I like. Let the moderators decide whether it's relevant or inappropriate.

FollowupID: 784053

Follow Up By: Member - Murray M2 - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 01:26

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 01:26
Hey< I dont think there is any need for the Vitriol that is going back and forth re the question,.
This site I believe is for people to ask a question and get a reasonable answer, if this is the way we are going get our questions answered , well I dont want to be a member. So can we be civil
FollowupID: 784161

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 02:34

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 02:34
cruiser74's question is a genuine one.
funnily enough a similar subject was brought up on here last year in a roundabout way, but I was amazed to read a prominent members post (a city person I gather) along the lines of what cruiser74 has written above, that he wouldnt have the lettering facing out because country people wouldnt take him seriously.
My thoughts?
Are you friggin kidding? Country people have drought, bushfires, and government policy to worry about, and could not give a flying fk which way your tyres are when you arrive in Mukinbudin or Burke or where ever wearing tryhard RMWilliams boots and clothes that dont have cowpoo on them.
FollowupID: 784255

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:20

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:20
G'day Cruiser 74

Are you related to Cruiser 93 ?

Mate - Alby is correct - it means nothing !

Until BF Goodrich, Mickey Thompson or Bridgestone pay me to advertise their product on my vehicles the white lettering will remain on the inside !

Gazz

AnswerID: 506928

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:22

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:22
Haha! Good point thanks for your response Gazz
FollowupID: 784048

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:26

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:26
BTW no relation to '93 :)
FollowupID: 784049

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:40

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:40
If someone is going to have a go at you for having the white lettering on the outside..
they realy dont have much of a life.. REALY

i have been asked which way.. but lettering outside is normal. what they said.. being the tyre fitter..

unless people are paranoid about not being paid for the advertisement.. ha ha.

better take the badge off the front of the grill on the car, as their not paying you for advertisement either but no one ever does that..

nothing wrong with some bling on the car..
AnswerID: 506930

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:04

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:04
Don't listen to these dudes C-74

One way increases the speed of the vehicle, but I can't remember which way it is.

DD
AnswerID: 506932

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:32

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:32
No No DD you have to paint the car red. Red paint makes 'em go faster. (;-))

FollowupID: 784055

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:05

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:05
Bugga! I knew it was something that did it, thought it was the 'Tyre lettering' thing. (ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 784069

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:18

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:18
Yep poser or newbie out & hardcore & experienced in is more common than you'd think. Yes it's a ridiculous notion but I expect you wont make that mistake again ;-)
I run 35" muddies which when you get to that size don't have white lettering. I suppose with tyres that big the manufacturers just asume you're hardcore :-))
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 506933

Reply By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:38

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:38
Well mate, you could get the ones on the front changed so that the white lettering is on the inside and leave the back ones with the white lettering on the outside. Then you could have a good laugh watching the "no lifes" scratching their heads in confusion..lol
Seriously, take your car out and enjoy it any way you like.
Me, I couldn't give an obese rodents rectum what the "watchers" think.

AnswerID: 506934

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:08

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:08
Classic! Might just try that for a laugh Pops :)
FollowupID: 784059

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:50

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 22:50
I always put the white writing to the inside for one very simple reason. If the missus notices the writing, she'll know I have invested in new tyres without authorisation and I'll be for it!!!

Mind you, knowing that a purchase order wouldn't be authorised in the first place forces me to step outside normal procurement processes! Keep that in mind...they notice everything!

;-)

AnswerID: 506937

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:03

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:03
You have been associating with Bonz to much.
FollowupID: 784068

Follow Up By: Dough Boy - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 20:58

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 20:58
Brilliance !
I had never looked at things that way before, and having been put in the position of red faced explanation to the Minister of War,its never pretty.
My lettering on the BFG's will nwo go on the inside !
FollowupID: 784149

Reply By: Member - J&R - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:08

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:08
Yep, definite tosser.
AnswerID: 506939

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:12

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:12
And there's your Troll Witee, see the difference?
FollowupID: 784060

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:18

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:18
I reckon it's a bit like cowboy outfits. Roy Rogers is white letters out, Clint Eastwood is white letters in.
AnswerID: 506942

Reply By: Member - J&R - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:28

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:28
As was said above, unless I'm being paid for it, then do your own advertising.
Or give me a hefty discount and I'll consider putting your name on 4 items affixed to my car.

Would any of us drive around with 4 ads for McDonalds, KFC, Amcal Chemists or Wonder Condoms if they sold tyres as well?

AnswerID: 506943

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:25

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:25
What did you do with your EO window sticker when you got it with your membership?

FollowupID: 784076

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:45

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:45
I put mine on my ride-on mower Michael. LOL

FollowupID: 784136

Reply By: Rhys t - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:47

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:47
Could just take your rims and a second hand set of tyres to get fitted at the tyre joint then go to pick them up with one white lettering out and the rest in...
Yeah but it's pretty hard to work out which way triton alloys go.
AnswerID: 506945

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 01:53

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 01:53

Paint your rims black and then leave the white lettering out - that'll confuse 'em... Hardcore Poser...or is that Poser Hardcore, Crikey ...now I'm confused...

Wouldn't worry about it myself ...never judged a person by their wheels though I do take the liberty of calling the wife a Bogan as she has chrome mags fitted to her Commodore :)

AnswerID: 506949

Follow Up By: jacent - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:43

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:43
Ha ha I do have slight views on black painted rims though, do they do it so people think their tyres are bigger than they really are??? Ha ha
FollowupID: 784070

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:06

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:06
If you have the lettering on the inside you must be embarrassed with your choice of tyres and try to hide the fact.

I've heard of people grinding the white off, mad is all I can say.

AnswerID: 506950

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 14:28

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 14:28
Like the old motorbike days when you nipped off the moulding tits to make yourself look hard-code.

Chicken strips anyone ????? :-D
FollowupID: 784411

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 14:29

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 14:29
read "hard-core"
FollowupID: 784412

Reply By: jacent - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:39

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 02:39
Mate when I got my bfg's I asked them to put it on the inside due to the fact that I don't like the look of the white letters on the outside on my car, and when you get them all muddy eventually the white starts turning a brown colour and looks silly to me! I didn't know anything about the try hard or hardcore reasons?? I just think it's up to the individual and do what you want, if someone commented to me about the way my lettering was I'd tell em to get a life
AnswerID: 506951

Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 06:58

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 06:58
Exactly right, anyone who uses their 4by, especially running deflated in sand, will know that the white writing goes daggy after just a couple of trips - hence why we started asking for the writing to be turned inside in the first place.
FollowupID: 784072

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:45

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:45
Yeah that's the reason I put the lettering on the inside.

I couldn't care less about being labelled hardcore or a show off, I actually have a life and don't worry about what others are doing because it takes up to much time and leaves less time for me to do what I want.
FollowupID: 784084

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:39

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:39
Thanks for the follow ups, I knew there had to be a practical reason that people chose to do this! Thanks for sharing
FollowupID: 784090

Follow Up By: Member - VickiW - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 19:15

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 19:15
sooooo.... you don't want your tyres to get dirty from 4wding. I've got bad news for you...
FollowupID: 784140

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 06:21

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 06:21
Wow VickiW, I think you missed the point by........a lot. We turn them in because we get them dirty and actually use them.
FollowupID: 784163

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 05:57

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 05:57
I've tried it both ways, but I found the lettering looked a bit much with the white sidewall spats. And it was taking people's eyes away from the more important information printed on the side of the car "Common rail Direct Injection Turbo Diesel Four Wheel Drive etc".
Seriously though, who would buy a tyre with white lettering on it anyway? The manufacturer of such tyres must assume that half the people buying them are tossers.
AnswerID: 506953

Reply By: dindy - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 07:51

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 07:51
Should I wear my undies on the outside for a while just to spark comment, maybe.

Most blokes who tell you its uncool to wear your lettering on the outside usually drive vehicles which look like something out of mad max and then claim they don't seek the attention which comes their way.

I even heard that the white lettering can cause uneven wear and steering problems if it is on the outside, true! Heard it from a mate who had a mate who knew someone in the tyre industry so it must be tre.
AnswerID: 506955

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:02

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:02
"Most blokes who tell you its uncool to wear your lettering on the outside usually drive vehicles which look like something out of mad max and then claim they don't seek the attention which comes their way" I would tend to agree there! Anyway, I have Maxxis on my Cruiser, hardly something I expect people to be in awe of!!
FollowupID: 784093

Reply By: Member - Russler - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:40

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:40
I asked for the white lettering to put on the inside, but when I picked the car up they'd put the lettering on the outside. Meh!
AnswerID: 506962

Follow Up By: jacent - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:23

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:23
Same thing happened to me so I thought stuff it and made them take them all off and turn them around to make a point that they should of done it properly in the first place, they were hesitant and tried to say I would have to wait a while and I said that's fine and to get on with it! Ha ha
FollowupID: 784080

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:42

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:42
Same thing happened to me.
I requested the dealer take them off and reverse them.

The dealer said the tyre manufacturer encourage the dealers to put the white lettering out, to better promote their tyre brand.
Funny thing was, they had to remove the old tyres which already had the white lettering on the inside:-)

Extra delay was about 15 mins.

FollowupID: 784082

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:44

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:44
A far few 4x4s are just mobile advertisements...... the more advertising and brand logo's you can fit on your 4x4 the better....... those's who die with the most.... wins!

QUOTE "Surely if you go to the effort of ensuring the lettering is facing in it is to show the 4 x 4 community and your peers that you are in fact a "hardcore" enthusiast which would indicate to me that you are more of a poser than your average Joe""

Spot on...

I have a simple policy about stickers displaying company logo's and advertisements..... If you give me the product or services for free I'll display your stickers and logo's..... so far no takers.

On our Hilux we had ARB replaced the ARB logo on the bull bar two times.... and each time I kept removing it.

Humans are a funny bunch..... how can you become excited and passionate about "Mickey Thompson, Coopers, Engle, Waeco, Lightforce, IPF, ARB, TJM and the rest" where you are willing to pay full or close to retail and you still want to advertise for them for FREE!

You see it in some 4x4 mags where they do a right up about peoples 4x4's..... they person who ownes it says at the end of the article..... I would like to thank my girlfriend, my mates Robbo, Tommo and my local ARB and TJM stores for there help..... I can understand about his girlfriend and his mates helping for free but I'm sure he had to pay for the others...... so did the shops help him or is he just another paying customer.

We have 4x4's come into our workshop and it's like looking at a magazine..... all the big brand name are displayed.
AnswerID: 506963

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:47

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:47
Opps!!!!

QUOTE "Surely if you go to the effort of ensuring the lettering is facing in it is to show the 4 x 4 community and your peers that you are in fact a "hardcore" enthusiast which would indicate to me that you are more of a poser than your average Joe""

Spot on...

Should of read instead of "spot on" it should be "refer to my no adverting unless it's free policy"

BTW I always have the white facing in.
FollowupID: 784078

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:25

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:25
Well I have my steel rims painted black and fitted with BFG,s with the lettering out. This is my fourth set of BFG A/Ts on this vehicle, the first three sets were fitted to the nice shiny factory mags with the lettering on the inside but when I decided to ditch the shiny mags and replace them with a more resilient factory steel wheel, I thought the black tyre and rim would look a little too much black so I had the white lettering out to break up the wheels a little. Having said that, BFG A/T's are good reliable tyre and I have had no problems with six sets of them over two vehicles and over 600,000 km. So is displaying a brand name you get good value from, posing ? Or is adding a $1000 worth of shiny mag wheels and some other accessories to your vehicle to make it a little different, is that posing? In the 70s and 80s, I had Monaros, new Commodores and Statemans and they all were modified to look a little different from the rest. We all did it back then. Just thinking back, you could actually buy different tyre lettering crayons in those days and do any tyres you like! The best thing I can advise is everyone do their own thing and let everyone else do theirs. Michael.

AnswerID: 506964

Reply By: Injected - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:36

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:36
You have a photo of your Cruiser in your signature. So who's a poser?
AnswerID: 506966

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:42

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:42
Lots of members do but you are not a member so you can't, even if you want to! I support this forum by way of membership and the shop ! What's your contribution, surely not you wit! Michael.

FollowupID: 784081

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:44

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:44
By the way, it's a Nissan Patrol. Have you heard of them?

FollowupID: 784083

Follow Up By: Member - J&R - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:14

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:14
What's with the personal attacks?
FollowupID: 784087

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:25

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:25
I don't know why he attacked me! If you attack, you have to expect a counterattack! Michael.

FollowupID: 784088

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:24

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:24
Hi Michael,

I believe "Injected" was having a go at me for having a pic of my Cruiser in my signature. But in a roundabout way he was also having a go at you and just about every other member on here who have photo's of their vehicles attached to their profiles. Thanks for jumping in though.

To "Injected". If you read my post properly I never called anyone a poser. See "think it's a ridiculous notion that you would be considered such just because of the way your tyres are fitted to your vehicle!!" It was insinuated by some that I was a poser for the way I chose to have my tyres with the lettering facing out hence my post asking if that's what some considered and if there was a practical argument for having them facing in or out. Unlike you I am using the forum for what it's designed for not to just troll through and randomly attack people.

As for me having a pic of my Cruiser to my signature you have just gone and called just about every member on here a poser at the same time. It's a 4x4 forum where there is a community of like minded people giving advice and sharing information. I like that people can see what I drive and I love my car and the experiences it has given me. If I was standing in front of my car with my shirt off leaning on the bullbar you might have a point but I'm not.

I have obviously touched a nerve but before you start throwing random insults around how about you read the posts properly first. If you don't have an intelligent argument or something positive to contribute then kindly do something that's likely to be moderated if I write it here!

FollowupID: 784099

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:39

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:39
Hi Cruiser 74

You say "It's a 4x4 forum where there is a community of like minded people..."

I though it was as its name implies, about "Exploring Australia". Yes many who go out exploring do so in a 4WD (us included) but many do so by other means - 2WD, truck, pushbike, motorbike, horse, even on foot...so the site caters for very diverse interests and modes of transport.

Val

FollowupID: 784286

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:53

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:53
Fair point Val,

I was just looking at it from a selfish perspective. Thanks for reminding!

FollowupID: 784288

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:09

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:09
Mate,
I leave mine out and paint them gold with a silver outline.

I like to be the ultimate poser incredible bling.

I actually have the writing in as I have paid for them. If they wish to give me a 20% discount for advertising I would put the letters out.

You know I have never looked at another vehicle and made a judgement on whether a person is a poser or not. I just don't really care.

RA. Bugger all these gold chains I wear are getting heavy.
AnswerID: 506967

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:36

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:36
Exactly Rockape.
Who gives a Rat's anyway.
I keep the white lettering on the outside so I know which way to put the wheel on to the hub.
But I'll let you in on a secret...... two of my four antennas are not even connected!!!

P.S. Where can I get the gold paint from?

FollowupID: 784089

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:16

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:16
Good on you Al, I like the way you think! Keep it up! ;). Michael

FollowupID: 784097

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:41

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:41
Alan,
A bloke named Connery gave to me. He muttered something about a movie he made.
FollowupID: 784102

Follow Up By: Member - Russler - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:34

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:34
"Two of my four antennas are not even connected"

LOL, that has to be the quote of the day :))
FollowupID: 784134

Follow Up By: Member - ken m4 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:41

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:41
Hope I can pick my next set of tyres to suit the needs of the vehicle requirements with NO manufacturers display on them
FollowupID: 784135

Reply By: Bazooka - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 12:08

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 12:08
Don't understand why anyone would be concerned in the least about this either way. When I was single in my twenties I had Bridgestone DDs with the solid block lettering out because they looked good to me but at the time I wasn't even aware that there was an option to turn them around - there was lots of chatter at the time about the "direction" of the steel belts. Spent (wasted, in retrospect) hours keeping the things looking nice. Thankfully the BS697 doesn't have white lettering so this huge life decision is no longer required.
AnswerID: 506973

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 12:23

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 12:23
Good to know I'm not alone, It just seems logical to me to that the lettering out is the way it's meant to go. Each to their own I guess. I certainly would not judge anyone for the way they have their tyres. Nor would I expect any of my surfing mates to wear their wetsuits inside out to hide the fact they are wearing the latest ripcurl or quicksilver brand. I just didn't know it was a "thing" with tyres but now I do! Cheers
FollowupID: 784108

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:16

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:16
Hey bazooka, I am having to replace my tyres before my trip to Queensland in june could you give me your opinion of the bs697 please as I am still doing research, most of driving I do is dirt road, bitumen, and sand and on a few trips We do some rock crawling, to get to the fish, I don't do much mud work as it might get my car dirty and I could be called a poser L.O.L.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 784283

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:55

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:55
Hey Broodie, If you want the status of a "Mud Look" without the hassle of getting your boots dirty, try the following product..............
But be sure to turn the white tyre lettering to the inside first for an authentic appearance! LOL

FollowupID: 784289

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 12:23

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 12:23
Sorry alan to late for the boots she just told me to go and change them been in the man cave.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 784294

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 21:48

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 21:48
I'm not sure if you're having a dig or actually want to know about the 697s Broodie but if the latter I'm happy to report they are a better all round tyre than the 694s so far, and like many others I found the 694 to be a very good allrounder - mud and wet blacktop excepted. Others have commented that the 694s are good in the wet. The different evaluations might be a function of the tread wear and differences in vehicle configuration - power, gearing etc. - but either way I'm finding the 697 significantly better in that area. The tread design of the 697 is more open but they are still extremely quiet on bitumen. Fingers crossed, I've never had a puncture or block degradation problem with either and for a combination of dirt, rock and sand they work well for me and the 3.5l petrol Jack.
FollowupID: 784442

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 22:14

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 22:14
Hi Bazooka, thanks for the info, and yes I was being serious, the tyres need to replaced before we head to Queensland late June, trip includes GCR and PLenty highway so need good rubber underneath. once again thanks for the info
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 784448

Reply By: Member - Broodie H3 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 13:05

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 13:05
Cruiser 74, you certainly know how to open a can of worms I hope your fishing was just as good and from what I have read it was, for me I don't care what anybody else has on there 4x4 until I am ready to replace mine on my vehicle and when I see what is parked on the street and I see the lettering of the different tyres I asked the drivers of those vehicle what their opinion is of that particular tyre is. Apart from that If I happen to have white lettering I don't care which way the lettering goes. If the tyres make a vehicle look good so much the better, we all modify one way or another,and as long as we are happy with the vehicle who cares what others think, because I don't. Thanks for the question
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

AnswerID: 506975

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 13:20

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 13:20
I have just blown up your Photo of you vehicle, nice rig, how do you find the tyres you have on it as far as road noise, sand traction ,etc..,etc, just interested as I need to replace mine before hitting the G.C.R. and Plenty highway in June
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 784111

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:12

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:12
Thanks Broodie,

Good to get some constructive feedback. I have also asked a couple of people what they think of their tyres from seeing the brand on their vehicle at campsites etc. I am learning new things all the time and I find it ironic that one of the reasons I love 4WDing and getting out to remote locations is to get away from all of the "look at me" posturising and commercial crap that's forced down your throat 24/7 so for it to be suggested that I was showing off because of the way I had my tyres was quite surprising. Especially given that they are Maxxis, certainly not anything I would expect people to be envious of haha!

Having said that and getting to your question, I can only go by my experience with these tyres alone as I have nothing to compare it to as yet. As far as road noise goes it really doesn't bother me but then again I drive a 1HZ so I think any noise from the tyres is drowned out by the engine. The cab is also anything but soundproof! I have done ALOT of sand driving and I find them to be very reliable. I have been stuck a few times but only due to incorrect pressure and driver error but I have learned a lot through these hiccups and of late have been getting through and over some really soft stuff with no worries at all. The only thing I haven't really tested them out in yet is mud where I suspect I may run into some issues but on sand, gravel, rock and your average dirt track they have been fantastic.

Cheers for your response
FollowupID: 784114

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 15:53

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 15:53
Thank you for your feed back, when you get into mud I'd be interestd to see how they go maybe some one else has been in Mud with thoe tyres.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 784119

Follow Up By: jacent - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 23:34

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 23:34
I used to have them on split rims maxis bravo's been on sand ,road, rock, mud, everyone was very surprised at how well it went, I've had them in very thick slippery mud and never got stuck, although I slid into a tree but we were being silly having a play in the mud!
FollowupID: 784250

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:08

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:08
G"day Cruiser74,
My tyre dealer has it all worked out....If you look under 25 years old, he will put the writing out, over 25 it is in.
Me... I ask to have the writing in... way less punctures that way.....What?

Noel K.
AnswerID: 506979

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 11:43

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 11:43
Hang on Noel, you've just lumped me in with my kids! They haven't got a clue on tyres - their mother taught them hahahaha. I usually go the other way to them because they can't be right!

FollowupID: 784180

Reply By: Kiwi100 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 15:35

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 15:35
I'm no expert but the comments about better speed and less punctures had me convinced.

Not too difficult to get the tyres off the rims but turning the lettering inside took hours and hours. Bugger of a job getting the bloody things back onto the rims and now they won't hold air.

Not only that, but something that nobody here seems to have noticed is that if you put the lettering on the inside, the tread has to go inside too. Ridiculous.
AnswerID: 506982

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:19

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:19

Took me two reads to figure what you were on about but I finally got it :)

FollowupID: 784120

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:38

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:38
Brilliant ;)
FollowupID: 784121

Follow Up By: Skulldug - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 17:56

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 17:56
Brilliant!

They would be really good in sand though.

Skull
FollowupID: 784130

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:55

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:55
I didn't read yours before I posted mine.

But yours is gold ROTFLMFAO.

Cheers Phil
FollowupID: 784137

Follow Up By: Kiwi100 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 20:39

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 20:39
Thank you. Gotta make sure we don't take ourselves too seriously.

Michael
FollowupID: 784146

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:54

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:54
I was just discussing this thread with my wife, in fact we were having a laugh at the responses.

I remember a few years ago a similar thread were someone posted, from memory "if the lettering is in it is less wind resistant and you get more speed, but if the lettering is out you get less punctures'.

However, my wife has just pointed out that if the lettering is on the outside you have to consider daylight savings and the white may fade, keep this in mind when putting new tyres on.

Cheers Phil.
AnswerID: 506987

Reply By: Jarse - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:55

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 16:55
If the manufacturer gives me $100.00 off per tyre, I'll give them the advertising they seek with the lettering.

Guess which way my tyres are mounted :D

AnswerID: 506988

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 22:02

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 22:02
Got to agree!

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 784155

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 17:29

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 17:29
What a joy to laugh my way through a post again.....good stuff gents & ladies, like
some of the posts of old..good humour & a bit of fun (& just a touch of the nasties),
Good on ya..Cruiser 74....cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 506993

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:11

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:11
Thanks Oldbaz,

Glad to have provided some entertainment. I think I might go get some white paint and touch up the lettering on my wheels as it has faded a bit!

The Poser/Tosser with the awesome Maxxis 751's :)
FollowupID: 784132

Reply By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:08

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 18:08
Hey Cruiser 74

If you want to reduce your chances of having a puncture the letters on the outside are the way to go!!!
Its said the white letters ward off stakes - lol.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 506998

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 19:26

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 19:26
Phil,
that only applies to the west because you have inside stakes. In the east we have outside stakes. You gotta keep up with the times old son.
FollowupID: 784141

Follow Up By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 05:19

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 05:19
Crikey Rockape, there must have been a mutation among the trees and shrubs to create this difference.

I hope they've got a nice shady spot with green lawns at the border where I can spend the day ripping off all tyres to reverse them.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 784162

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 09:04

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 09:04

....."Wards off stakes"???

Damn, I thought he said it would ward off snakes.

FollowupID: 784167

Reply By: Member - VickiW - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 19:31

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 19:31
Great thread everyone. I like the writing on the outside so when it is time to replace them I know what I had without having to crawl under the car. But I do like the suggestion of having the black side out and writing your own message.

and I am thinking I should add a picture of my car to my profile to complete my posieurishness!
Vicki
AnswerID: 507001

Reply By: Smouch - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 21:03

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 21:03
Can't believe the thread is still going. Who gives a toss.

Having said that I did ask for the lettering to be inwards but hey did ask me which way. Perhaps I should of said I don't give a toss.
AnswerID: 507007

Reply By: Maddmav - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 21:22

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 21:22
Just on the lettering thing some useless info....If it gets filthy dirty, degreaser and a brush bring the lettering and the tyre back to the new look.

Oh...and I have the white out....same as I use on the computer screen for mistakes.
AnswerID: 507008

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 23:26

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 23:26
I have the lettering on the inside of the tyre for the same reason I never allow car sellers etc to put their stamp, label or stickers on the car. It isn't available for free advertising.

AnswerID: 507016

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 02:46

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 02:46
hope you havent applied your Exploroz sticker and have removed your vehicles emblems as well otherwise this could be viewed as hypocritical! :-)
FollowupID: 784256

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 08:29

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 08:29
Childish response. You know what I mean. We don't have an exploroz sticker on the car. Nor do I wear those yankee baseball hats with advertising on them. I don't have t-shirts with advertising on them nor do I wear those sissy skin tight stuff that cyclists wear. No numberplate surround either.
FollowupID: 784262

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 10:43

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 10:43
Nah Not really childish.

FollowupID: 784280

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 16:03

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 16:03
:-)
I wasnt really sure if you were referring to yours or mine Phil!
FollowupID: 784317

Reply By: The Bantam - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 10:57

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 10:57
It is a personal choice and I can understand why some people think it does not matter.

But to some of us it does.

Some of us manage to go thru life, keeping a low profile on the road, and do many seemingly small things that minimise attention attracted to our vehicles.

Those of us that specificaly buy white or other plain coloured vehicles, do not fit mag wheels or other things that make our vehicles "individual", do not tolerate people fixing stickers to our vehicles, and we most certainly do not want white lettering showing on our tyres.
Its all about not attracting attention to the vehicle, either from the police or from low life scum.

For those of you running tyres that are too big to be legal think about this.......Police are trained to be observant and to consider "reasonable cause".
Generally they will observe a vehicle before pulling it over.
Having white lettering firstly attracts attention to your tyres and makes the lettering much easier to read.

For example...any copper that knows a little about tyres and 4wds will know that 32's are clearly illegal on a Hilux in most states.

With white lettering he or she will be able to read your tyres from quite some distance if the vehicle is stationary at lights or whatever.......hey presto.....probable cause.
Licence check, breath test and a good look around.....if ya running illegal tyres, then ya probably got something else to hide like an illegal or unengineered suspension or body lift.

So that white lettering showing may have very well baught you a trip over the pits.

If you are wearing ya cap on backwards, a Megadeath T shirt, you have visable tatoos, facial body pearcings or other obvious statements of individuality they are likley to conclude you are low life scum and search the vehicle for drugs or stolen goods.

But if you drive a red car with fancy mag wheels and a loud exhaust, ya might as well show the lettering, because you are already a target for both the coppers, theves and vandals.

BTW......there ARE plenty of people who remove vehicle manufacturer badges.

We aren't all slaves to brand vanity.

You are all individuals...
We are all individuals..we are all individuals.........I'm not.

AnswerID: 507031

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 12:35

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 12:35
"If you are wearing ya cap on backwards, a Megadeath T shirt, you have visable tatoos, facial body pearcings or other obvious statements of individuality they are likley to conclude you are low life scum and search the vehicle for drugs or stolen goods."

Just for the record Bantam, I have a beard, long hair, tattoos, earings and ride Harley's...... you know...."statements of indivuality" you call it.......
And I cant remember the last time I was classed as low life scum, and searched for drugs or stolen goods by the coppers.

Im just bloody glad most people arent as single minded and opinionated as yourself Bantam.

Theres and old saying Bantam.......
The difference between tattooed ( this goes for people riding bikes, wearing Megedeath t shirts etc.)
And non tattooed people are
That tattooed people dont care wether your tattooed or not?

Half the coppers have tattoos these days?

As for white writting on tyres....
Put it werever you want......it means absolutely nothing unless you want it too......
And do most tyres with white writting on the walls actually have sizes on them any way? I thought it was brand and type?
FollowupID: 784186

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 00:16

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 00:16
Mate its got nothing to do with what I think....apperance definitely influences how people are treated.

It may be different in the wild areas like NQ, NT...after all most people who live there do so to get away from " that sort of follishness"......but in the "civilised areas" where all the conservatives live.......the things I mention will most definitely get you more attention.

If you take what I have posted as offencive......mate you should hear what comes out of the mouths of some of the law enforcement types I have met.....( one or two being friends or relatives)......and their attitude to persons with certain " statements of individuality".

The stereotype of "low life scum" is even further reinforced by all these police shows......how often do you see em showing a clean cut, neat, ploite and articulate person in trouble on those shows.

Its nothing new....and it won't be going away any time soon.

And the sign said "Long-haired freaky people need not apply"
So I tucked my hair up under my hat and I went in to ask him why
He said "You look like a fine upstanding young man, I think you'll do"
So I took off my hat, I said "Imagine that. Huh! Me workin' for you!"

very little changes

FollowupID: 784253

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 16:27

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 16:27
From what I can gather from reading all of the above is that those who have the writing on the inside of the tyre is that they don't like to advertise. What I find amusing is that you all drive around in your chosen vehicle that has the manufacturers badges on them. I never hear anybody saying that they've removed the badge because it's free advertising and you didn't get a discount to advertise the vehicles manufacturer.

Has been amusing reading.

AnswerID: 507050

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 16:43

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 16:43
I agree up to a point. I can see why some people are loathe to boldly display a tyre manufacturers product wherever they go after having paid thousands in the first place. I'm personally not bothered but can totally understand why some are. When it comes to manufacturers badges it's not in quite the same league as giant white writing on black rubber and most people can identify a Toyota, a Nissan, a Land Rover and a Mitsubishi without needing to see a badge anyway.

I think the most important message here is one of each to his/her own as long as you are not hurting anyone else (or calling me a poser!) Haha! Thanks for your response Duncan.
FollowupID: 784212

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 00:26

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 00:26
Duncan mate it is very common for people to leave all the badeges off after a respray.

There is a great deal of difference between not puttinmg extra advertising on a vehicle and going to the trouble of removing badges, then having to make good or cover up where the badges have come from.

there are only 3 badges on my Toyota......the one in the grill is moulded in the other two say hilux...which people know any way and the engine code...hardly worth the bother realy.

FollowupID: 784254

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 20:20

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 20:20
My comments were a little tongue in cheek. And agree with the comment

"I think the most important message here is one of each to his/her own as long as you are not hurting anyone else (or calling me a poser!) Haha! "

FollowupID: 784345

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 07:16

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 07:16
So Cruiser74

Which way are you going to mount your next set of tyres? LOL
AnswerID: 507091

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 10:47

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 10:47
Good point! I am just going to behave as if it was the day I first picked up my 4x4 and was completely ignorant to the fact that some people had an opinion on this. To do otherwise would show I have been influenced by what other people think. Writing will remain out!

Cheers Alby
FollowupID: 784281

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:39

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 11:39
On second thought if I decide to leave the writing out because if I did otherwise it would show I have been influenced by what other people think, by doing so some might think I want to show that I haven't been influenced by what other people think, effectively showing that I am influenced by the fact I want people to think that I haven't been influenced by what other people think........I think I am going to buy a pushbike....

FollowupID: 784285

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 12:39

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 12:39
Thats no good either Cruiser I have white writng on my push bike tyres too and you cant turn them in , or out. lol
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 784297

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 15:24

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 15:24
I have a couple of suggetsions to help you with your dilemma.

Do out on one side and in on the other. That way when approaching your peers you can choose which side of your vehicle you want to present them with for maximum credibility, also if you wear a peak cap you can quickly rotate it to the backwards position when the situation arises. All the bases are covered!

The best option though would be to get a set of white wall tyres with black lettering........"You da man!"

But you know if you just get a set of Coopers or BFG tyres everyone will be that caught up in debating which brand is best that they won't even get on to the finer points of the white lettering :)
FollowupID: 784314

Follow Up By: Pothole - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 22:37

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 22:37
This has made my night reading this post is just the best laugh good to see Cruiser 74 can take a joke good on yu mate.

Pothole :-0
FollowupID: 784354

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 14:43

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 14:43
Buy a motorbike Cruiser - the whole question become moot then..... no choice to make
FollowupID: 784413

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 23:43

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 23:43
For those of you who do like their white lettering showing.

An old trick to keep the lettering bright and sharp.......wash and scrub ya tyres and let them dry, then buff the face of the white lettering with a block and 600 grit sand paper.

It was all the go back in the day when white lettering was popular on the old "steel belted 60's", "posatraction torque twisters" and "TA radials".

But remember they probably is not as much white meat in the white lettering these days.....so don't over do it.

Kiwi white tennis shoe stuff sort of worked till it rained or ya drove thru a puddle.

For those that feel disadvantaged because your tyres don't have white lettering on either side.....I believe you can still buy special felt tipped pens and colour in your letters white

If ya real despirate, White Chinagraph sort of works

AnswerID: 507178

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 15:23

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2013 at 15:23
Nope....

You've all missed the point.

Simple answer is you have one each way on the front and back with diagonal ones the same. That way when you rotate the wheels all you have to do is swap the wheels and you don't get mixed up.
AnswerID: 507208

Reply By: Member - Cruiser74 - Thursday, Mar 21, 2013 at 00:45

Thursday, Mar 21, 2013 at 00:45
Thanks to everyone that got involved in this thread, even the few that had a bit of a dig. I honestly didn't think it would attract so much attention because after all it really is quite a petty topic but reading back on all the replies it was all just a bit of fun and ultimately that's why we are all here. You're all a great bunch! Lid closing on can of worms, until next time!

Craig
AnswerID: 507236