Easter; Blackall, Longreach

Submitted: Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 12:23
ThreadID: 101239 Views:1955 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
We are currently in Charleville and heading north. We might stay at Tambo for a couple of nights. Any ideas on what to see or where to stay next either Blackall or Barcaldine or just go on to stay in Longreach for a week. Has anyone experienced any of the places over Easter. We are a travelling family with 3 children under 10 with our own van.

Reply By: Batt's - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:07

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:07
I've just started researching these areas where going out that way in june/july school holidays so far I found the Queensland Holiday tourism site very good packed full of info Augathella has a rodeo on the 30/3/13 , Blackall has an aquatic centre where you can swim in the warm artesian waters. I saw on get away a few yrs ago in Longreach they had an evening river cruise which looked good are you doing the dinosaur thing and going to Lark Quarry sth of Winton have fun
AnswerID: 507354

Follow Up By: 410 - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:12

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:12
Hi Batt's
Yes we are going to Lark Quarry. Thank you for the info.
FollowupID: 784598

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:23

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:23
G'day Richard

The old wool scour at Blackall is well worth a look + there's one of the ubiquitous "black stumps" nearby. Workers Heritage Centre at Barcy definitely worth a visit. Personally I'd give them more brownie points than The Stockmans Hall of Fame. Old machinery at Ilfracombe also interesting if it takes your fancy.

Just don't do what the missus did and walk into the Union Hotel in Barcy and say you reckoned Mark Latham poisoned the tree ... sure got some interesting looks from the locals.
AnswerID: 507356

Follow Up By: 410 - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:48

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:48
Hi Rosco
Thankyou for that. I will see if the locals still remember your missus. ?
Rich
FollowupID: 784600

Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:47

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 13:47
Good camping at Tambo, Barcoo River Camp, turn right as entering town, is a popular area, need to get there early to get a good spot.
As mentioned above Blackall is also good, camp basically in middle of town at the (again) Barcoo River Camp, if open go to local swimming pool, water temperature is about 37/38 degrees, very refreshing.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 507360

Follow Up By: 410 - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 14:42

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 14:42
Thankyou
We went in the pool at Mitchell, which was very nice. At the moment up here in Charleville it is 35 and this warm weather around for a while.
FollowupID: 784604

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 15:50

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 15:50
40C forecast for The Alice today - that weather might drift east onto you folks :-o)...... All of those towns mentioned have an interesting history - Barcaldine figures large in Labor Party history but given the events of the last 2 days, they might try to hide that ! That camp at Tambo is a good one and its on the headwaters of the mighty Barcoo. Oh....and.....the Tambo Teds shop is a must too - in the main street - we left $200 lighter. Nothing from China of course - all made on the premises with Aussie materials - our ted (Barree Downs Bob) has travelled the nation with us.... even has his own Drizabone, moleskins and stock whip. Lots to see in Longreach of course and if going further up the map, Winton, Hughenden and Richmond have heaps of dinosaur experiences.
AnswerID: 507369

Follow Up By: 410 - Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 09:22

Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 09:22
Yes the weather here in Charly is pretty hot, hopefully things will cool off soon.
Thankyou
FollowupID: 784716

Reply By: Member - Stevo_62 - Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 18:22

Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 18:22
The Wilderness Way scenic loop from Tambo to Salvator Rosa Nat Park would be a great way to fill in 2 days . Great scenery , good swimming in crystal clear water in Louisa Ck & Nogoa River , bit of 4WDing if you want . Usually fairly busy at Salvator for Easter
AnswerID: 507378

Follow Up By: 410 - Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 09:20

Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 09:20
Thankyou
FollowupID: 784714

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 09:36

Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 09:36
I think there is an observatory near Charleville that is said to be good. Tambo Teddies is well worth a look but you may need to word the kids up first if you dont want to spend too much.
Qantas Museum and Stockmans Hall of Fame in Longreach.

The old machinery in the main street of Ilfracombe is well worth a stop.

Have a great trip.

Val

AnswerID: 507467

Follow Up By: 410 - Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 10:31

Sunday, Mar 24, 2013 at 10:31
Hi Val
Yes we went to the Cosmos Centre and had a look at the stars and moon the other night, very good. The children had just finished studing the solar system, so this worked in well.
Thank you
FollowupID: 784727