Annular Eclipse May 10

Submitted: Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 11:20
ThreadID: 101814 Views:2341 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
Just hoping someone may be able to help. I am planning a trip to the NT and WA early May and intend to observe the Annular eclipse near Tennant Creek. I have received detailed information from a friend in the US who is an absolute wizard on this stuff and from what I can see the central line of the eclipse will travel just south of Banka Banka station.

The central line seems to pass directly over Attack creek which is in Camps 7 NT site no 77. So my plan is to stay overnight at this spot. I have driven past this site on a number of occasions but cannot remember it or if its a suitable site.

I guess my question is, are there any eclipse wizard members of Exploroz out there who can help with further info or advice? Perhaps a more suitable location nearby.

As an aside I am new at observing and have no equipment etc to set up. We just have some basic lenses to view the eclipse so little or no set up time is required. Just get out of bed ,brew up ,and look up.
Regards
Jim
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 12:54

Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 12:54
Here is an aerial vies of the rest area at Attack Creek. The northern end is the better for camping but has a few trees.

PeterD
Retired radio and electronics technician

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 509529

Follow Up By: JimDi - Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 14:28

Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 14:28
Thanks Peter,
Looks as good a place as any for an overnight stay. Hard to say from where I sit now but I may be able to sneak up a track to get a little further off the highway.
Jim
FollowupID: 787428

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 20:22

Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 20:22
Jim,

The few times I've been past that Attack Ck site lately, it's been standing room only, during the season.