Fuel prices on the Oodnadatta Track

Submitted: Monday, May 27, 2013 at 16:26
ThreadID: 102443 Views:5622 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Can anyone advise as to the price of diesel along the Oodnadatta Track as we will be traveling that way next month and would appreciate any feed back

Reply By: EricnBeryl - Monday, May 27, 2013 at 21:51

Monday, May 27, 2013 at 21:51
G'day,

The short answer is expensive, especially at William Creek. During our trip along the track, William Creek was around $2.20 per litre. Fuel up atMarree and minimise purchases from then on.

AnswerID: 511968

Follow Up By: David16 - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 16:01

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 16:01
I think you find William Creek may be a bit dearer due to the fact that their base operating costs are much higher than Marree and Oodnadatta, they operate solely by Generator the same as Mt Dare and have to transport in all of their water were the other two towns have water on tap and power.

Maybe we should all support these guys that give it a go in the outback because if we dont it will be 550kms between fuel stops instead of 200.

FollowupID: 790413

Follow Up By: Member - John N (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 05, 2013 at 19:24

Wednesday, Jun 05, 2013 at 19:24
G'day Eric,

on 10 May, we paid $2.11 at the Pink Roadhouse. We have been going to these places quite a bit over the last few years and are very grateful for the services available. I agree with David above and will continue to support them. A few cents either way per litre on our trip made no real difference and we saw some wonderful sights. If you get to Mt Dare, make sure you also have a feed and a beer at the Hotel - they do it very well.

FollowupID: 791018

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, May 27, 2013 at 23:40

Monday, May 27, 2013 at 23:40
On the way up, we usually buy discount diesel at the Lyndhurst Hotel, then don't refuel again until Oodnadatta.Oodnadatta is cheaper than William Creek and about the same as Marree. I'd be guessing that Oodnadatta might be around $1.90 per litre at the moment but if you really want to know, just ring them up and politely ask.
AnswerID: 511982

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 07:36

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 07:36
If I needed to fill up at William Creek I would just do so, even if the cost was moderately higher.
When you calculate the actual savings of discounted fuel for an average sized vehicle fuel tank, the savings are really not all that much when requiring a fill once or twice on a trip.
For example, 60 litres at 10c/L higher than somewhere else, will save you the grand total of $6.00. Duh!
If I needed to worry about that sort of saving, I shouldn't be traveling through remote areas of our Country.

AnswerID: 511985

Follow Up By: Steve D1 - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 10:27

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 10:27
Hi there.
I'm with you Bill. It always amazes me when poeple ask how much fuel will cost them, for a particular remote area. Really, if you are on that tighter budget, what do you plan to do if something goes wrong?
Mechanical failure, emergency trip home or other?
As part of the cost of a "big trip", does a couple of bucks really factor into it? There must be too many accountants out there travelling our great land.

FollowupID: 790276

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 11:41

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 11:41
Gidday

Well said. And maybe a top up at a high price may just help a remote area operator stay in business for a time when you might really need it.

FollowupID: 790283

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 12:14

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 12:14
hi all
while I except your comments above and agree that a few dollars here and there extra on fuel is basicly irrelevant to the trip as a whole
I think Alex R
is just asking the question as part of pre-trip planning over-all
i don't see anything wrong with that
its a sensible thing to do
not everyone has a bank account that allows them to leave home without doing a pre-trip budget
which is something I have always done
regardless of my financial position over the past many years of travelling
good luck to all those who can travel regardless of the costs
but we are not all that fortunate
cheers and happy travelling
FollowupID: 790285

Reply By: Peter F9 - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 11:33

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 11:33
Hi Alex R,

we did the track from 1st to 6th May this year:
Leigh Creek $1.69
Maree $1.95
Oodnadatta $2.11

Enjoy

Pete
AnswerID: 511997

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 12:26

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 12:26
The only expensive fuel is the fuel you did not buy and subsequently are stuck in the middle of nowhere , will always remember how the proprietor of the Rabbit Flat roadhouse would treat belligerent customers who complained about the price of his fuel ,, he would just turn the bowser off ,lockup and walk away , perhaps turn it back on in an hour or four latter , you need fuel you pay the price.........
AnswerID: 512001

Follow Up By: bruce b2 - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 16:08

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 16:08
and then before turning the pumps on.......raise the price a wee bit
FollowupID: 790295

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 16:24

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 16:24
Yes , bruceb2 , makes me laugh when I hear tourists on the UHF drive from 1 servo to the next in tourist [or as we call them 'terrorists'] season comparing prices when the price variation is less than .02 cents per lt between the 3 service stations in town,,,,,,
FollowupID: 790297

Reply By: Member - alex R (VIC) - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 12:40

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 12:40

Thank you for your replies but as stated by Mazcan this was only to get an idea of prices. I am well aware that isolated areas will be higher than in city areas, and have no objection to paying,as it is my decision to travel to these areas.
AnswerID: 512006

Reply By: David16 - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 17:48

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 17:48
Best advice i can give is to get fuel when you can get it!

Especially at the busy times, last August we came out of the Simpson to Dalhousie only to be informed that Mt Dare was out of fuel, after scavenging enough fuel around the campground to get us to Oodnadatta we arrived with 10 lts left, we fuelled up (me inc 2 x jerries) and had lunch, 25 minutes later the generator broke down and guess what no fuel fer two days! Our friends travelling with us did not fuel up and were looking at a two day stay in Oodnadatta but luckily i had filled 40lts on the roof they could use to get to Coober pedy.

Lesson Learnt!!
AnswerID: 512028

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 19:14

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 at 19:14
Very good advice David. In remote areas never pass up an opportunity to top up both fuel and water.

FollowupID: 790322

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 12:47

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 12:47
That happened at Innaminka too, as soon as we got into town in the arvo we headed straight for the Trading Post filled up & had some much needed showers. We had enough fuel to get to Lyndhurst as we filled up @ Windorah but we support the local areas as much as I can afford

Following morning heading out there was a line up - the bowsers had stopped working.

I have never objected to paying the going rate out there, as I said to Dave from Mt Dare once - beats pushing the damn thing.

I too do the rough calculations for any trip that I am preparing for including estimated costs why, to make sure that I have enough coin to pay for it plus any incidentals and like to support those out there.

FollowupID: 790378

Reply By: David16 - Wednesday, Jun 05, 2013 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jun 05, 2013 at 17:43
William Creek fuel price is at $2.10lt as of today for Deisel and Unleaded.
AnswerID: 512568