Victorian bush camping for newbies

Submitted: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 20:35
ThreadID: 102483 Views:4388 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
G'day everyone,
The good lady has finally got the camping bug after 5 kids and many numerous years. Now it's just Kim (SWMBO), master Will 11, and myself (Rob).
We have done a few trips mainly staying in caravan parks with the odd National park here & there. Our only major trip was for 8 weeks from Melbourne, up the centre to Darwin, across to the East coast to Cape Trib then back to Melbourne.
Have also done Swan Hill, Mt. Gambier, Buchanan Caves, Adelaide, Great Ocean Road, Bright, Mansfield and a few other places
We are looking to expand our camping experience to more remote areas with free camping but are unfortunately limited to 2WD only.
We tow a trailer with Souther Cross tents, Drifta kitchen,Thumper battery with in car charging, Engel Fridge, 140 W solar panel, etc.
Am thinking of a Jimmy thunderbox toilet and have a canvas bag shower that SWMBO hasn't tried as yet. I have and find no issues though people recommend a 12V pump and bucket.
Question.
Are there better alternatives for the toilet and shower?
What are some nice places close 2 - 3 hours from Melbourne that we can spend a week or so at to check our gear and make sure that every one enjoys remote camping before we make plans for another 2 - 3 month adventure to the West coast.
Any thoughts on what's needed are greatly appreciated.
We enjoy each others company and are content to enjoy the scenery and the best that mother nature has to offer.

Cheers and beers

Rob

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 20:46

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 20:46
You could try Hugget's Crossing near Heyfield.
AnswerID: 512122

Follow Up By: ROODOO2 - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 21:20

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 21:20
Sorry Shaker but Huggets is a bit steep for 2WD , cars tend to go down and not make it back up. Nearby Dermodys Camp is OK 2WD and on same [Avon ] river. Otherwise 90 mile beach would be a good shakedown camp. As far as toilets a porta potty and nappisan is a "nicer" seat , but it is how you empty it that makes all the difference .
For a shower I prefer a 12v type , and about $30 will get a fair bilge pump type .
Hope this is of use Phantom
FollowupID: 790437

Follow Up By: phantom - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:15

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:15
Thanks ROODOO 2 and Shaker. Will checkout the area. Looking for some peace and tranquility.
Have used a port potty in the past and am looking for minimal size. Any thought s on the Thunderbox?
Will buy a 12v showter. They are cheap enough, compact and make good sense. Will also take the old canvas bucket and do a comparison, good to have options. Have only strung up a tarp for shower privacy in the past but thinking about a pop up tent for both shower and toilet

FollowupID: 790442

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:21

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:21
I live not far from Huggett's, heaps of 2wd go down there since the realigned the track, I've seen Holden Commodores & Geminis down there.

FollowupID: 790443

Follow Up By: phantom - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:28

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:28
G'day ROO,
Any particular places on the 90mile beach that you know of? Don't know that area very well but do love the ocean.
FollowupID: 790446

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 00:08

Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 00:08
There are about 20 campsites between Seaspray & Golden Beach.

FollowupID: 790449

Follow Up By: ROODOO2 - Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 08:15

Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 08:15
As Shaker said , a good variety of sizes and access but most have good shelter from wind [coastal ti-tree ] and some have long drop toilets .You would be just behind the dunes of the 2nd longest sand beach in OZ.
All the suggestions offered are top choices and I would be happy in any of them .
FollowupID: 790457

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 08:28

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 08:28
Shaker said "I live not far from Huggett's, heaps of 2wd go down there since the realigned the track, I've seen Holden Commodores & Geminis down there."

Holden Geminis? How many of those are left? They stopped making them in 1986!
FollowupID: 790504

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 08:38

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 08:38
That may well be the case, but there was one down there last year?
So what is your point?
FollowupID: 790505

Reply By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:08

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:08
Hi Rob,

Might be a little further than 3 hours, but an easy run from the city. Try Forges Pump on the Murray just 5 kms west of Yarrawonga/ Mulwalla. Three large bush camping areas on the banks of the river, fishing, sand bars for swimming and plenty to look at in the district if you wish. It is free camping but popular during school hols etc.. Head west from Yarrawonga along Murray Valley Hwy and turn towards the river just as you come across the large Olive farm. If it rains best to sit it out until track in dries a little otherwise OK for 2 wd. A great spot, you would think you were 100 kms away from civilisation.

Mike.
AnswerID: 512129

Follow Up By: phantom - Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:23

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 22:23
Thanks Michael,
Sounds exactly what we are looking for. Not too far away and hopefully we can check it out for a day trip soon. Always want to check out the local area with day trips and experience what the region has to offer. So much to learn but we are keen and pretty well set up. A good shake down trip for sure.
Rob
FollowupID: 790444

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (VIC) - Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 07:27

Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 07:27
Hi Rob,
I would suggest checking out the Wellington River North of Licola in the High Country. Bitumen all the way and most of the campsites are 2WD access right beside the river and many have pit toilets nearby.

Not super remote but a good place to check your gear out, and plenty of touring options if you want to wander further from here.

Cheers, Geoff
AnswerID: 512141

Follow Up By: phantom - Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 18:51

Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 18:51
Thanks Geoff,
Some great places mentioned by all and lots to explore. Will head off in early Spring and let you know how we fared.

Rob
FollowupID: 790486

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 01:06

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 01:06
Quote "Am thinking of a Jimmy thunderbox toilet and have a canvas bag shower that SWMBO hasn't tried as yet. I have and find no issues though people recommend a 12V pump and bucket.
Question. Are there better alternatives for the toilet and shower?"

For showers we use the black plastic bag type.

We hang it up in a cubicle Similar to this.

We have a dunny like this. - Currently we use BioTabs for odour control. When they run out we will be converting to a nappisan substitute - Woolies and Coles home brand ones have more active ingredient in them than the real thing - use the cap off the container as your measure - one cap per charge.

AnswerID: 512198

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 20:11

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 20:11
Hi Nomadic,
Agree that these Loos are good. Was thinking more of the size and how do you go travelling with a "half full Loo" In regards to odour and potential spillage as it will be in our trailer along with food stuff and camping gear?
Wll most likely get a 12v pump for a shower and a pop up tent like you use.

Rob
FollowupID: 790587

Reply By: Member - nellyjr - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 07:54

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 07:54
Loch Valley Near Noojee has easy 2wd access to campsites right on the river, and not too far from Melbourne. Just check that teh sites are open as i have seen them closed off during winter before. I think this is just to preserve the sitees rather than being difficult to gain access.
AnswerID: 512205

Reply By: andrew t - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 15:14

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 15:14
there are some great sites along costins road in around the noojee- tanjil bren area that are 2wd access and are a great way to get a start not too far from moe/walhalla/erica, but it can be very cold and wet in the winter months but there are some great spots along the river.
AnswerID: 512242

Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, May 31, 2013 at 20:05

Friday, May 31, 2013 at 20:05
Thanks mate,
Always wanted to check out Noojee and the Thompson, so much appreciated. Will wait till spring though.

Rob
FollowupID: 790585