Toilets and travel

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 15:58
ThreadID: 103544 Views:1898 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Hi all, just a quick question, is it ok to have water in the flush tank on a thetford toilet while traveling, I heard somewhere that it should not have water in it, I have looked in the archive, but not found anything to confirm my query, in the toilet booklet, in says not to have it full? Does this mean not to have it empty??? We are making a box to store the toilet on the draw bar of the trailer, so it has its own compartment. Thanks for any info. Cheers odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 17:30

Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 17:30
Haven't had a problem yet.B
AnswerID: 515844

Reply By: tg123 - Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 17:41

Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 17:41
You'll find that the lid of the flush tank does not seal as it needs to let air into the tank as you pump out to flush, so can slop a bit on rough roads. Put an old towel or similar in the bottom of your box and all should be OK. I used to put a piece of folded gladwrap over the flush tank fill point and popped the cap on top while travelling - worked for me.
TG
AnswerID: 515845

Follow Up By: Odog - Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 18:30

Saturday, Aug 03, 2013 at 18:30
Yep, no worries, the gladwrap idea will do nice. Thanks heaps.
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

FollowupID: 795144

Reply By: new boy - Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 09:56

Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 09:56
Hi Odog
We got small amount of spillage in the onsuite, read the book which advised against travelling with the cistern full so only fill 3/4 probelm solved.
AnswerID: 515881

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 13:36

Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 13:36
No hassles here.

However!!! We carry ours in a plastic box just a tad wider and a bit longer than the toilet on one end leaving enough room for the chemicals, paper, some clean rags and a cleaning kit. Handy having it all in one nice package is handy.

AnswerID: 515888

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 14:09

Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 14:09
hi phil
would it be possible to modify these things and fit a breather pipe vent up above the tank level and then have a sealed tank lid
sounds like not a lot of thought went into the design of them
if it allows the water to slop out when travelling
just a thought
FollowupID: 795173

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 14:22

Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 14:22
In a nutshell Maz I do not know about the breathing. Ours doesn't smell.

I am not aware that the water "sloshes out". It doesn't in our case and never has, even in the rough tracks up in the high country. Ours is just an added protection and a way to have everything, included cleaning stuff and consumables all neat and packed together in the back of the car. No leaks mate.

FollowupID: 795174

Follow Up By: Odog - Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 16:48

Sunday, Aug 04, 2013 at 16:48
Thanks all for your thoughts and suggestions. We will have a good look and see what works. The idea of having it in its own storage area with the extras, is the way to go. Nice to have a place for everything, and everything in its place. Makes for an easy set up.. And pack up. Thanks again, cheers. Odog

FollowupID: 795179