nissan navara 2012 dual cab 2.5 diesel manual special edition model

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 02:07
ThreadID: 103951 Views:2714 Replies:2 FollowUps:9
Im looking at buying this Navara as my first 4wd. I love the looks of the navara plus just about everyone that ive stopped and asked what they think of their navara has pretty much said that they love them. Ive had a short test drive and it handles quite well on the bitumen , which will be mostly what it does, it has that smooth car ride feel. I will gradually work my way into 4wd driving seriously, but for now i just want a reliable 4wd. I know everyone has their favourites but all i really want is a real assessment of this particular 4wd. Any REAL feed back would be great, no doomsdayers please !!!!!

Reply By: fisherPete - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 07:00

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 07:00
You do not state which Navara you are looking at their is the older D22 and the newer D40. I work for a large rental co, and we brought six of ea. The d40s where a pain, with one in the work shop ea week, where as the d22s where very reliable. Heaps of negativie stuff on most forums about D40s as they age, such as broken timing chains at only 120000ks, destroying the motor. The D22 is outstanding value at the moment.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 516751

Follow Up By: hooks - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:36

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:36
Hi Pete,

Can you advise the model no. for the V6 Navara? I've just noticed that the brochure doesn't show it. I will contact the dealer if necessary.

thanks
FollowupID: 796183

Follow Up By: cliff p - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 11:17

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 11:17
sorry guys , its a D40 ST. I have read the odd forum where someone had a problem with theirs but ive read the same thing about every car on the road. A mate works in a Nissan/Holden spare parts and he said that there has been some injector trouble in the last 12 months but apart from that the Navara doesnt make him any busier than say Holden. He couldnt give me any reason to not buy it. Everyone ive asked that owns one seems happy but the STR owners claim rough ride. I considered Hilux but have read bad forums to.
FollowupID: 796209

Follow Up By: fisherPete - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:04

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:04
Well we also run Tritons and luxs as well, the D40s turned the boss off Nissan navaras full stop. We also had trouble getting rid of them , and had to buy Xtrails to do so. Luxs people walk in and ask when we are selling them.
I can not speak of the v6 diesel, as all of ours where the older 4s, but if buying the older 4, be very carefull, we run around 200 cars and they do get a hard time being rentals, but lemons always show up with problems first.
The timing chain problem at 120000ks plus is the biggie on the 4s, google navara timing chain problems, I am asure uit will keep you reading for a while. Timing chains should last 300000ks plus, not 120000, and destroy half the motor when they do go.
But we had no problems with d22s, and the xtrails are very reliable.
I know luxs have a problems with injectors seals at 140000ks, we sell at 100000 to 120000ks and have very little problems.
Its your money, so its your decision.
Good luck Pete
FollowupID: 796215

Follow Up By: cliff p - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:19

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:19
Thanks Pete, i will look into them a bit deeper. Ive been fronting Navara drivers every chance i get for 6 months now and i just cant get anyone to bag them, which leads me to think that they cant be to bad a car. Lucky your boss only bought 6 of them eh. Thanks again
FollowupID: 796218

Reply By: KevinE - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:44

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:44
Hi Cliff,

The easy way to tell which model you're looking at is that with the current models (2012 is current for a D22) is the D22 will be an "STR" in a 4WD dual cab or a "DX" in the base model D22.

The RX, ST & STX are all D40's.

I've just traded a 2010 D22 on a 2013 D22. I love them, but they don't come with much gadgetry if you're into that sort of thing (I'm not)

They are a very reliable car & more than capable off road. But (big but) they are built as a work car, not a family wagon & the ride reflects that.

But at $26,990 drive away they make very good sense!

We took the last one everywhere from the Kimberley, to Chamber's Pillar, Palm Valley, Mt Dare, Oddnadatta Track, Dalhousie, Flinder's Ranges, Gawler Ranges, KI, Meerenie Loop............ you get the idea! It never missed a beat!

The only money we spent on it was for servicing & tyres.

They hold their resale value pretty well too for a car with such a low purchase price. We got a really good trade in price for it.

Can't help with the D40 sorry.

Kevin.

AnswerID: 516756

Follow Up By: cliff p - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 11:33

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 11:33
Thanks Kevin for your reply, your story is familiar to a lot of other stories from people with a Navara. To be honest im sure there has been problems with them just like all cars but as my mate pointed out , if you treat a car badly it will treat you badly. My mates workshop mainly hears the BAD STORIES from Tradies & young blokes , both of whom don't really care how they treat their cars.
FollowupID: 796211

Follow Up By: pepper2 - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 17:05

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 17:05
Kevin where did you find a new navara for around $27000 ? I can only get a cabchassis for that , dual cabs are around $34000 in my area ...
FollowupID: 796257

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 17:16

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 17:16
Cannot help but agree with Kevin. I have an older D22 (2005) and from new, we took off the tub, fitted a dropside tray and it has carried dirt, hay, sand, concrete mix, wood, etc without a problem. Original tyres didn't last long, but that's normal!
Now just creeping up on 120K and still going strong. Pulls the Goldy van easily once it gets rolling. Takes a bit out of it on hills like the Moonbis and Port Stevens Cutting, but the rig rolls along nicely at 100-110 out in the flatter stuff.
My service man (Repco bloke who's had every car I've owned in the last 30 years- no point going to the dealer except for the free service at diddly km!) just said to keep to the servioce schedule and we'll be right.
Oh, one problem erelated to dirty fuel from one of the "discount" places - cost a day travelling to the snow one year and a full tank of fuel as well as some, not inconsiderable, amount of cash to rectify. New filters, and full flush of fuel system! Grrr! Never again will I use cheap fuel!
FollowupID: 796259

Follow Up By: BOXHD - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 17:57

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 17:57
Hi cliff I have a d22 08 model and have no probs and it has don 60 000 ks so far it has just about every thing nilly that u can do to them if u read my page u will see all the mods I have done ...just front locker to go and ARB has not long made their air locker for the front ..

cheers mick
FollowupID: 796261

Follow Up By: KevinE - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 19:12

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 19:12
Hi pepper2,

$34,000??? Where are you located mate?

Nissan had them going out for $27,990 D/A in the paper here (Adelaide) last Saturday.

I bought ours at the end of June as an end of FY special for $26,990 at Lakeside Nissan. They had 5 at that price.

They also had D40 ST's going out for $36,990 D/A (the current ST is last year's STX)

Kevin.

FollowupID: 796268