HF communications

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:08
ThreadID: 10486 Views:1970 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived
Don't know much about long range communications - always assumed it meant $4000 HF radio vs $???? satphone. Willem's post on a multi-tap aerial has me wondering - what would a good second hand HF with multi-tap cost ? How many frequencies do you need to use VKS737, RFDS and radphone. Presumably a $300 multi-tap covers it ?? Where would you go to get good second hand stuff (I'm a complete novice).
Many thanks,
Brad.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:01

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:01
Brad

Points to think obout

Have tou got the room to fit the unit in the vehicle?
Will your bullbar take the weight and size of the aerial?
Cost of unit?
Radio will be fixed in Vehicle
Can anyone use the radio eg in case of emergency can a friend use it with out any training?

Satphone is small and portable
Satphone can be used by anybody with a working knowledge of a mobile phone
Satphones can be brought for about $1000 and depending on plan calls from about $2.00 per min
When in mobile phone range the Satphone will switch to digital and calls charged at digital rates.

What do you want the long range communications for? Emergency Phone calls or communications.

I think you will see I am a little bias towards Satphones. Having used them on big trips they are a must.

Wayne
AnswerID: 46498

Follow Up By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:14

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:14