I wonder how much damage this lot will do

Submitted: Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 19:49
ThreadID: 105227 Views:3804 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Just reading in the latest NRMA Open Road magazine about a Canning Tour. $8.500 all inclusive each. Two 6x6 and two 4x4 vehicle group. The Canning part was 13 nights, Ruby Plains to Well 2 and then back to Newman via the bitumen. There goes the nice quiet drive without the dunes being damaged. I know it is not just our domain, but what will we have next.

I darn well hope that we don't meet them. Last time I met a tour bus head on is was on the road to Mitchell Falls and it was nearly our last. They seemed to think that they owned the road and that we had to go bush.

The price of advancing civilisation - bugger it.

Reply By: DiscoTourer - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 20:13

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 20:13
I have travelled the CSR twice, and on both occasions the average traveller was doing just as much damage.

Halfway into each run, I stopped helping people with damaged tanks, blown shocks, roof rack legs and wheel carriers broken, and so on. All were traveling too fast and with too high tyres pressures. They just will not listen.

13 days is doable, but will be long days, however slower is better.

Brett.....
AnswerID: 521932

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:33

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:33
We travelled the CSR in 1998. Took 19 days and had one slow leak puncture.
We must have been doing something wrong (;=))

FollowupID: 802804

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 20:33

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 20:33
I saw that! 17 grand a couple ! Wow! On another note, the open road mag is a joke, it has one or two articles about Oz and the rest is overseas trips and destinations! Hardly about motorists in NSW. Michael

AnswerID: 521937

Follow Up By: Member - Min (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 14:54

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 14:54
Hi Michael,
I completely agree. The Open Road has been a disappointment for quite some time. It's time they woke up.

Min
FollowupID: 802864

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 20:53

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 20:53
Hi Guys

I've tried to find the article but haven't had any luck.

any chance you can help me with as link?

Thanks in advance

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 521940

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:29

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:29
It just arrived in the mail today. November/December 2013 issue.

FollowupID: 802809

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 23:37

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 23:37
Hi PJR,

Dam it its a hard copy eh - I'm not a member of the NRMA I live in WA.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 802817

Reply By: rocco2010 - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:06

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:06
Gidday

Gee it's a while since I was there but could the corros around well 33 get any worse? Or the dunes more chopped up?

It would be interesting to know who is running the tour. I suspect it will sell out quickly, probably to overseas visitors.

Also my understanding is that big vehicles like OKAs and trucks (and trailers) are not allowed on the lower part of the CSR that runs through Cunyu station.

Whenever I read of trips like this I am reminded of the movie, If this is Tuesday, it must be Belgium. I much prefer a more relaxed pace.

AnswerID: 521942

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:34

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:34
At well 10 they swing east to Glen-Ayle station and then down to Well 2 and Wiluna and then back north Newman.

The mob is called "Outback Spirit". Link: www.outbackspirittours.com.au

Outback Spirit site
FollowupID: 802810

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 13:56

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 13:56
Thanks Phil

Just had a look, notice they are offering 16 departure dates for CSR trips next year! 16 times 17 people times $8k, do the math. They must have dedicated staff, I as much as I love the deserts, I reckon once about every five years is enough on those corros.

FollowupID: 802859

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 15:46

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 15:46
Hi Rooc

I didn't think about dates. I just checked the dates and than god we will miss them.

PS There is another americanism that has crept into our aussie language "do the math". We used to say "do the sums".Well I still do.
FollowupID: 802867

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 15:53

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 15:53
"For a trip like this, the ability to have a hot shower and use a flushing toilet is paramount."

LOL! Couldn't survive a few days without either of those, right?

Their CSR trip description

Having said that though, I understand why people would sign up for this. As others pointed out, a catered trip like this is the only way many people would ever get out there.
FollowupID: 802868

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:29

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:29
I think they call it "glamping" = glamorous camping.

We carry a flushing toilet (okay you have to push a plunger on the porta potty) and a shower (12 V pump in bucket of hot water to a shower head in a pop-up ensuite).

So are we also glamping???

FollowupID: 802886

Reply By: Member - ACD 1 - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:44

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:44
Phil you are quite right. it is no ones singular domain.

Unfortunately, these types of tours are on the increase because it is within the reach of a lot of travellers. Not everyone is able to afford the price of a 4WD kitted for remote travel, off road CT or Van etc etc. $8500 is more than do able for the experience.

What concerns me is the bust and tear itinnerary that the companies are offering.

We were on the Gunbarrel last July having a quick game of footy at the Football Ground, when two ex army behemoths came barrelling through. Canvas sides rolled up, transverse seats fitted, gear stacked (bouncing) behind the passengers. Just watching the speed, bouncing and pitching of the vehicles left me feeling sea sick.

Thank God we were stationary and off the road. If we had of met them on a blind corner the sat phone would have been useless.

Solution???

Anthony
AnswerID: 521944

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:36

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:36
The solution is to do the drive now before it is screwed by man!!!!

That is another reason I want to do the drive next year.

FollowupID: 802811

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:41

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:41
Memories ... Camped at the football ground for a night a few years ago and saw the best desert sunrise ...

FollowupID: 802812

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 00:46

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 00:46
Camped there in '85 and couldn't believe there were goal posts. They were Mulga then, not the steel posts of today.

FollowupID: 802822

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 07:07

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 07:07
Where is it? Even a grid reference would do.

FollowupID: 802823

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 08:41

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 08:41
The "Places" section on EO is always a good place to start Phil.

Football Oval - Gunbarrel Hwy

FollowupID: 802829

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 09:00

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 09:00
You ought to know me Mick. I prefer the human contact.

How about adding that photo of yours to the camp fire thread mate

FollowupID: 802831

Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:54

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 21:54
Hello Phil

Wouldn't worry about if I was you. Too many assumptions ...and besides the "damage" has already been done ..the track already exists. It also represents the only way some people can get out there. If they, as individuals/couples all jumped into separate 4WDs we would have a thread about inexperienced people driving up the CSR and chopping it up - the poor buggers cant win :)

I was a hired hand (driver) on a tour down a section of the CSR in 2008 - ~14 people in three vehicles (one modded Toyota PC "tour" vehicle). As an example ..oldest guy was +74. Time of his life and the only way he was going to get out there...same for others - wouldn't tackle the track on their own.

Infinitely more "damage" being done to the bush/tracks/beaches by 4WDers in "normal" 4WDs in close vicinity to settled areas.

AnswerID: 521946

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:45

Friday, Nov 22, 2013 at 22:45
Not really worried. Just wondering what people say andsomething to discuss.

FollowupID: 802813

Reply By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:14

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:14
Save your Canning trips for a couple of years. Let the Merc G wagons from Outback Spirit break off all the scratchy branches and in 2016 you'll have an easy trip. And yes, one hopes that their wagons run low tyre pressures. But if it's the same mentality that says you will travel across Lake Disappointment in the highlights then I don't hold out too much hope..... W
Warrie

AnswerID: 521968

Reply By: 643 - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 18:00

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 18:00
We should not throw stones as 100 yrs ago.
1... the people who walked it said those fools on camels are pussys
2...The camel riding pussys said those horse and cart dudes are wimps
3... The horse and cart dudes said those guys in the motor car are cheating
4... The cheats in the cars said these bloody groups in these big busses are 5 star traveler,s.
5... The five star traveler,s heard there will be soon groups in 100mtr x 100 mtr 5 story high hoover crafts like cruise ships out here soon and I bet there going to bugger this place up blowing sand every where.

Sorry PJR its a never ending cycle. just enjoy the present.
AnswerID: 521983

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:18

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:18
So true - so true.

FollowupID: 802884