You campfire photo

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 07:15
ThreadID: 105231 Views:5224 Replies:31 FollowUps:58
Saw one from Mick O this morning and thought it would make an interesting thread. But watch out if you post one with faces clearly definable. Some don't like it. Maybe it's a copyright thing. You could ask them first though.

This was in the Simpson at 26°19'14.00"S 136°44'16.00"E. Didn't see another car for almost three days.

Anyone else got one.

Back Expand Un-Read 5 Moderator

Reply By: Kilcowera Station Stay - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 08:43

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 08:43
Here's one, out in the paddock boiling the quart pot to have tea with our lunch. The quart pot has it's own little leather bag which hangs off your bike or saddle. Cheers Toni
AnswerID: 521963

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 08:55

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 08:55
That one is almost good enough to hang in an art gallery. It actually has a "form" about it.

Good one mate.

FollowupID: 802830

Reply By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:05

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:05
This one was taken at Trephina Gorge in June this year.

AnswerID: 521967

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:09

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:09
Where are the Gypsy dancers John

FollowupID: 802840

Reply By: aussiedingo (River Rina) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:31

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:31

On the banks of the Moonie River, after dinner we would place a hollow log vertically on the fire (we called it a pipe) after a while the flames would shoot out the top - very spectacular! We were next to the river in a cleared area, so no risk of fire. We stumbled on this site when my son & his mate were 6 & went back each easter for the next 12 years! they wouldn't go anywhere else, the group just got larger.
hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 521969

Follow Up By: Member - OnYaBike - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 22:31

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 22:31
My son in law is keen on his chimneys. Great entertainment for kids. This one from the Walsh River in October.
FollowupID: 802964

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:39

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:39
Here's the one Phil was talking about;

And a few others

AnswerID: 521970

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:51

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 10:51
It's no wonder we like to camp. Look at the peace in these photos.

AnswerID: 521971

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:00

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:00

AnswerID: 521972

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:06

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:06
Life's little luxuries.

FollowupID: 802838

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:41

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 11:41
A few more

Val.

FollowupID: 802845

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 12:01

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 12:01
How many cooks to get brecky ready!! Two cooks with three eager, plate in hand, advisors advising.

Who's the bald headed one though. Dangerous letting him at it Val.

FollowupID: 802846

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 12:40

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 12:40
Luv them square eggs!!! What a simple but great idea.Just fits the toast nicely.

FollowupID: 802849

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 13:14

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 13:14
In days thankfully gone bye, we (3 boys and us two) used to have them for dinner. Tough days back then. Even spaghetti bolognaise and an occasional snag and pancakes were the other staple diet filler-uppers. Memories!!

Luckily things aren't as tough now and we still have them but only when camping.

FollowupID: 802853

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 13:15

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 13:15
For the benefit of anyone who hasn't met this way of cooking eggs - cut the middle out of a slice of bread (then use the cut out bit for toast) and you are left with an edible egg ring! To be really cool, just press the top of a mug into the slice and twist it round to cutout a perfect circle.

OR a 1cm thick slice from a capsicum makes a yummy and colourful egg ring!

FollowupID: 802854

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 17:44

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 17:44
Commonly known as witch's eyes.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 802874

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:25

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:25
Guess what we had for brekky today. Spot on!! eggs in bread rings and lots of fatty bacon.

My wife saw this thread last night.

FollowupID: 802919

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:19

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:19
"Eggs fried in bread rings"?.... "Fatty bacon"?.... "Putting on weight"???

It's all becoming clear now Phil!

FollowupID: 802932

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 18:58

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 18:58
In the far north of SA.

Master chef at work in the Flinders Ranges- moi on the left.

Cheers!
RM

AnswerID: 521986

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:15

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:15
We just finished dinner at home and already I am feeling peckish.

OH&S would be a bit upset guys. Where are the gloves. We're buggers aren't we. I am the same.

Photobucket is handy hey!!!
FollowupID: 802883

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:36

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:36

AnswerID: 521990

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:50

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:50
Kev, if that's you in the chair you are a genius. A son (the trainee council worker) and grand daughter (trainee supervisor) to do the hard work for you. Don't strain yourself lifting that can will you.

Love the family stuff.

FollowupID: 802889

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:49

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:49
My contribution.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 521992

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:52

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 20:52
I see a camel in there. Good example of camp art.

FollowupID: 802890

Reply By: Vesko P - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:04

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:04
From my trip to Lake Eyre:

AnswerID: 521993

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:12

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:12
I am waiting for the Archangel to come down out of the clouds.

Marvelous effect.

FollowupID: 802893

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:09

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:09
Taurus Camp:

Spot the campsite:

AnswerID: 521994

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 08:14

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 08:14
Here's another great photo by Equinox taken on this years tfrip that I'm sure he won't mind me posting.

And one from me as we wound our way down the srurt creek

FollowupID: 802903

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 09:17

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 09:17
Our Rocket Tank camp, that was a nice spot, thanks Mick..

FollowupID: 802909

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:29

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:29
Hey Equinox! Do you live in that chair!!!
FollowupID: 802921

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 23:03

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 23:03
What does "Rocket Tank" refer to Alan?

FollowupID: 802968

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 23:15

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 23:15
Hi Allan,

Rocket Tank is where the gang and I camped on our way to Sturt Creek Station.

I didn't find out why it was called Rocket Tank because as Phil said I just sat in my chair :-)

FollowupID: 802969

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 23:41

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 23:41
Here is the "place" link.

Rocket Tank

FollowupID: 802970

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 08:58

Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 08:58
Thanks Alan and Mick,

From its location it clearly has nothing to do with anything fired from Woomera. We never got that far! LOL

FollowupID: 802976

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:11

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:11
The basic of basics. We didn't even have a tent and slept in the rear of the 100 series that we had just purchased. Couldn't wait to get out there!!!!.

Willandra Station 10 April 2010.

Previous camping was before we had the boys back in the 70's. When we could afford the petrol.

A new life begins . . . . .

At least I had clean clothes back then.

And this is not the reason I put on weight.
AnswerID: 521995

Reply By: Dave B ( ADL) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:23

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 21:23
Here is one from 2007 at the Pyrenees.
The campfire was put to good use.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 521996

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 01:46

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 01:46
Who can name them all??

Nick?? Steve, Matt, Willem, Charlie :)

That was my 1st EO Gathering and we had a great time :)

FollowupID: 802898

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 20:26

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 20:26
Yeh, Kev, you got it. Steve - Muddy was the one I had trouble with. Nick, Madcowz on the left. The first EO Glenpatrick Pyrenees gathering and I was the organising member. Bonz since then. Matt was at he last one too, as was Madcowz
FollowupID: 802950

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 20:10

Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 20:10
I thought it was Steve Dann AKA Gob and Denny or Geratric Gypsies

FollowupID: 803031

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 21:51

Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 21:51
You could be right, but I couldn't be sure even stretching the picture on the iPad. I know Steve and Denny pretty well, but not seen them in a few years
FollowupID: 803044

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:13

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:13
CAMPED ON THE BANKS OF COPETON DAM

CAMPED AT DALMORTON

AnswerID: 522000

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:32

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:32
You just got the Southern Cross in. Peaceful isn't it. That word is coming out of these photos all the way through.

FollowupID: 802923

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 18:17

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 18:17
yeah peaceful it sure is...once the kids go to be that is...lol.
there's something about camping and a campfire that go hand in hand IMHO, it's not the same experience when you go camping in areas that don't allow fires (total fire bans are understandable though)
FollowupID: 802938

Reply By: Member - batsy - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:17

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:17
Every day vertical above ground is a bonus.

AnswerID: 522001

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:42

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:42
Serenity!! You can almost "feel" how quiet and still it is.

FollowupID: 802925

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 16:07

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 16:07
Hope that is not the "Tree" burning...ha ha
FollowupID: 802935

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:21

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:21

Can't beat a red gum fire.
VKS Mobile 1906

AnswerID: 522002

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:38

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:38
Thats pretty meek offerings Peter. It looks like an altar but you only have a bottle of water on it. You taking up the priesthood now mate?

All good mate.

FollowupID: 802924

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:46

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:46
??I'm pretty sure it was Sauv Blanc Phil? Shot taken before dinner. Great camp spot though right on the River. Here's the lunch view.

VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 802928

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:01

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:01
You can pick the Murray can't you. Not being a wine drinker I didn't even think of that. Nice spot for a quiet glass.

FollowupID: 802931

Reply By: George_M - Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:44

Saturday, Nov 23, 2013 at 22:44
How about "Goose a-la-jack-handle?

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 522004

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 09:19

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 09:19
Great pic.
Great use of materials hardly seen in camps any more - wire, droppers & corrugated iron.
The shorts look like stubbies - a fashion icon
FollowupID: 802910

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:44

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:44
Even the hat looks like a terry towling one.

A few years on this photo I bet.
FollowupID: 802926

Follow Up By: George_M - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 16:44

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 16:44
Ah yes - it was a decade or so before the Cobb Cooker was marketed in Australia:-)

Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 802937

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 08:06

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 08:06
Gday Phil
This is from our 2012 drip fest up the Avon river and beyond .

AnswerID: 522011

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:45

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:45
Don't you just love the high country and those cool, moist and fresh mornings.
FollowupID: 802927

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 10:40

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 10:40
A few people at the Pyrenees gathering this year
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 522018

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 10:54

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 10:54
The Maralinga Mystery Tour Group 2013

AnswerID: 522020

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:13

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:13
At least I know what direction the wind was blowing ha ha.

FollowupID: 802917

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:49

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:49
The caption should read: we are many but we are one!! Nn Not trying to quote the We are Australians. Just saying that the evening around the fire makes us one.
FollowupID: 802929

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 08:50

Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 08:50
I know what you mean Phil.

FollowupID: 802975

Reply By: Member - sparra - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 11:16

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 11:16
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 522022

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:50

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:50
I am sure that I have seen these blokes all over the place. Thanks guys for your lonely work.
FollowupID: 802930

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:19

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:19
Great trailer under the donga. How did it get around a corner?

Love those top boots.

RM
FollowupID: 802956

Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:38
g'day rick,she turned corners no worries,it's called a dolly,swivels on a 5th wheel.

yeah good boots,redwings,standard issue back then. (i'm the smaller bloke) that was around 1985 in the naccowlah/jackson area

cheers,
sparra

FollowupID: 802959

Reply By: Member - sparra - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 11:20

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 11:20
camp near wooramel river gorge

AnswerID: 522023

Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 11:30

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 11:30
And here's another one

FollowupID: 802913

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:55

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 12:55
We don't ask for much do we. A place to lay the swag. A place for the fire. And a chair and for a cuppa. We have to be the most uncomplicated people on this planet.
AnswerID: 522027

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:34

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:34
Hi Phil

Any time around a campfire, regardless where it is is alway a great time...............

Hell I love getting away out into the great parts of Australia

AnswerID: 522029

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:40

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 13:40
You win Stephen. lol

FollowupID: 802933

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 18:58

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 18:58
That is a collection Stephen. And not one grump among them. Thanks for taking part.

FollowupID: 802940

Follow Up By: Member - batsy - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 19:48

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 19:48
Surely you have more campfire photos Stephen.
Great pics,obviously great times & great people.
Batsy
Every day vertical above ground is a bonus.

FollowupID: 802947

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 15:28

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 15:28
Camped near Jitarning for a single night stopover.
Great fire and Dinner by a million star restaurant.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 522031

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 19:17

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 19:17
I am not trying to stop this thread as I am enjoying it HEAPS. Not one argument. Some friendly banter. And a million memories.

But please will someone also make comments. I am running out of adjectives. It is rewarding though to share these pleasantries.

The very first photo that I posted is my favorite camping photo. Not one word can explain how we felt that night. We were so at peace. Just sitting there alone but together having a cuppa.

Keep it going guys.

AnswerID: 522043

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 22:25

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 22:25
I dunno Phil, maybe the thread should be stopped, it is making me twitchy!
It's quite a few months since I was out bush and next trip is not till march (do they have campfires in Africa?) and then off to the Pilbara in May.
Maybe I should light a fire in the back yard.

FollowupID: 802963

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 12:56

Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 12:56
Suffer. We have to look at that kitchen splashback photo of the outback. I will not post it here but here is the link.Our kitchen splashback, Hamilton Station 100Kms nth of Oodnadatta It is both a temptations and a curse. But I wouldn't swap it.

So suffer mate!!!!! :-)

FollowupID: 802985

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:30

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:30
Campfires, you just got to love them.

A place to eat, to laugh, maybe debate, and perhaps even contemplate.

Speaking of eating, there is nothing better than “milling” around the campfire in the morning eating “camp food”.

And one of my favourite campfire breakfasts is an egg poached in an orange with lashings of bacon…!

Cheers, Baz – The Landy

AnswerID: 522052

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:42

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 21:42
Any orange juice or fluid in with the egg?
FollowupID: 802960

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 22:42

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 22:42
I just scoop out some of the flesh, eat it, and drop and egg into the orange and let it poach. So there is some flesh and juice left in it - give it a go, tastes great, well if you like oranges and egg!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 802965

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 12:58

Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 12:58
I will pass that on to the cook.

FollowupID: 802987

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 13:20

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 13:20
Phil, what a wonderful thread this has turned out to be; thanks for starting it. As others have said, camping just isn’t the same without a campfire. And given the (usually justified) restrictions on where we can have one these days every campfire that we do have is a bonus.

What’s so special about a campfire? We love our wood heater at home but a campfire is something else again – out under the stars, sharing with good company or on your own, cooking like our forebears did, smelling the wood smoke and gazing into the glowing embers. Memories and emotions are stirred; we hear the silence of the bush and the cares of the world slip away…

Truly a campfire is beyond time and place. Whenever or wherever we have one it’s an experience that’s hard to beat.

John and Val.

AnswerID: 522131

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 13:40

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 13:40
I take little credit other that putting the thought in front of everyone. Yourselves and everyone else made it so.

And you will note that there wasn't any competition. Who had the biggest. Who had the best for cooking. All camp fires are the best.

I sent the link to my son and his wife who work 24/7 in the bakery and I got the response that I was hoping for He said: "Lucia and I can have a day off together next wednesday". They need it. They are going camping.

It has been a very enjoyable exercise. It is a fact that, we may have a Nissan or a Toyota or even have Coopers tyres but a camp fire or just the memory of a camp fire is one thing that every one of us has in common.

And yes, I did notice that BOTH of you signed off.

FollowupID: 803066

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 15:28

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 15:28
Good one Phil, and as you said, no competition.

On the other hand, if you were going to put an old tyre on the fire, would it be a Coopers or BFG or..................? LOL

FollowupID: 803071

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 13:52

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 13:52
If I may.

I am not one for the arts, opera, painting or plays but I thought this thread should have at least one poem about the campfire.

A CAMPFIRE

There's something ‘bout a fire and the mesmerizing glow
Of its dancing, flick'ring embers that does enthrall me so
A soft and gentle fire slowly glowing in the night
Soothing, calming, warming. It is such a pure delight

The best time for a fire's when the flames they have died down
And the crackling and the popping all have ceased
All the flurry and the groaning, all the hurry and the churning
All have gone, and now the fire is at peace

Neil Milliner
AnswerID: 522133

Reply By: Quickboats - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 18:02

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 18:02
Seeing these photos make me want to pack my bags and camp.
AnswerID: 522144

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:03

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:03
2391 views, 30 posts and 55 follow ups. Excellent numbers. And bundles of thany you ticks and messages/emails as well.

So who is going to start with maybe a Christmas decorated camp for a new thread. I have neber been camping at Christmas so I an't help there. But best we wait until after Christmas.

Any idea for a new 4WD based photo thread?

AnswerID: 522277

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:44

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:44
Great thread Phil.

So much better than arguing about which tyres are best! LOL

FollowupID: 803268

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:53

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 19:53
Seeing that Christmas is coming up, what about someone start one after the holidays with a "Decorated 4WD" theme. Allan I am sure you can come up with a photo. I will try but I would like someone else to start it. My deleted folder if chockers.

Lets see what happens.

FollowupID: 803269

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 23:56

Thursday, Nov 28, 2013 at 23:56
You mean like this Phil? LOL only!

FollowupID: 803302