We are back !!!!!! now living the dream in Cape York :-)

Well hello all, after a long break away from ExplorOz we are back "on air" .....

Our "adventure" at Doomadgee came to a rather an abrupt end around April when the conditions at Doomadgee became rather violent in the way of riots and general downhill slide in conditions and it was not a safe place for our young kids, wont go into details but we made a snap descision to pack up and leave after 3 1/2 years of what was good times and meeting some fantastic people, we still have good contacts in Doomadgee and made some lifetime friends so will never regret our time there at all.......

We left to Perth and stayed for a few months waiting for a position we had enquired about and it finally came through, the Store at Old Mapoon, about 80klms NORTH of Weipa in Cape York, just a 100 n something K's south of Bamaga, on the coast, it is at the mouth of the Wentlock River (Cullen Point) ..........

We sold the old 75 series, not because it was worn out but it was just not suited to long distance travel, we purchased an 105 series petrol from Longreach and headed over to Perth via Isa, across the guts via the Great Central and brought a camper trailer, came back over up the West coast to Timber Creek and cut through to Toppy, then to Booraloola, popped in to Doomadgee to say some fairwells and off to Burktown, Normanton, and headed to Karumba then cut through to the Cape Road via Duncan, headed to Weipa and up to Mapoon and here we are.....

Fishing is great, wet has been late but has been pouring for the last few days so may be here finally, looking forward to a trip to the tip, been busy getting settled and just chilling (with the a/c on) and working .............

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 07:22

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 07:22
Thanks for the update. I was beginning to wonder if you'd been eaten by a big lizard.
AnswerID: 524188

Follow Up By: Member - Heather L - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 07:34

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 07:34
Great to see you back. Look forward to more FNQ stories.
FollowupID: 805785

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:09

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:09
hi guys, nah no lizards have eaten us yet :-)
FollowupID: 805796

Follow Up By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 12:16

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 12:16
A visit sounds like a great excuse for Fab n Sonja n kids to visit.
Cape York...mmmm..... now that might be a stretch for the little io.

Fab-io.
FollowupID: 805855

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:44

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:44
like ya need an excuse eh :-)
Yep come up and say hi, your welcome
FollowupID: 806276

Reply By: Member - blackbird1937 - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 08:05

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 08:05
Hi. We were looking forward to meeting you at Doomadgee when we were went through in September but I saw on Exploroz that you were leaving there to go elsewhere. Enjoy your stay at Old Mapoon. I will be looking forward to reading your posts.
AnswerID: 524193

Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 08:11

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 08:11
Welcome back Joe n Mel. I was only thinking about you yesterday when planning some time in the Gulf after our trip to the Cape. We will plan extra time at Weipa for a trip to your shop now that we know you are there. Please keep EO readers up to date on The Wet. We have a real interest as we plan to head north after the June long weekend.
Cheers, Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 524194

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:13

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:13
Hi Kev, we get info often and up to date about the section from Cairns to Weipa but it is hard to get info about the final section but as time goes by we will get to know people better and be able to help with it .....
It all was open up until last week would you believe and the roads were the best they had ever been and tourists were nil but the rains have started this week so it will be stuffed for a while now ..
Look forward to seeing you guys
FollowupID: 805797

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 09:45

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 09:45
Thank goodness your'e back Joe. This place was not the same without you.
Enjoy Old Mapoon.

AnswerID: 524198

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:16

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:16
hahah ..... probably better eh ....
To be honest I hardly got on to the page, just had so much going on and without the need to travel we did not even look at it, we have settled in a bit now and will dribble some more no doubt :-)
FollowupID: 805798

Reply By: Member - sparra - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 11:00

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 11:00
Good on ya Joe and Mel and kid's,hope your really enjoying it up there. And thanks for the advice on the track from the mitchell at dunbar through to just south of musgrave,it was a top drive through there,they were doing a heap of work on the track when i came through (late august 2013)

all the best,
sparra
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 524209

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:21

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 14:21
hey no worries Sparra, we took a fairly big risk doing it as our car is stock standard 105 and the camper was only a light duty one but it well and truly paid off, it is an awesome drive eh and heaps of work so should be good next year, the crossing blew us away, coulda crossed it on a pushy hahahah
I would recommend anyone that is in Karumba/Normanton and thinking about the Cape trip to GO THAT WAY, it cuts off tons of K's and is a really interesting drive, allow a few days to camp at the river as we regreted that we did not ......
FollowupID: 805799

Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 16:16

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 16:16
I camped at the crossing for 3 days,very relaxing
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

FollowupID: 805811

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:25

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:25
Lucky bugger, we would have loved to, it is an awesome spot eh
FollowupID: 805832

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 20:46

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 20:46
G`day Joe n Mel n Kids,
It`s great to have you back on the forum.
We last met at the Silverton Gathering and I was on my way home from the Cape.
Old Mapoon was one of the very enjoyable places we stayed on that trip and I remember commenting to the store owner at the time on the number of people, both travelers and local, but mainly local, that were buying the insect repellent coils in the cans, several cans at a time. I soon learnt the reason why. The mozzies after sunset were the worst I have ever encounted anywhere.
We were camped near the Boat ramp at Cullen Point and the fishing from the beach was very good.
I congratulated the Elder of the Community , (who issued camping permits), upon the tidiness of the whole town and surrounds, it was the cleanest I had ever visited.

I hope you enjoy your new venture.

All the best,

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 524242

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:31

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:31
yes I clearly remember, what a trip we had then, it is a very nice spot eh, mozzies are still bad but the locals have said it is the worst it has been for years so that is a glimmer of hope, that is one of the many nice spots there, did you get out to Janie Creek, the "Turtle Camp" yet another awesome spot and yes very neat and tidy place and great peoples, thanks mate
FollowupID: 805834

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:45

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:45
Some more pics to remind you of here Scrubby
FollowupID: 805836

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 21:43

Friday, Jan 10, 2014 at 21:43
G'day Joe,

I got the irrits with facebook and deleted the whole lot before Christmas.

Hope everyone stayed out of hospital for Christmas, or doing you all have a regular booking in there now.

Hoo roo,
AnswerID: 524243

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:39

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 00:39
after Daniels accident and then his pneumonia and THEN the missus and only been there 4 months we started to wonder if we had run over a chinaman but all is good fingers crossed, ya know we spent 3 1/2 years in Doomadgee and never needed the hospital or rfds once .......
Cheers Steve (git back on FB it aint that bad)
FollowupID: 805835

Reply By: Willykj - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 21:11

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 21:11
Thanks for the photos Joe & Mel - brought back great memories of a few days spent in Mapoon in 2012. My wife's nephew & wife live there - she is a school teacher.

Say g'day to Lumpy & Alana,
Might visit again sometime...
Willy
AnswerID: 524307

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:46
small world eh, yes "Lumpy" drives the store truck and Alana teaches our kids, I will pass it on, beautiful spot eh
FollowupID: 806277

Reply By: Cruisevessel - Sunday, Jan 12, 2014 at 18:39

Sunday, Jan 12, 2014 at 18:39
G'day Joe.
I might get to meet you guys some time as my wife and I moved up to Weipa 5 months ago from Caloundra. I will drop into the shop next time we go up for a camp and say hello. Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 524387

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:48

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:48
Hi Steve, yes do call in, would be good to catch up
FollowupID: 806278

Reply By: Member - OnYaBike - Tuesday, Jan 14, 2014 at 01:47

Tuesday, Jan 14, 2014 at 01:47
Hi Joe n Mel
I'm sure you'll love Mapoon. Is Paul Wyatt still a mechanic there? He was known as Sherriff at Norths footy club in Cairns before he went up there. I think it was still the eighties.
The first time I went to Mapoon was 1969 not long after the people were removed. We drove down from Bamaga where I was teaching. Only the old Mission house remained but you could see where houses had been by fences, gardens etc. An old fella and his wife were caretaking & cooked us a coconut damper.
I visited a few years ago and was amazed at the beauty of the setting with beachfront houses. Certainly one of the friendliest communities on the Cape.
AnswerID: 524487

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:57

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014 at 21:57
Hi "On Ya Bike" ....Interesting info and photo, we actually had a "festival" at the end of last year to celebrate the "resurrection" of Mapoon and it is destined to become an annual event ...
Yes "Sherriff" is still here, he is retiring next year I think and going travelling, I will pass on the info, you will have to message me your name so I can tell him, top bloke (grumpy old bugger) with a heart of gold, the community holds very high respect for him and he has been here for a long time, nice photo, I will show it to the council here as they are looking for any old photos to assist with the history for the next "festival" and yes it is a very friendly place to be, we are lucky I guess..
Cheers and you have to come up for the next festival, I can let you know of the dates when I find out..
Joe
FollowupID: 806279