clearance needed

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 19:43
ThreadID: 106299 Views:6214 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
can anyone tell me the recommended ground clearance needed to successfully drive on the islands (moreton and frazer in mind at the moment) but other islands too if possible.
I have just purchased a new Isuzu MU-X and want to have it set up for beach and island driving. I'm new to the 4x4 world and would like any advice you can offer.

thank you to all who reply.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 20:24

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 20:24
2"is a fairly standard lift and will do what you want it for, Any higher is usually illegal and gets more expensive. You can also go up a size in tyres.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 526753

Reply By: desray (WA - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 20:25

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 20:25
The Isuzu MU-X as is should have no problems with any beach driving ,, just let the tyres down and go for it.
AnswerID: 526755

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 20:49

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 20:49
Yes, I have to agree.
No need to spend money on a lift if you don't need it.

Sand driving on places like Frazer, doesn't require extra clearance.
Just low tyre pressures (try 18 psi) and enjoy the drive.
Hell, in most situations, driving on the beach is like driving on a firm "highway" except perhaps for the soft area where vehicles disembark and enbark on the Ferries.

PS: If you drive the central track you might be wise to re-inflate to 28 psi or so, as this is a different surface.

I was going to invest in a suspension upgrade including a 2 inch lift prior to my trip to the Kimberley in May/June.
Then I thought of my mate and his earlyish model Pajero, who is the other vehicle in our small "convoy".