Sydney to Darwin via mitchell/matilda/stuart hways -necessary extras?

Submitted: Thursday, May 15, 2014 at 16:37
ThreadID: 107792 Views:2287 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
HI everyone, some weeks ago now, I posted a request for the 'best way' for my husband and I to drive to Darwin with our 15'van. We are not in a hurry and want to avoid as many road trains as possible as I am a novice driver.

I received heaps of great info and encouragement in the planning of this new adventure for us as my husband is not in wonderful health in that he has a pace maker and has lost part of his r foot but with a built up shoe he really managed very well. WE ARE NOT IN A HURRY...and this seemed to be the easiest route for us to take based on the recommendations.

Now it has been suggested to me by friends who also travel that we should have a two way radio installed in our car.
What do you guys think? I realise that phone coverage ( telstra) will be hap hazard in some places...

We are taking extra petrol..I have a great road map

Do we really need a generator? what lights work well off no electricity? how good are the kangaroo repellents?

Anything else? Can anyone recommend good stopovers - van parks or road side stops which towns please?

Thanks again members, I really appreciated your advice last time..cheers, Cecily

Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, May 15, 2014 at 17:45

Thursday, May 15, 2014 at 17:45
Hi Cecily

Without trying to find your now chosen route from a previous thread, I will answer without reference to particular roads.

Two way - virtually essential to keep in touch with trucks, traffic and be aware of hazards ahead. A hand held will keep you in touch with traffic close by. A built in will give greater range and better clarity of sound. It is not a substitute for a phone, nor will a phone keep you in touch with passing traffic and road conditions.