Toyota V Nissan...with a twist..??

Submitted: Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:07
ThreadID: 108017 Views:3428 Replies:10 FollowUps:21
Son takes his 200 to the local dealer for major service..timing belt or whatever..they
want it for a couple of days. They provide a substitute vehicle..a Nissan Patrol CRD..from Hertz..
Son thinks it a bit strange & comments ,after a 30 k drive, that the Patrol is gutless,
rough, noisy & uncomfortable.
He takes it back to dealer at appointed hour to pick up 200, & relays thoughts to dealer. Bloke smiles knowingly, & says ..why do you think we do this ? It sells 200's.
cheers....oldbaz.

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:12

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:12
I like it! hahaha
AnswerID: 533436

Reply By: Ross M - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:37

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:37
Sounds like mechanical sighkology or reverse engineering.

See! dealers are always playing with your mind!
AnswerID: 533440

Reply By: Batt's - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:50

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 09:50
There's a bit of difference in power and engine capacity between the 2 but maybe they need to service the patrol as well some companies usually neglect the loan car because they believe it just gets flogged by every one any way.
AnswerID: 533441

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:02

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:02
Apparently it was Hertz rental vehicle so it would be fair to assume in was in good order and of low kilometres
Some may read into this thread as being a Nissan beating opportunity (which I don't care for) but for me I just see it as a bit of clever marketing on the dealer's part, often they give you a higher spec vehicle than your own to entice you into an upgrade but on this is a different approach
FollowupID: 816803

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2014 at 09:56

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2014 at 09:56
I'm not sure if you meant me or not by saying some may read this as a Nissan bashing thread that's not how I looked at it considering I've owned 6 Toyo's and 2 Trolls over the yrs
FollowupID: 817058

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2014 at 17:22

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2014 at 17:22
No Batts, that was not directed at you, just a general comment.
I too have sampled a number of brands and are not a diehard brand owner either
FollowupID: 817076

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:04

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:04
Ha Ha Baz but todays (vic) car guide sells Y61 GU Patrols diesel better than that - it says that its a super tough vehicle for the outback and that despite its age will not be replaced for a long time and runs well on gas , and that its replacement , the Y62 costs $82k.

I'm sure many buy papers for the accurate assessments but how many misguided statements are contained in the above ? Maybe we should give the Herald sun access to Exploroz posts so that they can get it right next time.

AnswerID: 533443

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:28

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:28
G'day Robin,

I was expecting a little more hahahaha and was thinking that at least it was still going after 500,000 and not in need of an expensive timing belt after 100,000. You know us Nissan guys have to stick together.

FollowupID: 816799

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:38

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:38
My deepest apologies Beatit , but I was reading the paper with my morning cappicino and next minute I was rolling round on the floor laughing so much that I couldn't think straight.

P.S. One 3lt non crd in our gang has actually got 500,000k on it.

The owner puts this down to having a 50kg heavy flywheel fitted earlier in its life and it has so much momentum it outslugs the 4.2 and you can never quickly over rev the engine without warning.

FollowupID: 816801

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:44

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 10:44
Hahahahaha that's more like it! My apologies also to OldBaz but we need a little fun banter occasionally.

That is a significant increase in weight on the flywheel would almost make it impossible to pick up.

Kind regards and enjoy your cappuccino.
FollowupID: 816802

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:21

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:21
No apology needed. It was not my intent to disparage Nissan. I was amused by the logic of the Toyota Dealer. The Patrol in question did appear as new. It is good that Nissan aficianados such as youself &
Robin can see the lighter side of it. Old Jack pedalers such as myself
just dream about getting in to either of them...:)))...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 816806

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:36

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:36
I don't know Baz , I reckon Jacks were underated and you could do a lot worse - but back onto the subject of substitutes , I had this girl once and she said to check out the opposition , but well, I shouldn't tell that story - it didn't end well.

FollowupID: 816808

Reply By: Brian G6 - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 13:26

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 13:26
Hi Oldbaz

FYI Nissan 118kw 380nm ( manual ) 354nm ( auto )

Toyota 200 series 195kw 650nm

With 65% more power and around 70 - 80 % more Torque no doubt Cruiser with twin Turbo V8 makes Patrol feel gutless.

Difficult to compare apples and oranges

Happy Days

Brian06

AnswerID: 533456

Follow Up By: ian.g - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:29

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:29
$56,000 for a Nissan $90,000 for the Toyota also must make some difference to the equation. I would expect there to be some differences.
FollowupID: 816826

Follow Up By: Brian G6 - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:44

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:44
Correct but what will tow 2.8 tonne at 95ks all day long?

Brian06
FollowupID: 816829

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:59

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:59
I think your still comparing apples to apples..... just a different variety.

I would say comparing a Hyundai Getz to a Nissan Patrol would be like comparing oranges to apples.
FollowupID: 816830

Follow Up By: Slow one - Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 05:48

Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 05:48
You can compare the Getz and Patrol. The Getz has a better engine. LOL.
FollowupID: 816862

Follow Up By: Kyle H - Sunday, Jun 01, 2014 at 11:43

Sunday, Jun 01, 2014 at 11:43
Its amazing how Landcruiser prices inflate through debate. You can drive away in a GX 200series for less then $75K.
Be blowed if I can find a drive away Y61 for less than $60K.
FollowupID: 816927

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:56

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:56
As some have mentioned above RE power difference, it"s more then just power.

I drive many modern vehicles including 4 wheel drives when picking them up or delivering back to the customer and until you have owned a 200 series you don't relise how bad the others are for handling, noise and user ergonomics and dynamics; and power of course.

Even working on them there is a huge difference between build qualities and how things are done, the old Patrol is at the bottom of the list mostly due to it"s age.

Sure some may say the Toyota is a rip off and it may be to a certain extent..... but you also have to ask why the others a supplying less for an over inflated price..... so do you get ripped off on quality or do you get ripped off for a vehicle with lower then industry accepted standards.

AnswerID: 533470

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:56

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 16:56
Why would a dealer rent a Hertz vehicle to use as a loan car?
It would be a hell of a lot more economical for them to buy a second hand one wholesale & then sell it retail later.
Also if the 200 series is so much better you would think that they would be trading in Patrols one after the other, 20 years in the retail motor industry makes me think troll!

AnswerID: 533471

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 17:51

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 17:51
Agreed, and 200's don't need timing belts at 100K.

AND why would a dealer spend money hiring a Patrol to convince someone who already owns a 200 to buy one?

FollowupID: 816838

Follow Up By: skulldug - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 20:46

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 20:46
The dealer probably hired a Datsun because all of his 200s were in the workshop getting their oil consumption sorted.
FollowupID: 816849

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 05:30

Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 05:30
Ahh yes that old chestnut. That might have been very funny in 2009.

Goes to show you know very little about 200's other than what you read on forums skull.

Yeah I know. Your wife's boyfriend has a brother that has a mate that has one that uses lots of oil. Must be true
FollowupID: 816861

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 20:56

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 20:56
Actually talking to an old acquaintance today who came into my work to ask about caravan mirrors. I offered to lend him mine to try and when I walked out to look at his 4 year old Range Rover it had turned into a brand newie. Whaaat, I enquired. The story was, he took the old one to Sydney for a service, they offered him a deal to trade on a new one.

No thanks he said. OK sir, we only have this new demo for a loan car so you can take it while yours is serviced. He said by the time he and his wife had driven 5k he decided to go back and do the trade in deal. More torque, much less weight, 8 speed auto, 6l/100k around town and drove like nothing he had experienced so he was hooked.

Only problem now is extended mirrors for towing won't fit. I told him to ask the dealer.

Cheers, Bob
AnswerID: 533483

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, May 30, 2014 at 23:18

Friday, May 30, 2014 at 23:18
Ha ha....after owning a Rover for 4 yrs he actually backed up and bought another one ?????
FollowupID: 816857

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 00:23

Saturday, May 31, 2014 at 00:23
Yep, someone who knows a good thing when he sees it, rather than believing all the Toyota propaganda one gets on some of these posts by one eyed Toyota owners.
You don't know how bad the Toyota is till you've driven a landrover product.

Disco.
FollowupID: 816859

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Jun 01, 2014 at 15:15

Sunday, Jun 01, 2014 at 15:15
I've had a Land Rover for 6 years and would definately buy another one.
FollowupID: 816941

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jun 01, 2014 at 19:38

Sunday, Jun 01, 2014 at 19:38
Yep I have owned three in the past and would not hesitate to buy another one
FollowupID: 816961

Reply By: Penchy - Monday, Jun 02, 2014 at 09:05

Monday, Jun 02, 2014 at 09:05
Let me get this straight, your son has bought a 200 already, dealer says giving him a Patrol loaner sells 200s. How may 200s does your son plan on buying? And as others have pointed out, apples need to be compared with apples. Put the new V8 Patrol against the 200 and see if the results are the same.
I am not a Patrol die hard, just like to see even playing fields.
AnswerID: 533591

Follow Up By: mack c - Saturday, Jun 07, 2014 at 15:38

Saturday, Jun 07, 2014 at 15:38
I am not a Patrol die hard, just like to see even playing fields.

Even.

You're kidding.
The Toyota is so far behind b4 you even start there's no comparison.

I've owned Toyota, Nothing since the 60 for one reason. They didn't make a serious 4wd after thatmodel.

GQ in Diesel and 3 ltr Petrol and last 12+ yrs, a 3 ltr Patrol wagon.
Towing a 6.5mtr Roadstar
TOTAL maint costs. (Not counting what I wanted to put on there.
is $470 for a kley ring sensor and 2 belt tensioners. First was a faulty fit and failed.

As a tug you won't fault them.
Toyota's. I've test driven and have a coupla (not too many) mates with later model Tojo's.
Soggy rolling uncomfortable seated heaps of s---t.
Only one they could anywhere near call a 4wd is the 70 )troopy) series. The others roll all over the road and arse saga as soon as you put more than a tool box on there.
CV joints. drive shafts. Gearboxes. Don't ask.
Only engine worth anything is the late 100 ser. 4 valve model.

A 4wd the later ones are NOT. Unless you replace just about everything under the chassis.
Patrols. Let the tyres down and go. Unless you rock climbing. then you weld up the spring cups.
That's it.

Side by side. Off the shelf with NO lockers sneaked in there. They are different beasts.
One a 4wd. t'other a wanna be. but didn't make it. and the wannabe starts with a T.

Yea. I like Nissan. Proven better as 4wd's that the other.
But not one eyed. I now have a D'Max. which again.
Is a 10 times better than any Toyota. Ute.

Proven everywhere. over a lot of yrs now.

Have fun
FollowupID: 817425

Reply By: bigcol - Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 at 10:17

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 at 10:17
So they give the Patrol to people that have already bought a 200 series so they can sell a 200 series.
Sounds like they're preaching to the followers.

Doesn't make any sense why you'd spend thousands a week hiring a vehicle when they could give you one off the lot.
AnswerID: 534904