Engel fridge V Waeco Fridge

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 12:31
ThreadID: 108536 Views:7850 Replies:22 FollowUps:25
I had Engel fridges for 30 years and know they are the best
.Now I am looking for a fridge for my son birthday now the Engel is $1349 BCF and the Waeco is $ 949 BCF. Do I give the Waeco a go
Comments from Waeco Owners would be helpful

Reply By: The Bantam - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:00

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:00
well the statemant that Engel is best is a bit over simplistic.

You buy an engel because you want the engel motor and the engel build......engel make the motor and make the fridge...start to finish end to end.

There are some disadvantges with the engel...the largest is that the engel can not produce the temperature gradient that the conventional fridge motors can....

now Waeco, buy their motors from someone else....so you are buying a motor and some relativly simple electronics in a box that waeco build.

There are other fridge manufacturers who use the same motor as engel or a lower cost copy of that motor.

So if you are thinking about a cheaper fridge other than an Engel.....look at what other fridges are on the market...some of those fridge makes build a far better box than waeco.

THEN you have to consider are you comparing apples with apples.....both engel and waeco are offering down market fridges from their traditional units.

If you are comparing a metal bodied Engel with a plastic bodied Waeco of the same capacity......that is not an even deal...you need to compare the plastic bodied engel and then, possibly not with the cheapest waeco.

OH and yeah baby you need to look at other places than BCF...they don't offer full range of anything and they most certainly are not always the best price or deal.

The fridge market has changed a hell of a lot in the last 5 years.....there is a lot of choice out there.

AnswerID: 535187

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:03

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:03
Why not buy an Engel Eclipse?

AnswerID: 535188

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:16

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:16
Why don't you get a 3 way?
My Dometic has had a a couple of problems true, but it is more flexible having access to gas.

I don't need solar accessories and can stay in most camps for as long or longer than the 12v-240v restricted owners. The 240v is not a limiting factor, I know, but the gas is a boon.

bill
Bill B

FollowupID: 819055

Follow Up By: Polaris - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 15:36

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 15:36
We have had an array of different fridges mounted in different 4x4's over the years - Engel, Waeco and Evakool, all compressor fridges. Previously also used Chescold and Finch 3 way fridges.

There is no comparison when it comes to efficient in vehicle use.

3 way fridges work best when time is taken to level the fridge otherwise performance will be poor.

Our present in vehicle fridge is an ARB in the Patrol wagon - permanently mounted on an ARB slide.
A day at the shops usually we turn it on when we leave the vehicle - by the time we have done the shopping it is usually down below 0°C. In the same circumstance a 3 way would have only dropped a couple of degrees - IF the vehicle battery was up to it! Clearly wouldn't be running in vehicle on gas.
FollowupID: 819060

Follow Up By: Polaris - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 15:38

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 15:38
Further to my previous post - the Evakool is by far the best performer due to increased insulation. Physical size was the limitation with the Patrol.
FollowupID: 819061

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:51

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 13:51
As a previous Waeco owner - I had two for 5 years. I would not recommend to buy them.

This is two Waeco fridges that came with my camper. I go off road in very rough conditions for weeks on end.

I have now replaced them with two engels. Yes the Engel fridge cost more but they work.

AnswerID: 535189

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:59

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:59
I've had a CF40 for almost as long as they've been around in this country (15 years?), hasn't missed a beat (yet). When I bought mine they were far cheaper and outperformed the Engel.
FollowupID: 819091

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:07

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:07
My mate has a Engel 60L Fridge/freezer purchased new, I have a Waeco 60L fridge only or freezer only, purchased 2nd hand @ 3 years old, both units haven't let either of us down in the past 2 years.

Form what I heard about the Waeco's................the older fridges motor are German made and are fantastic. The last 24 months, Waeco now have the same motor produced in China and they have their problems.

Waeco is supposedly uses less power to run than the Engel.

AnswerID: 535191

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:13

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:13
Hi Speedy

You mention $1349 for an Engel at BFC....

First question is what model is it???

Why do most city people think that the big major stores always have the best fridge prices.?

In our country store in South Australia, we still have stock of the old model, analogue MT45FP , with transit bag for $1179, the new model Digital control MT45FP Digital, with transit bag for $1249 and the new combi 40 litre for $1299 with transit bag, and the Eclipse for $699

Most smaller store are just as, if not better priced that the big boys.

Look around for better prices, its your money.

AnswerID: 535192

Reply By: Member - kev.h - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:24

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:24
I have both and the Engel wins hands down
Kev
AnswerID: 535195

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:27

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:27
I have one of each and neither has decent insulation. I believe ice chest manufacturers should make fridges as they seem to be able to keep ice as ice. fridges can't and ice in a fridge quickly disappears, far faster than in an ice box designed for the purpose.
All rely on the proprietary insulated cover to slow the passage of cool outward or is it hot inward?
As Bantam mentioned, the Waeco will cool quicker and freeze faster than an Engel if that is what you require, but will use more power usually.
They are over priced for what they are and agree BCF ie, Supercheap Fishing Supplies,
isn't the best place to ever get a "deal"

In OZ we pay more and for equivalent Ozzie $$$'s, you can buy a 40L and a 60 L Engel in South Africa for $300 and $500 cheaper than the Aussie fridges, although the boxes and power leads/packaging is the same as the Australian models. Probably shipped from Australia too, not sure there.

Engels Tick Tick Tick as they operate and don't have a motor, only a pump operated by a switched solenoid. An reciprocating action.
Weaco have a motor to run a reciprocating piston via a crankshaft, and is often quieter than the Engel units.

In hotter climates, ie, ambient temp both will run almost full time or full time if asked to run as a freezer unless provided with additional heavy insulation. over and above the said BAG/Cover.
AnswerID: 535196

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 15:01

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 15:01
there are a couple of ice box manufacturers that make fridges.

They look UGly, but they perform better.....those that I know of use the same motor and more or less the same fridge system as Waeco..but handily spank botyhe waeco and engel in climate chamber performance tests...because the box is better.

If it isn't an engel...it comes down to the box the baught in fridge system is bolted into.

always judge a fridge .....any fridge.....by the quality of the cabinet...if they can be botherd making a decent cabinet that will not waste their time short cutting the rest.

FollowupID: 819058

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 18:02

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 18:02
There is avery good reason why ice stays as ice in an ice box compared with ice in a fridge........... Have you ever filled a compressor fridge up with ice....... No I didn't think so as there is no point in it but if you did you would find they would perform much the same.

It's called heat absorption, the more ice the greater the heat absorption capacity and rate until the ice becomes saturated with heat..... Less ice becomes saturated at a faster rate and higher temperature.

Same as why a fridge or freezer works more efficiently when full compared with only being half full.
FollowupID: 819069

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:02

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:02
There is simply no argument that most fridges are poorly insulated.

good ice boxes depend on having good insulation.

with a fridge it will work fairly well, even if the insulation is poor.

that does not mean that fridge is efficient.

there are a few...a few...fridges that are very well insulated.....very much like good ice boxes.

and that shows in their efficiency and their ability to hold temperature.

dead fridges make poor ice boxes.

FollowupID: 819085

Follow Up By: Honky - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:35

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:35
Evacool are ice boxes with compressors attached. They are renown for keeping ice for up to 7 days as and esky only. You could use them as an esky if the motor stopped.

Honky
FollowupID: 819089

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:57

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 14:57
I would not necessarily base the experience you have with your 30 yo Engel with the current product they offer
I was told by an independent authorised repairer that those old ones were brilliant but he repairs just as many of the later years ones as the other brands.
I have three mates that have had Engels fail on them just like the other brands can do

Lots of choices these days so would be looking at value for money and longest warranty as key points.
Just like the domestic fridges you buy these days, they are not made to last forever like the old school ones did.
AnswerID: 535197

Reply By: Idler Chris - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 16:06

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 16:06
Had both. Like the Waeco as is lighter and side opening lid. The engel failed after 3 years and too dear to repair. Waeco has been going for 5 years no problems.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 535200

Reply By: Member - Brian - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 16:13

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 16:13
Just my 2 bob's worth Speedy , have owned an Engel for a good few years now , came in a deal with a s/hand camper trailer , its aprox 40 L , but watch your wallet when you need a part , an arm and a leg . Fuse in Tamworth cost from memory $11 !! And power cord to 240 outlet aprox 2 metres was $65 in Port Augusta .
But still great little fridge
AnswerID: 535201

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 16:29

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 16:29
240 volt lead is just a computer or electric kettle lead.
FollowupID: 819064

Follow Up By: Member - Brian - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 10:17

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 10:17
Good morning Shaker , the lead i bought was especially for my Engel model dont think it will fit a kettle !
FollowupID: 819110

Follow Up By: Member - Brian - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 10:26

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 10:26
Shaker , sorry old mate , a typo error !!!! It was the 12 volt chord !
FollowupID: 819112

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 16:49

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 16:49
Yes, the 12 volt lead is specific for the Engel, probably expensive because every fridge is supplied with one & they wouldn't sell many replacements.

FollowupID: 819137

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 17:55

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 17:55
Here is the start of another very long thread........... All fridges are good until they stop working and when they do stop working they become a bad fridge.

Toyota vs Nissan...... GME vs Icom vs Uniden..........

AnswerID: 535209

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 19:46

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 19:46
I must admit it took me by surprise, thought this old chestnut had been out to bed years ago.

FollowupID: 819082

Follow Up By: Member - Brian - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:00

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:00
And throw in Trailblazer !!
FollowupID: 819084

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 08:47

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 08:47
Yes the old 4x4 debates...... 4x4ers are a funny bunch, everything they own is the best and everything someone else owns is inferior. LOL

4x4 people are by far the hardest to deal with in a retail world as they know everything.

FollowupID: 819106

Follow Up By: Scooter13 - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 14:44

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 14:44
when I saw the OP - my first thought was :

1. dig trench
2. put on steel helmet
3. incoming !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 819129

Reply By: Member - Jim B8 - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 18:42

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 18:42
Speedy
Ha ha hope you are ready for a long debate here? Best fridge is like Holden V's ford, Nissan v's Toyota, west coast vs Freo. I think you started something?

Me, I'm a stirrer, and want to say that you are wrong on both counts. I own 2 x 60 lt Engels, one purchased in Perth in 1981, and one in Karratha in 2011, both still running, but I am not going to lean their way, I also own an 80 lt National Luna, and a 125 National Luna, and there is no comparison, the Nat Luna wins for me. (Said I was a stirrer ha ha)
Why,- the box, and the power usage. I use solar mainly, and the NL units use far less power .Far less.
The engels are noisy all night, cutting in and out, the NL are so quiet. And look why, insulation is more than double the thickness. And yes, Inverter drive to the compressor, so no clunk - clunk, better power usage.
There is nothing worse on a forum than a stirrer, it is said.

And Waeco, I cant really comment as I have never had one.
But with certainty, my next fridge is a NL, expensive or not - because I use solar

Jim
AnswerID: 535214

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:15

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:15
Engels of old were a bit heavy on power usage but any Engel manufactured during the last 5 years or so has much improved efficiency. Same cabinet.

Waeco used to be good.
FollowupID: 819086

Follow Up By: Dion - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 22:11

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 22:11
Horses for courses though.
Having looked at the NL and Evacool and thought, crikey there is a lot of insulation there, so for the same footprint, less capacity in the cabinet than say an Engel. However if power supply is not a problem, then a fridge with less insulation will suffice. But I don't disagree with your reasoning Jim.
FollowupID: 819093

Follow Up By: Scooter13 - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 14:53

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 14:53
Jim, I've been eying off a NL 50 ltr Fridge/Freezer combo for a while - the $1800 asking price is a bit of a show stopper.
FollowupID: 819131

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 16:03

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 16:03
the best fridge is always the one with the most beer in it
FollowupID: 819136

Reply By: Honky - Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:31

Sunday, Jun 29, 2014 at 21:31
love these type of threads.
I have four fridges and there coldest is the evacool in the camper.
The other two are engels and another was a scorpion. As they have not let me down they are the best fridges I have ever owned.
the 60 litre fridge was the scorpion that I bought from repco and the only problem is the lid keeps coming off and the cover for the switches is only stick on and lost that also. Still works after 6 years.
Ok now for the best 4wd and the 12 volt threads.

Honky
AnswerID: 535230

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 08:41

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 08:41
How can it be the coldest, isn't that dependent on the setting?
FollowupID: 819104

Reply By: Tony H15 - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 11:52

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 11:52
I bought a fridge for use in my camper trailer in the late 90s, it was branded Supacool (Supercool?) identical to the now Evacool brand, except for the motor. I believe Evacool bought out Supacool a number of years ago but utilized a different motor. I bought the Supacool because (on paper) it supposedly used the least amount of energy; and, because it was essentially an esky with a fridge motor attached so should hold temperatures better than the others, right? Well as it turned out wrong on both counts. As it turned out the Supacool used so much power it would destroy a 100AH battery if left on overnight and quickly lost it's esky functionality once the fridge was turned off ( to save destroying batteries). It also had to be defrosted every 3-4 days and spent more time in the shop being repaired than it did in my camper. I have heard the Evacools are superior in everyway to the old Supacools but I never found the esky with a fridge motor attached to be of any value: my current Waeco and Engel stay colder far longer with the motor turned off than the Supacool ever did.
AnswerID: 535259

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 13:48

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 13:48
Speedy, very brave raising this topic

I have one of each, I reckon theres 2/3rds of 5/8th of sod all difference.
I like the steel case of the engel but its noisier, I sleep in the ute so I notice the noise difference.

AnswerID: 535265

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 16:58

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 16:58
That is a notable consideration. I have noticed that the Engels are noisier than the traditional compressor type fridges which depending on where you mount it may be a negative point.
The other important consideration is physical size and shape and which way the lid opens
FollowupID: 819138

Reply By: Slow one - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 18:19

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 18:19
speedy,
if you have the $'s and the space I can really recommend on of these fridges. Mine has been through hell in the last 20 years and still looks looks and performs like new if I give it clean with a pot scourer.

Trailblaza Fridge
AnswerID: 535270

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 19:28

Monday, Jun 30, 2014 at 19:28
Nothing wrong with either, but they have completely different dimensions.......see what dimension suits better and if that doesn't matter go with price.

AnswerID: 535273

Reply By: mchapo - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2014 at 11:02

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2014 at 11:02
Waeco: Swedish for warm beer.
AnswerID: 535286

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2014 at 11:13

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2014 at 11:13
Just shows how much I know!
I always thought it meant, thawed meat in the middle of a desert!

FollowupID: 819161

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 12:43

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 12:43
This may influence your decision, from tomorrow BCF has the Engel Eclipse for $799- with a free transit cover.

AnswerID: 535337

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 14:41

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 14:41
Rays Outdoors (same company) has the Engel Eclipse for $699 - without the transit cover.
I can't see how a transit cover with its flimsy insulation can make two hoots of difference (unless it's just there to keep the sun off).
FollowupID: 819213

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 16:50

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 16:50
They do a bit especially protect the fridges resale (scratches. Dings etc)
FollowupID: 819215

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014 at 16:48
Bought an ex hire camper.
Thought it was strange they didnt put a cheap fridge in.... until I realised it was used as a step to get into the rooftop. .. engal is ex hire 10 years old or more.. and used as a step
Nuff said
AnswerID: 535341

Reply By: Lindie G - Thursday, Jul 03, 2014 at 10:37

Thursday, Jul 03, 2014 at 10:37
Bought a waeco two weeks ago. Was faulty out the box and took it back to Anaconda. Then bought an evakool fridgemate 55l. What a brilliant brilliant huge fridge this is!! Runs the same length of time off my second battery than the 50l Waeco (4 days off 100ah batt with still 40% batt power left in cold weather though).
AnswerID: 535371

Reply By: Mike R6 - Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 21:52

Monday, Jul 07, 2014 at 21:52
have owned both, Engels and Waecos, and found them both equally good. my favourite would be the cf40, found it reliable and very good value for money.
AnswerID: 535628