Who hates Truckies and Bogans who hate grey nomads with big caravans?

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 14:22
ThreadID: 108675 Views:4489 Replies:14 FollowUps:19
Just spent a few weeks away in our 23 foot van, several other friends joined us in their rigs also. When traveling in convoy like this we generally like to bunch up nice and tight and sit around 80kph - seems a good relaxing speed to sit on – we aren’t in any hurry. Our convoy must look pretty impressive I reckon, half a dozen Landcruisers towing 23’ vans nose to tail along the highway, all the Truckies and Bogans toot their horns in approval.

I swear every Bogan and Trucky in Australia was intent on joining our convoy, with them taking up the rear of the convoy it must have stretched for miles, I do think they spoil the look of our convoy though: all those grotty trucks and grubby Bogan cars tagging along behind our gleaming white convoy. So, every time we came to a passing lane we would speed up to 100+ and leave them behind. By the time we got to the end of the passing lane they were far enough behind for us to slow to 80 kph again – so inconsiderate these Bogans and Truckies.

Every so often our convoy would pull into one of those truck rest areas for a cuppa; normal rest areas aren’t long enough for our convoy and we seem to fill the truck rest areas quite nicely. I swear every Trucky going past would slow down and blast his horn – so inconsiderate – don’t they know we’re trying to have a natter.

Most of the diners weren’t much chop: they either didn’t stock gluten free foods or didn’t have a separate toaster for them so we don’t bother, we just park out the front in the truck bay and make our own and have another leisurely natter. Aren’t those truck horns loud though, Truckies are forever blasting the things as they slowly drive past – so inconsiderate.

I don’t like giving our custom to the roadhouses, the whinging from all the Truckies and Bogans about cold pies, fresh lamingtons and warm coke drives us mad. Don’t know why they don’t have cappuccinos machines and sandwich makers in their trucks, makes for a more comfortable and leisurely drive. Sometimes the Truckies and Bogans are so thick at the counter, you can’t get anywhere near it to buy half a litre of milk for the cappuccino makers. We try and beat the Truckies and Bogans to all the condiments before they use them on their meals - you know stocks for the van – very inconsiderate these Truckies and Bogans.

Funnily enough, most Bogans and Truckies don’t seem to be in any sort of hurry; well not the ones we see tagging on to the end of our convoy anyway. Why are they always blasting those dam horns though, they are so loud, sometimes they wake us from our mid day naps in the truck stops – quite inconsiderate.

I’ve just realized how many times I’ve used the term ‘inconsiderate’, seems to be a well deserved term for all these Bogans and Truckies.
Back Expand Un-Read 7 Moderator

Reply By: scruffy - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 14:34

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 14:34
Ha ha ha, what a great laugh. Good way to put it to those who do this. Lets hope those who need to read this and understand. Oh my, still laughing. Bob
AnswerID: 535797

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 15:02

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 15:02
You inconsiderate P---, but I like it he says LMFAO
AnswerID: 535799

Reply By: Member - Matt M - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 15:02

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 15:02
Well done. Very funny.
AnswerID: 535800

Reply By: SDG - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 17:11

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 17:11
Funnily enough, many of the grey nomads I have seen doing above, are retired Truckies
AnswerID: 535806

Reply By: Slow one - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 17:29

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 17:29
Tony
Good to see you have a behemoth gin palace, can I drop in an have a gin or two. I also enjoy a good red and some 10 year old rum, so if you could make sure the bar in the van is well stocked I will tag along behind.

One thing though, I find 80 a little fast so could you drop your speed to say 70 for me. I find the van sways all over the road much better at this speed.

By the way Tony never ever move over for those annoying things with wig wag lights and wide load signs, they are just a nuisance and cause you to get dust on the van.

AnswerID: 535809

Reply By: olcoolone - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 17:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 17:47
What about the other people like me who hate truckies, bogans, caravaners, drivers aged between 16-24, drivers aged between 25-35, drivers aged between 36-49, drivers aged between 49-65, drivers aged between 65-84, drivers aged over 85, funeral processions, garbage trucks, taxis....... and all the other who don't fall into the above categories who use a road, footpath, track, carpark or anything that has dirt under it.
AnswerID: 535814

Follow Up By: doug v - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 18:06

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 18:06
yeh just love it see if the fish are biting. just vgot home from town for a few farm parts in my líl Suzuki soft top, couldn't do more than 80kph flat strap against a howling headwind (not towing ) rocking all over the road in the viscous gusts, backed off to 75kph make it easeier on the motor and safer. a very busy hwy in our area at that time with lots of miners and travellors going to and fro, held no one up anybody who wanted to pass did when they could, no one stressed out. everyone to his own speed (legally) and whatever he wishes to tow , I say.
FollowupID: 819742

Follow Up By: Slow one - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 18:08

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 18:08
Listen mate,
I hate people who hate people. You must be from SA as you don't hate enough people. Me I am from Qld, so I hate everyone from another state and then some 2 times.
FollowupID: 819743

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 20:29

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 20:29
When it comes to hate, I don't limit myself to states, I've lived in:
WA 25 yrs,
+ QLD 3 Yrs,
+ NSW 6 yrs,
+ QLD again 6 years,
+ NT 3 yrs,
+ Malaysia 3 yrs,
+ SA 3 yrs,
+ NT again 2 yrs,
+ WA again 6 yrs,
+ QLD again 4 yrs, and
+ SA again 4 yrs.
= 156 years (I think. I have two broken fingers at the moment so it's difficult to calculate).

Anyway, I'm not quite sure where I'm from but I hate all, regardless of creed, colour, culture, state, religion or length of caravan with equal zeal.

I've also driven in Vic, Tas, ACT, NZ, Thailand, Singapore, the good ol US of A and Hawaii.

So don't write me off, I'm supremely qualified to hate absolutely everyone; actually, just the two years in Malaysia alone qualifies me to hate anyone, anywhere, anytime for any reason.

Now if you take into account having owned, driven and ridden the following:
XM Falcon,
XW Falcon,
250CI Cortina
2 Geminis,
Hilux 2L petrol,
Liteace van,
Toyota Blizard 2 litre diesel,
Hilux 2.4 Diesel,
Hilux 2.8 diesel,
Volvo 240,
Lancer,
Leone,
Brumby,
Grand Vitara,
Hilux 3 litre diesel,
Lancer wagon,
Rodeo 3.2 petrol,
Courier 2.5 diesel,
I30 diesel,
Cruize diesel,
ASX diesel,
AJS 350,
Velocette 350,
BSA Bantam,
BSA Lightening,
Triumph Bonneville (2),
Suzuki 750,
Honda 750,
Peewee 50,
Honda 50 (2),
Yamaha 90 (3),
Suzuki 250,
Honda 250, and
Montessa 250,
a Moto Guzzi,
several two stroke Victas, and
one clothes trolly with wobbly wheels,

I'm also well qualified to have serious concerns with regard to myself. Now, if you take into account I actually bought a Toyota Blizzard, three Hondas and several Victas; well, what can I say - I am top of my list - despicable.
FollowupID: 819773

Follow Up By: BarryR1 - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 21:22

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 21:22
That's a long time in prison Tony!
;-)
FollowupID: 819788

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 21:34

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 21:34
Geez Tony...... Your a walking talking travel agency and second hand car yard who make house wives jealous!....... Two Victa's and a cloths trolley with wobbly wheels.

FollowupID: 819790

Follow Up By: Penchy - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:06

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:06
I read on another from from a much wiser and humble old bloke than any one here I have seen, who is a retired pilot say, "there are 2 types of pilots, ones who have flown 20000 hrs, and others who have flown one hour 20000 times". Profess all you like what a qualified (?) driver you are Tony, it really doesn't mean bleep because its all unproven.
FollowupID: 819816

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:35

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:35
Someone forgot their funny pills???????
FollowupID: 819817

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:59

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 09:59
hahaha looks like they did Olcoolone .. :-)
I'd also hazard a guess that old pilot might be a bit full of his self importance ..lol

Al
FollowupID: 819819

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 18:00

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 18:00
Well Penchy, I'm stunned: you've left me with my fingers hovering over the keyboard wondering how to answer that. I've come to the conclusion there is no answer, other to than to beg your forgiveness for my attempt at humour - that would please me greatly!
FollowupID: 819852

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 18:24

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 18:24
"there are 2 types of pilots, ones who have flown 20000 hrs, and others who have flown one hour 20000 times"

I'd rather fly with a lucky pilot than a good one :-)

FollowupID: 819855

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 20:34

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 20:34
hey Tone, impressive list of vehicles there mate, but you ain't driven anything until you've driven a Landrover or a Coles shopping trolley. The latter is a bit environmentally unfriendly - doesn't even lubricate the blacktop.

;)
FollowupID: 819867

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 22:01

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 22:01
I drove a few 110s in cam, I was expecting a truck like drive but they were quite good actually. I think my favourite would have to be the old L/cruisers/troopies, utes from the early 70s. The first I drove was a 3 speed petrol, a surprisingly adept vehicle, tough as nails go anywhere - probably why the stations are still awash with them.
FollowupID: 819875

Follow Up By: Penchy - Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 09:54

Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 09:54
humour? Perhaps you can highlight where the "funny" bits are as I'm thinking you old people have a sense of humour only old people understand.
FollowupID: 819905

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 10:46

Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 10:46
Hate to tell you I'm not that old and I found it funny!

Penchy you remind me of a customer I had when I first started working back in the mid 80's......... At 7.30am one morning I said to him "good morning Mr Whatshisname" and he replied "what's so bloody good about this morning".

Now I just laugh at grumpy old men and hope I don't get that way later in life.
FollowupID: 819916

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 11:42

Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 11:42
Well Penchy again I am stunned: In my search for humour I obviously failed you terribly, so again I must humbly beg your forgiveness. But all is not lost: you have risen to the challenge and supplied that which I was searching for - thank you...

Now if I may ask a question of you: Where did I profess what a qualified driver I was? I do remember professing to be supremely qualified to 'hate' anyone, anytime, anywhere, for any reason and rest assured I do take that qualification seriously - I'm sure it will please you to know that I am putting practice to that qualification as we speak.

But I digress, despite going through my posts several times, I just can't find anything related to me professing what a qualified driver I am. I seek enlightenment Penchy - perhaps you can assist?

Profess all you like what a qualified (?) driver you are Tony
FollowupID: 819925

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 18:34

Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 18:34
Don't worry Tony, he's a mind reader as well.... he know what you were thinking subconsciously.
FollowupID: 819969

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 19:41

Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 19:41
Ahhh, that being the case he'd know how good looking I am then? I enjoy banter like that - what am I saying, as if anyone on exploreoz wouldn't know that already...
FollowupID: 819972

Reply By: gerard m2 - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 18:59

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 18:59
Greatest post ever also them funniest. It would be even funnier if wasn't so true.
AnswerID: 535821

Reply By: Member - Russler - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 19:47

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 19:47
LMFAO :D
Sorry, need 10 chars
AnswerID: 535826

Reply By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 19:51

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 19:51
Someone has too much time on their hands …….. thank goodness :-). Well written.
AnswerID: 535827

Reply By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 20:10

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 20:10
Love it. Good laugh to have at the end of a long day. . :)
AnswerID: 535829

Reply By: Nomad Navara - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 20:35

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 20:35
As an ex Truckie of about 50 years ( yes a grey nomad ) we, wife and I are leaving Victoria for the so called warmth of the Northern States . Fair warning to all, we have a 20 ft van towed b y a 79 series Land Cruiser, however it appears that if we travel at 75 to 80 kmh instead of 100 to 110 (or more) we will save money. I must thank you for all this great information because at the end of our many months away we may be able to afford more liquor. Thank you all in advance for your great help.
AnswerID: 535830

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 05:52

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 05:52
And don't forget to get stuck into that liquor whilst driving. Forget about safety...you,ll have a bloody great larf at the silly law abiding motorists. The more you drink whilst driving along the sillier people speeds and behaviours will seem. Tailgating is good for an instant fix. Driving slowly will have you in hysterics as motorists honk and give you a two finger salute. Enjoy......
FollowupID: 819812

Reply By: ModSquad - Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 22:48

Thursday, Jul 10, 2014 at 22:48
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Phriday phunnie perhaps... bleep it's Phursday. Lucky for you it's Phriday somewhere in the universe.

The squad.

P.S. You've got a cappuccino maker in there?????
Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 535844

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 11:51

Saturday, Jul 12, 2014 at 11:51
No capuccino maker - sorry. I've actually got a 12' Aliner camper, but for the stories sake I stretched it - just a little. Don't tell Penchy though - he may think I'm trying to elicit humour again!
FollowupID: 819928

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 18:08

Friday, Jul 11, 2014 at 18:08
Speaking of older drivers reminds me of an answer I heard to the question of how you would like to die. The answer was peacefully in my sleep just like my grandfather, not screaming in terror like his passengers.... :-)
AnswerID: 535909

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Jul 14, 2014 at 17:32

Monday, Jul 14, 2014 at 17:32
Tony

Very well put and I hope a few people get the point.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 536053