Lonely Campers

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:12
ThreadID: 108760 Views:3591 Replies:17 FollowUps:26
Just a quick question that I have been thinking about lately…….can someone give me a clue as to why when I find a place to pull up to camp for a night or two…. within a short time there will be someone come and set up their camp within 10 m of us even though the camp area may be 50 acres or more …… are they lonely or scared to camp by themselves.
This also happens in caravan parks …if you’re the only one there the next van will pull up right next to you when they had a choice to park well away …. I’m talking about small country parks that has a caretaker come around to collect fees

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:24

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:24
Your'e just so likeable Jebs. lol

AnswerID: 536116

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 09:10

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 09:10
Jebs is a scantily clad Swedish backpacker me thinks
FollowupID: 820181

Follow Up By: John and Regina M - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 19:51

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 19:51
Male or female.
Or don't u mind alby?
FollowupID: 820226

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:12

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:12
Use you imagination Jebs can be whatever you would like him/ her to be hahahaha
FollowupID: 820230

Reply By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:26

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:26
Very irritating anywhere. When someone arrives and parks so close that I can touch their van and mine I have been known to be less than polite...... and in extreme circumstances have been known to suggest they may like to consider sex and travel.

AnswerID: 536117

Follow Up By: MactrolPod - Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 09:44

Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 09:44
A mate Al was at Windjana Gorge, the only ones there.
This bloke pulls in and parks his caravan across the front of Al's camper trailer, close enough that wont be able to hitch up in the morning!
When asked "what the whatsee" did he think he was doing the bloke got all funny, Al tells the yarn he used strong language to point out there is acres of suitable sites and he should go and set up on a another bit of it!
He laughs about it now, but couldn't understand it then.
It's a funny story to listen to him tell it.
FollowupID: 820260

Reply By: snow - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:36

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:36
Yep you're not on your pat malone there West J as had that happen many times. I have gone to fairly quiet beaches, walked considerable distance from the access point & sat myself well away from within cooee of anyone else only to have people rock up and set up 6 foot away....with literally miles of open unoccupied beach. Why? I have no idea, maybe it's insecurity, perhaps it's a thought process or lack thereof that they think "oh that is where we have to camp". Dunno, but it's rather frustrating when you're not a people person.
AnswerID: 536118

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 22:06
You're onto it Snow. Many people are simply insecure. A herding instinct no doubt just in case the boogy man comes along.
I rarely see it in busy areas in fact most people are looking for more space but go any where remote & they will camp on top of you every time.
Craig..................
FollowupID: 820242

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:49

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 08:49
Yep .......... certainly know what you're on about. On our recent round trip to the Kimberleys et al we noticed the "greys" present a serious flock mentality, wherein all roadside laybys were packed van to van.

This was generally well accepted by us as it meant we could wander off down the road and find a quiet spot far from the madding crowd, albeit it did give us cause for some mirth. However on our return run we pulled up in an area of perhaps 20 acres and set up happily by ourselves, only to have a couple towing a van pull in, drive all over the area and then set up within about 15 metres of us which gave me a severe dose of diarrhoea I can tell you.

They set up on the side we had arranged our bush shower so I thought .... up you lot and proceeded to bathe prior to sundown. Herself was a tad more modest, but I wonder at their mental state.
AnswerID: 536119

Reply By: Member - KBAD - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:05

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:05
Because most people are sheep, watch a flock of sheep and you will understand where i am coming from.
AnswerID: 536124

Reply By: Member - wicket - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:14

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:14
Nearly every time this has happened to us the offenders had Vic number plates; strange people.
AnswerID: 536125

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:15

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:15
Yep, been there done that. Now this doesn't always work but does on occasion.
Ever seen the ad on TV for BCF I think where the 2 old mates have found a "nice spot" to set up. When the next mob come tootling down the track they turn the ghetto blaster up to full volume and twist the caps sideways.
All you need is some scalp hair, preferably longish and failing that a wig. An axe like you would use for firewood and a file.
As the potential close neighbor rolls up do the following.
Wet your hair and muss it up so it looks like you don't own a comb or mirror. Splash some water into your eyes to get that red rimmed look. Get your axe out and slowly run the file across the sharp edge while adopting a wild eyed look and emitting a low cackling noise. A high pitched maniacal screech works too. Smile at them as with as close an impression as you can do of a cat playing with a captive mouse.
You can also add an optional splash or two of red cordial or food colouring to the front of your tee shirt. A nice finishing touch is getting your good lady or camping companion to gaze imploringly out of a van window or tent flap while miming a heartfelt "help".

Hey I ain't saying it will always work but worth a shot.

Oh, by the way, if that doesn't deter them and the bloke wanders over, puts his arm around your shoulders, licks your ear and whispers "nice axe, how many you got so far", it might just be an idea to pack up camp and leave.

(;=))

Cheers and happy hunting
AnswerID: 536126

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 15:09

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 15:09
Pop,

TO TRUE but we do it in reverse. You see the people we don't want next to us are the yahoos with loud music. We are afraid they might like us and camp close to us for that reason

So what we do is take the cap off, button our top botton on our shirts, and turn up the Beethoven or Bach!

CJ
FollowupID: 820198

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:31

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:31
We were very effectively chased away from Tjing Pool in Rudall by the ensconced punters playing Slim Dusty at volume...couldn't move fast enough :-)

FollowupID: 820234

Follow Up By: Member - PhilD_NT - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 22:17

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 22:17
I feel for you. Worked in Katherine for a year around mid 70's and all you heard out of the pub front bar juke boxes was Slim. Equally in Alice it was Ted Egan. Neither has a place in my music collection.
FollowupID: 820246

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 07:47

Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 07:47
John,

I carry a cure for folk who insist on playing load music.

I put my selection of Scottish Bagpipe music on and crank up the volume too!
They usually get the message:-)

FollowupID: 820256

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 10:07

Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 10:07
Now that Sandman is taking a joke "waaay toooo faaaar".

If you say that in a high pitched nasally way it's produces a fairly acceptable imitation of the pipes.
Alternatively castrating a tom cat with a blunt knife can work.

Bloody wife has a bit of Scottish blood and thinks "the pipes" sound wonderful.

Not within earshot of me woman.

FollowupID: 820262

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 10:10

Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 10:10
Scurl of the pipes...HA....more like scourge.
FollowupID: 820263

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Friday, Jul 18, 2014 at 19:50

Friday, Jul 18, 2014 at 19:50
Oh, I dunno. Some bagpipe stuff is quite good. Awesome street entertainers included.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgzZLNwqvdQ
FollowupID: 820336

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 at 23:19

Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 at 23:19
The BIL with his family & mine were camped at a spot on the Cape York
Peninsular quite a few years ago, on our own, no one else in sight, relaxing with a few beers & a bit of soft background music on, when a 4wd with a slide on camper pulled up about 50m away.

The occupants just sat in the car for about 10 minutes watching us, then as I was coming back from a visit to the little boy's tree, the driver came over to me & asked if that was my camp? Yes I replied! He says the music's a bit loud isn't it? is it, I replies, no worries, I'll fix that for you shall I...

So I went over to my car, turned up the volume to full & waved at them, for some reason they left to find someone else to annoy! We then went back to enjoying our camp alone with a little bit of soft background music.
FollowupID: 820387

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:17

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:17
Dude! I know just what you mean.

Forget about the camping for a second, it's the car parks.

I go out of my to park well away from all those who 'park by touch' and then proceed to adjust your door line an duco with a tad of door rage. This doesn't include the demented ones that take great delight in re-arranging your side mirrors whilst 'squeezing past'. These creatures are in another league unto themselves.

I will park at the back of car parks, further-est from the entrance door to shopping centres where my vehicle will be the only one in a 50m radius, and when I return there will be one or two vehicles parked along side of me. The aforementioned 50m radius will still be empty of vehicles.

Back to the camping thing. I find that if possible, set up your camp along side of some trees/scrub etc, then a fire on the other side of the camp , and park the vehicle on the other side of the fire again.

Have a generator set up and fire the sucker up if anybody else shows up and then turn up the music real loud. Classical music for the young ones and Iron Maiden for the older ones.

DD
AnswerID: 536127

Follow Up By: greybeard - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:25

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:25
But I like Iron Maiden
FollowupID: 820184

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 16:02

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 16:02
so do I and Uriah heap and black sabbath
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 820203

Follow Up By: Slow one - Friday, Jul 18, 2014 at 20:46

Friday, Jul 18, 2014 at 20:46
Deep Purple, Joe Cocker and Pink Floyd rounded off with Beccy Cole and Slim so as to get a good balance. Then bring on a bit of Pink.
FollowupID: 820338

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Friday, Jul 18, 2014 at 21:19

Friday, Jul 18, 2014 at 21:19
Oh Slow one, you forgot to mention the one and only ABBA, followed by Johnny Horton, the wife reckons she is going to have sink the Bismark at my Funeral, lol and she probably will. With that music cranked up your bound to get neighbors even if you don't want them
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 820343

Follow Up By: dermie66 - Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 at 10:45

Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 at 10:45
During the recent school holidays I found singing "Tie me Kangaroo down sport" gently with a wobble board backing kept the families with ankle biters away from us.

(was that a bit too much?)
FollowupID: 820354

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Sunday, Jul 20, 2014 at 09:28

Sunday, Jul 20, 2014 at 09:28
Playing Nick Cave's Murder Ballads should be effective. To quote Rolling Stone magazine "At a rough count, some 63 souls are graphically stripped of their lives in this collection of 10 murder ballads".
FollowupID: 820396

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:30

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 10:30
Had me scratching my head for years. Happened numerous times.

Weirdest one was when I camped at Wolfe Crater for the night - had the whole campground to myself - was looking forward to night of quiet reflection or cranking up the music etc. Just after sundown a couple of Fritz in a Britz pull in and proceed to park within 5 feet of my troopie. I thought at least I might get a bit of chat and cross cultural exchange going.

Nope - proceeded to ignore me and give me filthy looks when I tried to chat. It was one of those WTF??? moments

AnswerID: 536129

Reply By: Member - PhilD_NT - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 11:20

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 11:20
I've been thinking of immediately on arrival of setting up a table outside and with suitable big signage setting up a collection of Gideon's Bibles with further signs on all sides of the van of "Have Bible, will travel". Trouble is, with my luck it will immediately attract a couple of well dressed gents on bicycles.
AnswerID: 536130

Follow Up By: Member - KBAD - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 12:44

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 12:44
Like it Phil we had a beautiful 50 kg mastiff X that travelled everywhere with us very friendly dog but she had a look that she would give to anyone that came close to the camp or vehicle, had a bunch turn up late at a camp about six vehicles with trailers had quad bikes and trail bikes preceded to off load and hoon about the dunes and campsite. The dog took up a position about five metres out from our campsite sat down and gave anyone who ventured to close her look. Within five minutes no one was coming within twenty metres of our camp.
FollowupID: 820187

Follow Up By: Jos - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 12:58

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 12:58
My Mastiff has a similar affect. I feed him a little yoghurt so he gets that "frothing" at the mouth look.
FollowupID: 820188

Follow Up By: Member - PhilD_NT - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 13:06

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 13:06
Any nearby camper will have that same effect on me if I hear them using that stupid term of "get go". My wife is starting to give me strange looks every time I hear it on TV.
FollowupID: 820190

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 13:37

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 13:37
yep, the old herding instinct, whether your in Litchfield or Westfield. Guaranteed to turn up.
AnswerID: 536139

Reply By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 16:16

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 16:16
We were never much for the herd, but I do like the lonely places to camp so if I see a spot I don't like I camp there as no one else will, except once on the nullabor we found a truck bay and a track that led into the bush so we followed that for about a couple of miles and came to a mill with a water trough and it was getting on to dark so we thought we were safe, next thing we know about a half hour later this old Toyota bus come trundling down the track, and pulls up ten feet away he comes over and starts chatting so I ask if he knew about this spot he said no he just followed our tracks, so I gave up it was my own fault. sometimes you just can't win.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

AnswerID: 536150

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 17:53

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 17:53
Happens in carparks as well: We have a newish car so always park well away from the others to avoid them opening their door onto ours. When we come back someone has parked right next to us even though there are empty spaces all around.
FollowupID: 820211

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 19:19

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 19:19
Lucky bugger,
We get quite the opposite?
No one camps anywhere near us and if forced to camp near others they quite often move on??????
Just lucky I guess....LOL
AnswerID: 536158

Reply By: Top End Az - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:02

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:02
I used to get annoyed with this. I discussed this issue with a good friend of mine once. He was perplexed at my displeasure as he sees such occurrences as an opportunity to make a new life long friend. Glass half empty/ half full? Depends I guess
AnswerID: 536160

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:07
FollowupID: 820229

Follow Up By: Pushy - Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 09:38

Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 09:38
And an Engineer would say the glass is too big.
FollowupID: 820259

Reply By: Top End Az - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:26

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 20:26
For the record I prefer solo camping. Kinda defeats the purpose of camping in a massive carpark.
AnswerID: 536161

Reply By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 23:44

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2014 at 23:44
And I want to officially complain that the other posts on this forum are too close to mine. Can we have more space between the forum posts please? Some threads are a crowded nightmare....
AnswerID: 536174

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 09:48

Thursday, Jul 17, 2014 at 09:48
MIKE TYPE IN CAPS MATE.................EVERYONE STANDS BACK WHEN YOU SHOUT
FollowupID: 820261

Reply By: Member Kerry W (WA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 at 21:22

Saturday, Jul 19, 2014 at 21:22
Had 2 families with 6 kids in a remote mountain campsite on a bend in a river about the size of a small town. We had been there for a week and looked like it, we had spread out pretty well. Came back from a trip downstream to find we had neighbours camped right where the kids had made another fireplace just away from the adults. No more than 10 meters away. They had at least 20 grassy flat acres to choose from.

To say we were devastated was an understatement - but they really floored us when they complained that we were too noisy!!

Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 536307