HF radio for big lap

Hey everyone,
I am aware there is heaps of information on this topic and I have been reading a lot on it. However, a lot of the information dates back a couple of years so I figured it might be good to get some up-to-date information :)

I am an international student and I am planning a big lap for 12 months (https://www.facebook.com/dannys4wdadventures). This is the first time I own a 4wd (or a car in general) and I have only been in Australia for a couple of years so you can imagine that this will be a great adventure. Obviously, safety is a big thing so I have been looking at sat phones. I found out that a HF radio might be a better option (read cheaper) so I have been looking into this.

The 'problem' is that as a student, I dont have 3000 to spend on a HR radio, so I am looking at a budget alternative. But what would be a budget alternative and how difficult will it be to install? I want to use the HF radio purely for emergency purposes although I am very keen on using the GPS-facebook option as well.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: racinrob - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 12:54

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 12:54
Danny, whichever way you go it is going to cost you serious $$. I know the HF Radio Club has second hand radios for around $2000 and would probably buy it back off you at the end of your big trip. The club has good coverage all over Oz and are very helpful with installation and how to use it.

racinrob VKE237 sel 6678
AnswerID: 537926

Follow Up By: Danny B3 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 12:59

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 12:59
Cheers! I emailed the HF Radio Club but they havent come back to me yet.
I looked around at gumtree and found some radio's but unsure if they are good deals/complete enough:
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/mango-hill/other-parts-accessories/codan-hf-radio/1049373177